Documenting sources for images can be challenging, especially with the variety of new electronic resources now available. Many different style manuals exist. Always ask your class instructor for the style appropriate for the course.
Examples below are based on the MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers, 7th ed
Artist’s last name, first name. Title of art work in italics. Date of art work.
Institution where art work is housed (if known), city where housed if
not already named. Title of printed source in italics. By Author of printed
source. Place of publication: publisher, date. Page or plate/figure/slide
number. Print.
example:
Cassatt, Mary. Mother and Child . Wichita Art Museum. c.1890. American
Painting: 1560-1913 . By John Pearce. New York: McGraw, 1964.
Slide 22. Print.
Artist’s last name, first name. Title of art work in italics. Date of art work.
Institution where art work is housed (if known), city where housed if not
already named. Database or web site name. Web. Day month year
accessed.
example:
Monet, Claude. Meadow with Haystacks at Giverny. 1885. Museum of Fine
Arts, Boston. ARTstor. Web. 22 October 2004.
Documenting sources for images can be challenging, especially with the variety of new electronic resources now available. Many different style manuals exist. Listed below are several writing style manuals that may be consulted along with examples. Always ask your class instructor for the style appropriate for the course.
The basic information you will need
If you found the image in a book you will need the author, title, publisher information, date, and page, figure or plate number of the reproduction
If you found the image online you will need an access date, the web site address (URL) and in some cases an image ID number.
For a bibliography
Work of art:
Duveneck, Frank. Whistling Boy. 1872. Cincinnati Art Museum, Cincinnati.
Pei, I.M. Rock and Roll Hall of Fame. Cleveland.
For a note
2
Mark Rothko, Number 22, 1969, Museum of Modern Art, New York.
From a Web site:
Duveneck, Frank. Whistling Boy. 1872. Cincinnati Art Museum, Cincinnati. Accessed 7 Feb. 2008. <http://cincinnatiartmuseum.stores.yahoo.net/frduwhboy.html>
For a note
4
Frank Duveneck, Whistling Boy, 1872, Cincinnati Art Museum, Cincinnati, 7 Feb.2008 <http://www.cincinnatiartmuseum.stores.yahoo.net/frduwhboy.html>.
Work of art found in an image database:
For a bibliography
Botticelli, Sandro. Birth of Venus. c. 1482. Galleria degli Uffizi, Florence. ARTstor. 3 Jan. 2008, <http://www. artsor.org>.
For a note
4
Frank O.Gehry, Walt Disney Concert Hall, 1999-2003. 16 Feb. 2007 <http://www. artsor.org>.
Work of art found in a book:
Format for a bibliography
Duveneck, Frank. Whistling Boy. 1872. Cincinnati Art Museum. Unsuspected Genius : the Art and Life of Frank Duveneck. By Robert Neuhaus
. San Francisco : Bedford Press, 1987. 227.
Format for a note
3
Frank Duveneck, Whistling Boy, 1872, Cincinnati Art Museum, Unsuspected Genius : the Art and Life of Frank Duveneck, by Robert Neuhaus (San Francisco : Bedford Press, 1987) 227.
Personal Photograph:
Louvre Museum, Paris. Personal photograph by author. 7 Mar. 2005.
Slide in the library
Gogh, Vincent van. The Starry Night. 1889. Museum of Modern Art, New York. Visual Resources Center. Design, Architecture, Art, and Planning Library, University of Cincinnati, Cincinnati.
Map or Chart
Format for a bibliography
Ohio. Map. Chicago: Rand, 2004.
Format for a note
1
Ohio, map (Chicago: Rand, 2004)
Turabian-style Citation Format—
Cite the artist's name, title in italics, the medium and support, the date, and the institution or individual who owns the work, the city, and, if needed for clarification, the state.
If the location is unknown use, "whereabouts unknown" in parentheses. As a general rule cite images only in notes.
Work of art
Note
1
Frank Duveneck, Whistling Boy, oil on canvas, 1872, Cincinnati Art Museum, Cincinnati.
Work of Art found in an image database
For a work of art you viewed online, after the title enter the format type in brackets; use parentheses for the title of database, followed by date of access, URL, image ID or other unique number.
1
Frank Duveneck, 1872. Whistling Boy. [database on-line] (ARTstor, accessed 14 September 2005) ; available www.artstor.org, image ID ARTSTOR_103_4182200090872
Format for a bibliography
It is not common practice to cite images in a bibliography but if a professor requests a citation in the bibliography use the following format:
Duveneck, Frank,
Whistling Boy, oil on canvas, 1872, Cincinnati Art Museum, Cincinnati.
Duveneck, Frank, 1872. Whistling Boy. Database on-line. ARTstor. http://www.artstor.org. Accessed 14 September 2007.
From a Web site:
Duveneck, Frank. Whistling Boy. 1872. Cincinnati Art Museum, Cincinnati. Accessed 7 Feb. 2008. <http://cincinnatiartmuseum.stores.yahoo.net/frduwhboy.html>
Credits Providing a source for the images you use is helpful to your readers.
Permission must be granted to reproduce work of art under copyright restrictions. Author, title, then page number, plate number, or figure number, copyright date, and copyright owner.
Reprinted, by permission, from John Rewald, Post-Impressionism: From van Gogh to Gauguin, p. 443. © 1978 by The Museum of Modern Art, New York.
Indicate when using a personal photograph
Photograph by the author
Photography commissioned by the writer
Photograph by Mary Smith
Photograph without restrictions
For an image without copyright restrictions use the word courtesy in the credit
Photograph courtesy of Delta Airlines
APA
Artist (last name, first name), artist’s role (in parentheses i.e. Artist, Architect), title, the work type, in brackets [Painting, Cathedral, Chair], country of origin or city, and state, and repository.
Duveneck, Frank (Artist). (1872).
Whistling boy [Painting]. Cincinnati, Ohio; Cincinnati Art Museum.
Duveneck, Frank (Artist). (1872).
Whistling boy [Image of painting]. Cincinnati, Ohio; Cincinnati Art Museum. Retrieved February 13, 2008, from http://www.artstor.org
From a Web site:
Duveneck, Frank (Artist). (1872).
Whistling boy [Image of painting]. Cincinnati, Ohio; Cincinnati Art Museum. Retrieved February 13, 2008, from http://cincinnatiartmuseum.stores.yahoo.net/frduwhboy.html
Chicago
In the humanities citations are provided in footnotes and endnotes along with a bibliography. Images can be citied using captions or in a bibliography. Check with your instructor for the correct manner.
Captions— label all images with figure or fig. followed by arabic numerals. Artist’s name (first name then last), title (italicized), medium and support, measurements, repository, and city.
Bibliography—
Artist’s name (last name, first name), title, usually italicized, the date, the medium and support, repository, and city.
Works of art
Caption
Frank Duveneck,
Whistling Boy, 1872. Oil on canvas, 28 x 21 1/2 in. Cincinnati Art Museum, Cincinnati.
Bibliography
Matisse, Henri.
The Woman with the Hat, 1905. Oil on canvas, 81.3 x 60.3 cm. San Francisco Museum of Modern Art.
Works of art online
Sullivan, Louis H.
The Security Bank, 1907. Owatonna, Minnesota. http://www.artstor.org/ (accessed August 12, 2007).
Frank Duveneck,
Whistling Boy, 1872. Oil on canvas, 28 x 21 1/2 in. Cincinnati Art Museum, Cincinnati. http://cincinnatiartmuseum.stores.yahoo.net/frduwhboy.html (accessed August 12, 2007).
Slide in the library
Gris, Juan.
Newspaper and Fruit Dish. University of Cincinnati, OH: Visual Resources Center, 2005, slides.
Credits
Reproduced by permission from Jan Newstrom Thompson,
Duveneck : Lost Paintings Found (Santa Clara, CA: Triton Museum of Art, 1987), 5
For an image without copyright restrictions use the word, courtesy in the credit
Man and boy fishing in the Ohio River, September 14, 1929. Courtesy of Rosemary Bart.
Photography courtesy of Cincinnati Art Museum
For an image under copyright restrictions
Permission must be granted to reproduce work of art under copyright restrictions. Author, title, publication details, copyright date, and then page number, plate number, or figure number. Once permission has been granted, use the following format.
Reproduced by permission of the publisher from
Duveneck : Lost Paintings Found, (Santa Clara, CA: Triton Museum of Art, 1987), 55, © 1987 by Triton Museum of Art.