Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Holocaust Studies: Primary Sources

This guide includes resources for the study of the Holocaust at USD University Libraries and beyond.

Personal and Communal Narratives

Yizkor Books

"Yizkor books, also known as memorial books, chronicle the lives of Jewish communities destroyed during the Holocaust. These rare books uniquely record the history of the shtetls, cities, or regions of Europe, and are often one of the few remaining sources on a town’s people, as well as its cultural, religious, and social institutions. As such, these works are an invaluable resource for scholars and family historians, providing personal glimpses into Jewish life before, during, and after the Holocaust." The United States Holocaust Memorial Museum (#4).

Translations of some titles are available at JewishGen’s Yizkor Book Project.


Testimonials (Audio/Video)

The British Library Archival Sound Recordings: Jewish survivors of the Holocaust

Fortunoff Video Archive for Holocaust Testimonies at Yale University: A collection of over 4,300 videotaped interviews.

Holocaust Personal Histories: Arranged by topics (Children; Ghettos; Camps; Refugees; Resistance; Hiding; Survival; Deportations; Aid and Escape; Liberation; Aftermath; Individuals). The United States Holocaust Memorial Museum.

USC Shoah Foundation Institute for Visual History and Education

Voice/Vision Holocaust Survivor Oral History Archive

Survivor Testimonies: United States Holocaust Memorial Museum.

Voices of the Holocaust: Illinois Institute of Technology.

Databases and Documents

Research Databases and Specific Collections of Mixed Materials (Documents, Images, Audio, Video)

Auschwitz through the lens of the SS: Photos of Nazi leadership at the camp: A photo album most certainly created by SS-Obersturmführer Karl Höcker, the adjutant to the commandant of Auschwitz, SS-Sturmbannführer Richard Baer. The photographs depict Höcker and other SS officers in Auschwitz during the summer and fall of 1944. United States Holocaust Memorial Museum.

Europeana: A single access point to millions of books, paintings, films, museum objects and archival records that have been digitised throughout Europe. It is an authoritative source of information coming from European cultural and scientific institutions. Judaica Europeana: Part of the European Project, dedicate to Jewish Studies materials from all over Europe and Israel. Works with cultural institutions to identify and provide access online to content which documents the Jewish presence and heritage in the cities of Europe.

German History in Documents and Images, Nazi Germany: Documents, images and maps. The German Historical Institute, Washington, DC.

Labor and the Holocaust: the Jewish Labor Committee and the Anti-Nazi Struggle: Jewish Labor Committee Collection at the Robert F. Wagner Labor Archives, New York University.

A Teachers' Guide to the Holocaust: An overview of the people and events of the Holocaust through photographs, documents, art, music, movies, and literature. The Florida Center of Instructional Technology, College of Education, University of South Florida.

Nuremberg Trials

Documents
Holocaust Rescue and Relief: Digitized Records of the Unitarian Universalist Service Committee: Digitized records of the Unitarian Universalist Service Committee (UUSC), which aided displaced persons in Europe during and after World War II. The Andover-Harvard Theological Library.

Nazi Propaganda: 1933-1945: National Socialist propaganda documents in English translation. The German propaganda Archive, Calvin College.


Archives

 More

Footer for USD LibGuide v2.0