Multiple Literacies & Web 2.0

• Pixton (design your own comic avatar)
• Dream Avatar Creator
• Hero Factory
• Abi Portrait Avatar Maker
• FunnyPho.to
• ShrinkPicture
• Yahoo Avatars (must have account)
• Mr. PicassoHead
• GrabbaBeast
• Simpsons Avatar and SimpsonizeMe
• Be A SuperHero(requires kit download)
• Otaku Avatar Maker
• Be Funky (cartoonizes your pics)
• VivaVoodoo (turn yourself into a voodoo doll)
• Alpoy (can grab snapshots from youtube videos)
• Madmen Avatar Creator
• Mii
• MyWebFace (make a cartoon of your photo)
• Yearbook Yourself
• Reasonably Clever Lego Avatar
• Alpoy
• Be funky
• Bitstrips
• Cartoon me (pay service)
• Create a face
• Unique
• Portrait Illustration maker
• Strip Generator
• MinimiseMe
• Wordle (word clouds can function as avatars)
• BigHugeLabs (baseball cards, motivational poster, much more!)
• Moonjee (virtual makeover & make-a-face)
• Free Kid-Friendly Avatar Creators (Philly Teacher)

Talking Avatars

• GIZMOZ
• Blabberize (manipulate the mouth on any photo and make it talk!)
• Voki (create a talking avatar)
• Fotobabble

More 
Avatar Makers

What are image generators and other graphic tools? Image generators are web-based programs that allow users to customize images by adding text and manipulating a basic image or set of tools. The images produced can be copied or embedded into other applications, web publishing or presentations.

All Shakespeare: 31 Websites to Fill Your Lessons With the Bard

 The Internet is loaded with information about Shakespeare. I have only tipped the iceberg with this list. Be sure and let me know if you are looking for specific resources for a certain subject area.


60 Second Shakespeare- students create their 60-second interpretation of Shakespeare; BBC site

Absolute Shakespeare- plays are listed by comedies, histories and tragedies; find study guides and trivia 

The Complete Works of William Shakespeare- M.I.T. site 

eNotes- study guides and lesson plans 

Folger Shakespeare Library  

Free Kids Word Searches-Some Shakespeare Plays 

In Search of Shakespeare- from PBS; covers grades K-12

Interactive Folio: Romeo and Juliet 

Internet Shakespeare Editions-"The aim of the Internet Shakespeare Editions is to make scholarly, fully annotated texts of Shakespeare's plays available in a form native to the medium of the Internet. ... The Library itself will contain fully refereed materials only, and in due course will be the core of the Editions; at present, however, there are no fully developed texts yet available."

Learning Network Lesson Plan- from NY Times 

Literary Criticism About William Shakespeare- lists critical, biographical and other sites

Mr. William Shakespeare and the Internet-includes a Shakespeare timeline, biography quiz and more

The Oxford Shakespeare- from Bartleby.com 

Shakespeare Biography- LiveBinder

Shakespeare High- "your Shakespeare classroom on the Internet"

Shakespeare and His Critics- 17 resources are here, from essays to letters to directories

Shakespeare in the Classroom- from PBS;includes lessons for K-12, teaching Shakespeare with primary sources and much more

Shakespeare Internet Scavenger Hunt- for grades 9-12

Shakespeare Study Guides- PDF downloads from the American Shakespeare Center

Shakespeare: Teacher Resources- from TeacherVision; nice listing includes lesson plans, printables, resources

Shakespeare's Characters Online Quiz

Shakespeare's Language- online etymology dictionary

Shakespeare's Most Popular Lines- list of 500 

Shakespeare's Sonnets

Surfing the Bard- the Bard Zones include a discussion section, play listing and fun

The Taming of the Shrew Lesson Plan- 26 days of lessons includes PDF printables

TeachersFirst Shakespeare Resources- choose grade level and find podcasts, lessons

William Shakespeare Background Information and Teaching Ideas - from Web English Teacher

William Shakespeare PowerPoint Presentations

WordNet- a lexical database for the English language

• AdLit: All About Adolescent Literacy
  Resources for educators of students in grades 4-12 to build background knowledge and reading comprehension. Research shows that kids draw on what they already know to master new vocabulary and content. This site offers classroom strategies, book and author recommendations, blogs, newsletters, research and reports.
• Carol Jago Recommended Books
  Annual book recommendations from a former NCTE president and author of many books on secondary English teaching instruction and theory. A great place to look for ideas for lit circle or outside reading titles.
• Jim Burke (English Companion): Classroom Resources
  Includes materials that Burke produces for his own classroom, tools and techniques, honors and AP course resources, digital texbook and tools for teachers.
• Minnesota Authors Biography Project
  This pilot database provides biographical sketches of 36 past and present Minnesota authors. Each entry is accompanied by a selected bibliography of significant works by the author, and lists of both print and Web-based sources of additional information about the author. 
  
  
  
• National Writing Project
  "Writing is essential to communication, learning, and citizenship. It is the currency of the new workplace and global economy. Writing helps us convey ideas, solve problems, and understand our changing world. Writing is a bridge to the future."
• Open Culture: English
  Links to some of the best educational media on the web, this particular page is for English language topics
• Open Culture: Books
  Links to some of the best educational media on the web, this particular page is for book topics
  
  
• Open Culture: Film
  Links to some of the best educational media on the web, this particular page is for film topics
  
  
• Open Culture: Literature
  Links to some of the best educational media on the web, this particular page is for literature topics
• Open Culture: Media
  Links to some of the best educational media on the web, this particular page is for media topics
  
  
• Open Culture: Poetry
  Links to some of the best educational media on the web, this particular page is for poetry topics
• Open Culture: Theatre
  Links to some of the best educational media on the web, this particular page is for theatre topics
  
  
• PBS: Digital Media Literacy
  Digital media content and tools provide educators and students with tremendous opportunities to be media creators as well as media consumers. How do you help your students understand the ethics and etiquette of this landscape? How savvy are you about integrating media production projects into your work with students? We've gathered a range of resources and references on these topics and more to help you foster digital media literacy in your classroom.
• Digital Writing and the Common Core
  This collection pulls together resources that have been published at Digital Is that highlight some of these domains within the Common Core’s ELA standards.
  thanks to Ediina High School

Reference Manager

Generate citations and bibliographies in Microsoft Word, OpenOffice, and LaTeX.

Read and Annotate

Open PDFs and capture your thoughts through sticky notes and highlights.

Add and Organize

Import and organize PDFs from your computer, EndNote™, Papers or Zotero.

Collaborate

Connect with colleagues and securely share your papers, notes and annotations.

Backup, Sync and Mobile

Access your papers on the web, iPhone or iPad.

Network and Discover

Discover papers, people and public groups.