Student

Stop at the Circulation Desk to:

• Check out books, media, study rooms, dry erase markers, power strips, Mac power adaptors, & much more
• Process patron holds and payment for lost or overdue materials
• Sign up for community borrower's card

The Center for Academic Engagement can help you:

• Learn through service-learning
• Study abroad
• Conduct undergraduate research
• Explore National Student Exchange
• Compete for a national scholarship

The Writing Center can:

• Assist you with all types of writing
• Academic class papers, writing skill portion of proficiency Exam, MA thesis & dissertations
• Help you develop proofreading and editing skills

Technology-trained student workers staff the Lab Consultant's desk.  You can:

• Get help with computers and printers in the library
• Get help with software, scanners, group tables/rooms, and media viewing/editing rooms
• Obtain guest computer access

The Presentation Center provides:

• Presentation workshops and construction
• Structured feedback
• Audience services
• Changing hours and room notes posted on the door

For patron convenience:

• Wireless connectivity is available throughout the entire building for use of laptops
• Electrical plug in ports are located near tables and chairs to power personal computers

Students are free to utilize the Group Work Stations that:

• Are computer stations used for group collaboration
• Has a large screen monitor with a laptop hookup
• Seat 4-6 students

USD users and community members have access to:

• Video magnifiers
• Braille technology
• Speech systems
• Magnification programs for the computer screen
• Keyboard alternatives
• Mouse alternatives
• Switch access

Microform scanners and readers that are available:

• ST200 Digital Scanner with ScanWrite programming allows microfilm, microfiche, and 35mm slides to be viewed, printed, or digitally reproduced
• Minolta RP603Z allows microfiche to be viewed or copies printed
• Minolta 605Z allows microfiche and microfilm to be viewd or copies printed
• Both Minolta machines charge $.10 per page. Use correct change or check out a bypass key from circulation.

For your researching convenience, the reference collection:

• Contains print encyclopedias, guides, dictionaries, atlases, bibliographies, directories, and print indexes/abstracts
• Includes online access to several reference items through the Libraries Research Gateway

The Academic Commons has centralized network printing.

• Black and white printing on both the east and west sides; color on west side
• $28.00 allotment per student for each academic year
• $0.07 per black and white page and $0.42 per color page
• Add extra money to your Coyote Card by calling or stopping by the Coyote Card Office in the MUC, using the automatic machine near the MUC Info Desk, or useCoyote Card Online.

Vending machines provide access to snacks and drinks while studying.

• Cash and coins only
• Campus Barnes & Noble provides Blue Books, Post-Its and pens/pencils

Stop at the Academic & Career Planning Center to:

• Seek academic advising
• Explore majors & careers
• Understand graduation requirements
• Conduct successful job search
• Discover internship opportunities
• Receive academic support
• Succeed through First-Year Experience

Professional Librarians will provide you with:

• Research help in person and online
• Information about proper citation styles
• The tools you need to find scholarly sources for papers and projects
• The tools you need to find government information and statistics

You can ask a question anywhere, anytime! Just Ask Us Now!

The ITS Help Desk allows you to:

• Receive personal computer support
• Request technology assistance
• Check out computer and media equipment

Technical Services:

• Orders library materials of all kinds and coordinates collection development
• Prepares materials for use by cataloging, assigning call numbers, and doing
  preservation work on items before incorporating them into the collection.

Students and community members have access to:

• Over 80 workstations are available for convenience
• Computers equiped with Microsoft Office, other common programs, library databases, and the internet
• Printing from all computers

USD users can reserve and check out rooms113, 114, 115, 116, and 121B that:

• Have a capacity of 2-7 people
• Has a large screen monitor with a laptop hookup
• Can be checked out for up to 4 hours

USD users can reserve & check out room 109 that:

• Features a large monitor, hookups for laptop, and a DVD/VCR
• Has remote controls available for checkout at the Circulation desk
• Has a capacity of 4-6 people
• Can be checked out for up to 4 hours

USD users can reserve and check out room 110 that:

• Features a networked computer with a variety of digital editing software and hardware
• Can be checked out for up to 1 day until close of the day it was checked out
• Includes Blu-Ray Disc, sound/audio board, DVD/VHS conversion, microphone

A relaxing atmosphere provides:

• Carefully selected fiction and non-fiction for academic audiences for leisure reading
• An array of CDs and subscribed newspapers
• Comfortable chairs for you to curl up and read a good book

USD users can check out a variety of DVDs and VHS for viewing entertainment and aids in classroom learning.

Scanners alongside several computer stations are:

• Available for document and image scanning
• Photo-manipulation software is available on the accompanying computers

Copiers are provided for everyone's access:

• Multifunction Copier (MFC) provides copying, faxing, and scanning  
• Also is a laptop printing release station (UPrint)

University Libraries and the University Art Galleries are pleased to feature exhibits of art by students as well as work of the larger public in the University Libraries Gallery.

• The University Libraries Gallery is located under the main staircase of the library.
• Additional galleries are located in the display cases on the 2nd floor, and the west side gallery of the 2nd floor