Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Information Literacy Instructor's Resource: Online Tutorials for Library Databases

This LibGuide provides information and resources for instructors who want to integrate information literacy instruction and assignments into their courses.

Finding Materials from the Library's Home Page

Any links on this page can be copied to your D2L course pages by right-clicking on the link and selecting "Copy shortcut." You will have a direct link to the resource that can be pasted into your course pages.

Learning the Basic Research Databases

Any links on this page can be copied to your D2L course pages by right-clicking on the link and selecting "Copy shortcut." You will have a direct link to the resource that can be pasted into your course pages.

The tutorials in this box feature using databases such as Academic Search Premier and Communication & Mass Media Complete to do basic research. While these databases focus on research for the English 101 research based academic argument paper and speech communication research, they provide a clear outline on how to effectively use databases for conducting research.

Learning the Medical Databases

Any links on this page can be copied to your D2L course pages by right-clicking on the link and selecting "Copy shortcut." You will have a direct link to the resource that can be pasted into your course pages.


The tutorials featured in this section are for databases that directly support the fields of medicine and the allied health sciences. These lessons are useful for any discipline where the students will need to do research on topics with a medical or health focus including the social sciences.

Footer for USD LibGuide v2.0