Selected resources for further research
Books
Andronov, I. (Iona). La tragedie de Wounded Knee. Moscow : Temps Nouveaux, 1973. 20-23 pp.
LOCATION: University of South Dakota
Bryant, Michael J. Legal aspects of Chiapas, Oka & Wounded Knee conflicts : intranational armed conflicts between indigenous peoples and states. Thesis, Harvard Law School, 1994. 130 pp.
LOCATION: Harvard University
Calsteren, Jan van. De kinderen van Wounded Knee. Antwerpen : AKO, 1981. 48 pp.
LOCATION: Harvard University
Consolidated Wounded Knee Cases, defendants. United States, plaintiff v. Consolidated Wounded Knee Cases, defendants : transcript of the trial on the motion to dismiss for want of jurisdiction before the Honorable Warren K. Urbom, Chief Judge, U.S. District Court for the District of Nebraska, Lincoln, Nebraska. Boulder, Colo. : National Indian Law Library, 1976. 1809 pp.
LOCATION: New York University Law Library
Dewing, Rolland. Wounded Knee II. Chadron, NE: Great Plains Network, 1995. 213 pp.
LOCATION: Alexander Mitchell Library, Black Hills State University, Dakota State University, Mitchell Public Library, Northern State University, Rapid City Public Library, South Dakota State, Siouxland Libraries, South Dakota State Archives, South Dakota State Library, Sturgis Public Library, Watertown Regional Library.
__________. Wounded Knee : the meaning and significance of the second incident. New York, N.Y.: Irvington Publishers, 1985
LOCATION: Black Hills State University, Dakota State University, Northern State University, Augustana College, South Dakota State University, University of Sioux Falls, Oglala Lakota College, South Dakota State Library, Huron Public Library
Hecht, Robert A. The occupation of Wounded Knee. Charlotteville, N.Y. : SamHar Press, 1981. 30pp
LOCATION: University of South Dakota
Hesse, Gunter. Wounded Knee 1973. Berlin : Militarverlag der Deutschen Demokratischen Republik, 1974. 62 pp.
LOCATION: Brigham Young University Library
Huck, Susan L. M. Renegades : the second battle of Wounded Knee. Belmont, Mass. : American Opinion, 1973. 14pp.
LOCATION: Mitchell Public Library, Northern State University, Brookings Public Library, Augustana College, South Dakota State Archives, South Dakota State Library
Hunter, Wesley C. Wounded Knee revisited, 1973: the second confrontation. Richland Center, WI, Richland County Publishers, 1990. 109pp.
LOCATION: South Dakota State Library
Kievelitz, Uwe. Minderheitengewalt und ihre Auswirkungen : eine empirische Analyse und theoretische Modellentwicklung am Beispiel der Molukker in Holland und Oglala in den USA. Saarbrucken; Fort Lauderdale: Breitenbach, 1986. 185 pp.
LOCATION: University of Notre Dame, Indiana University
Lyman, Stanley David. Wounded Knee 1973: a personal account. Lincoln : University of Nebraska Press, 1991. 180 pp.
LOCATION: University of South Dakota
Matthiessen, Peter. In the spirit of Crazy Horse. New York : Penguin Books, 1992. 646 pp.
LOCATION: University of Sioux Falls
Perry, Douglas M. The last American Indian war: a Wasichu at Wounded Knee, 1973. 1991. 38 leaves.
LOCATION: George Fox University
Pierce, George Preble. Leadership in crisis : the Lakota religious response to Wounded Knee, 1973. Thesis, Fuller Theological Seminary, 1992. 325 leaves.
LOCATION: South Dakota State University (photocopy), State Historical Society of Wisconsin,
Remember Wounded Knee, 1890-1973 / [Wounded Knee Legal Defense/Offense Committee]. St. Paul, Minn. : The Committee, [1974?]. 32 pp.
LOCATION: Sioux land Libraries
Sayer, John William. Social movements in the courtroom: the Wounded Knee trials, 1973-1975. Thesis, University of Minnesota, 1991. 567 leaves.
LOCATION: South Dakota State University, Oglala Lakota College , (microfilm), University of New Mexico, School of Law,
Schipper, Martin Paul. A guide to the microfilm edition of the FBI files on the American Indian movement and Wounded Knee. Frederick, MD: University Publications of America, 1986. 49 pp.
LOCATION: University of South Dakota
Smith, Paul Chaat. Like a hurricane : the Indian Movement from Alcatraz to Wounded Knee. New York: New Press, 1996. 343 pp.
LOCATION: Dakota State University, Northern State University, Rapid City Public Library, Brookings Public Library, Augustana College, South Dakota State Library
Streb, Edward Justin. The rhetoric of Wounded Knee II : a critical analysis of confrontational and "media event" discourse. Thesis, Northwestern University, 1979. 246pp.
LOCATION: South Dakota State University
Remember Wounded Knee, 1890-1973. St. Paul, Minn. : The Committee, ? 1974 1983. 32pp.
LOCATION: Siouxland Libraries
United States. Congress. Senate. Committee on Interior and Insular Affairs. Subcommittee on Indian Affairs. Occupation of Wounded Knee : hearings before the Subcommittee on Indian Affairs of the Committee on Interior and Insular Affairs, United States Senate, Ninety-third Congress, first session on the causes and aftermath of the Wounded Knee takeover June 16,1973, Pine Ridge, South Dakota, June 17, 1973, Kyle, South Dakota. Washington : U.S. Govt. Print. Off., 1974. 506 pp
LOCATION: University of South Dakota,
Voices from Wounded Knee, 1973, in the words of the participants. Rooseveltown, N.Y.: Akwesasne notes, 1976. 263 pp.
LOCATION: University of South Dakota
Wells, Natalie P. Television news coverage of the American Indian occupation of Wounded Knee, South Dakota : an analysis of network newscasts, February - May, 1973. Thesis, San Francisco State University, 1982. 131 leaves
LOCATION: San Francisco State University
Why Wounded Knee? Coordination and Information Committee. Why Wounded Knee? : a report. Minneapolis, MN : The Committee, 1974. 18 pp.
LOCATION: Minnesota Historical Society
Zimmerman, Bill. Airlift to Wounded Knee. Chicago : Swallow Press, 1976. 348pp.
LOCATION: University of South Dakota, Sturgis Public Library
Chamberlain, Fern L. (Fern Louise), 1934 1976. 5 in.
NOTES: In part, photocopies. Correspondence and reports relating to Chamberlain's work as chief of the South Dakota Dept. of Public Welfare's Research and Statistical Service (later Division of Research and Statistics) and with Lutheran Social Services, The South Dakota Farmer in the Period of the Depression: Industrial Problems (1934) by Chamberlain, photocopy of scrapbook entitled The South Dakota Public Welfare Rumble: 1966-1967, and clippings concerning trials (1974) of Native Americans in Sioux Falls, S.D., resulting from the Custer, S.D., riot and the occupation of Wounded Knee, S.D. Social worker, of Sioux Falls, S.D.
LOCATION: Augustana College, CWS Manuscripts
Cole, Kay Papers, 1971-1992. 9 boxes (7.83 cu. ft.) + 1 oversize folder
NOTES: Photographs housed in Photoarchives. Related collections at the Center for Southwest Research: Robert Robideau Papers, and Navajo-Hopi Land Dispute Documents. The majority of this collection presents Kay Cole's involvement with Dennis Banks and American Indian issues. Series I contains material related to D-Q (Deganawidah Quetzacoatl) University in Davis, Calif. These materials include general information about the institution as well as news clippings, correspondence and other materials regarding legal issues and events involving D-Q University. Series II brings together materials from the First American Indian International Tribunal. materials from the First American Indian International Tribunal. The bulk consists of the testimony, statements, and related notes from the proceedings covering social and economic effects of the U.S. foreign and domestic policies on indigenous peoples, and strategies for change. Series III focuses on legal issues and projects of Dennis Banks. Correspondence, news clippings, legal materials, etc. document Banks' acquittal of charges stemming from the occupation of Wounded Knee, and his other judicial battles. Correspondence, reports and other printed materials document the American Indian struggle for land rights, religious and spiritual freedom, and against discrimination. Sub-themes include the arms race, military and nuclear issues, criminal justice, prison reform, Indian grave desecration, women, and the Navajo-Hopi land dispute. Materials relating to the Long Walk for Survival, the Jim Thorpe Run and several Sacred Runs, initiated and organized by Dennis Banks, are also included. Series V contains the Dennis Banks Defense Committee's records, correspondence from and to the Committee, and their meeting minutes and agendas. Series VI includes publications, narratives, and media projects by or about Dennis Banks. Issues of Freedom notes, the publication of the Dennis Banks Defense Committee, are included. Series VII focuses on financial records and activity reports of the Dennis Banks Defense Committee and other organizations. Some of the materials include bank statements, receipts, invoices, checks, etc. The oversize folder contains posters and printed materials relating to AIM (American Indian Movement), the arms race, and the Sacred Run. Born on June 11, 1911 in Salt Lake City, Utah. Involved with American Indian issues. In 1982 formed the Dennis Banks Defense Committee.
LOCATION: University of New Mexico
Dakota American Indian Movement, 1973-1991. .5 linear ft.
NOTES: Publications and other materials (1973-1974, 1977, 1980-1983) including 3 pamphlets pertaining to 1973 Wounded Knee civil disturbance, Oglala Indians, and American Indian Movement, informational brochure on 1983 activities of Dakota American Indian Movement, letter (1983) soliciting financial contributions, and copies of Oyate Wicho, the official periodical. Includes papers from International Indian Treaty Council. Lakota political action organization.
LOCATION: Oglala Lakota College
Legg, Jim. 1972-1973. 447 items, 1 sound recording, and 2 microfilm reels.
NOTES: Booklets, reports, and other papers, collected by Legg while working with Oglala Indians of Pine Ridge Reservation, relating to 1973 occupation of Wounded Knee, S.D.; photos and slides of Wounded Knee after the occupation; and recording of Legg's account of the occupation.
LOCATION: Augustana College
Robideau, Robert E. American Indian Movement papers, 1975-1994. 29 boxes (27.9 cu. ft.)
LOCATION: University of New Mexico
Peltier, Leonard F. Collection, 1981-1983. 16 items.
NOTES: Various pamphlets and newspaper clippings, issued by the Leonard Peltier Defense Committee of Rapid City, S.D., that maintain Peltier's innocence, allege wrongful extradition, contains references to the deaths of other AIM members and the 1973 protest at Wounded Knee, S.D. Former resident of Grand Forks, N.D. Leader of American Indian Movement, convicted of killing two F.B.I. agents on the Pine Ridge Indian Reservation in 1975.
LOCATION: North Dakota State University Library
Wounded Knee Indian Occupation, 1973 : file of clippings and miscellanea. 1970. 1 portfolio; 25 x 38 cm.
NOTES: Collected at Michigan State University Libraries in the Special Collections Division's American Radicalism Vertical File (ARVF).
LOCATION: Michigan State University
Wounded Knee Legal Defense/Offense Committee : file of clippings and miscellanea. 1970-9999. 1 portfolio; 25 x 38 cm.
NOTES: Collected at Michigan State University Libraries in the Special Collections Division's American Radicalism Vertical File (ARVF).
LOCATION: Michigan State University
Wounded Knee occupation clipping file, 1973-1974. 1 box : ill., ports. ; 27 x 32 x 7 cm.
NOTES: Newspaper clippings from Minneapolis/St. Paul papers (some photocopied), newsletters, and articles about the trials following the Wounded Knee occupation in 1973.
LOCATION: University of Wisconsin, La Crosse
Dewing, Rolland, ed., The FBI files on the American Indian Movement and Wounded Knee. Publisher: Frederick, MD : University Publications of America, c1986. 26 microfilm reels ; 35 mm.
LOCATION: University of South Dakota
Schipper, Martin Paul. A guide to the microfilm edition of the FBI files on the American Indian Movement and Wounded Knee / edited by Rolland Dewing ; guide compiled by Martin Schipper. Frederick, MD : University Publications of America, c1986. 49 pp
LOCATION: University of South Dakota
Adams, John. The Role of the FBI in the Wounded Knee Incident. St. Paul, Minn. : Minnesota Public Radio,1974. 1 sound cassette (47 min.) : analog.
NOTES: An interview with Reverend John Adams from the United Methodist Church, designated by the National Council of Churches as a chief mediator at Wounded Knee.
LOCATION: Minot State University, Gordon B. Olson Library
American Indian social activism. Los Angeles : Pacifica Tape Library, 1974. 1 sound cassette (65 min.) : 1 7/8 ips.
Summary: Clyde Bellecourt, one of the original founders of the American Indian Movement, puts the occupation of Wounded Knee into the context of the history of American Indian social activism, which he suggests began in 1968.
LOCATION: University of South Dakota
Belcourt, Vernon. Vernon Belcourt interview. Los Angeles, Calif. : Pacifica Tape Library, ? 1970 1979. 1 sound tape reel (35 min.) : analog, 3 3/4 ips. ; 5 in.
NOTES: An Indian leader describes the significance of the occupation of Wounded Knee, the history of AIM, and the treatment of the Native American by the U.S. government.
LOCATION: Illinois State University
Conditions at Pine Ridge. Los Angeles, Calif. : Pacifica Radio Archive, 1986. 1 sound cassette (50 min.) : analog.
LOCATION: Minneapolis Public Library and Information Center
Deloria, Vine. Behind the Trail of Broken Treaties : an Indian declaration of independence. New York : Delacorte Press, 1974. 2 cassettes : C-90 ; 1516 ips. ; 4 track.
LOCATION: South Dakota State Library
Four Vietnam veterans at Wounded Knee. Rooseveltown, NY . Distributed by Akwesasne Notes, 1973. 1 sound cassette (45 min.) : analog.
NOTES: Produced by The Rest of the News. Interview with four Vietnam veterans who came to support the Wounded Knee occupation. Discusses the political similarities of the two events. Akwesasne notes.
LOCATION: University of Illinois at Springfield
Frontline. United States : WETA-TV, WETA-TV, YEAR: 1990. 1 videocassette of 1 (ca. 60 min.) : sd., col. ; 3/4 in.
NOTES: Copyright: WGBH Education Foundation. DCR 1990; PUB 18Dec90; REG 6Mar92; PA555-112. Episode no. 908. Source used: WETA advance program schedule. Correspondent, Milo Yellow Hair ; original script by Kevin McKiernan ; voice of interviewer, Kevin McKiernan. One hundred years after the battle at Wounded Knee, the history of the Lakota Sioux's struggle to retain their culture and their lands in the Black Hills is examined.
LOCATION: Library of Congress
Geronimo and the Apache resistance . Alexandria, VA.: Los Angeles :PBS Home Video ; Distributed by The Pacific Arts Corporation, 1992. 1 videodisc (120 min.) : sd., col. with b&w sequences ; 12 in.
NOTES: Geronimo originally broadcast on a 1988 episode of the television program The American Experience. Crazy Horse originally broadcast on a 1990 episode of Frontline. "PBS LD 1004." Geronimo and the Apache resistance (60 min.) -- The Spirit of Crazy Horse (58 min.) Narrators for the programs are Neil Goodwin and Milo Yellow Hair. These two programs offer a personal perspective on Native Americans dealing with the continuing struggle to maintain their cultural identity. CLV extended play format.
LOCATION: University of Virginia
Indictments for the innocent. Los Angeles, Calif. : Pacifica Radio Archive, 1983. 1 sound cassette (69 min.) : analog.
NOTES: Excerpts from a presentation delivered by the Wounded Knee Legal Defense/Offense Committee at the College of St. Scholastica in Duluth, Minn., on Jan. 23, 1974.
LOCATION: Minneapolis Public Library and Information Center
Kunstler, William Moses. [William Kunstler tells the history of the Wounded Knee struggle.] 1974. 1 sound tape reel : 7.5 ips, mono. ; 7 in, 1/4 in. tape.
NOTES: Broadcast on National Public Radio, November 7, 1974.
LOCATION: Michigan State University
Kunstler, William Moses. The implications of Wounded Knee. Los Angeles, Calif. : Pacifica Radio Archive, 1983. 1 sound cassette (51 min.) : analog.
NOTES: Speech delivered by William Kunstler, Jan. 23, 1974 at the Univ.
LOCATION: Augustana College
Lane, Mark. A tribute to Gladys Bissonette. Rooseveltown, NY : Akwesasne Notes, 1974. 1 sound cassette (15 min.) : analog.
Recorded Aug. 19, 1974. Mark Lane in conversation with Kanatakeniate describes the defense testimony of Gladys Bissonette during the trial resulting from the occupation of Wounded Knee, S.D.
LOCATION: University of Illinois at Springfield
Means, Russell. [Russell Means tells of the religious sources of his fight at Wounded Knee] 1974. 1 sound tape reel : 7.5 ips, mono. ; 7 in, 1/4 in. tape.
NOTES: Broadcast in November, 1974.
LOCATION: Michigan State University
The Road to Wounded Knee. N. Hollywood, CA : Pacifica Radio Archive, 1973. 5 sound cassettes : analog
NOTES: Conditions at Pine Ridge -- Chronology of events --History and the philosophy of AIM -- An interview with Crow Dog -- An interview with Tom Cook.
LOCATION: Multnomah County Library
Second battle of Wounded Knee. Rooseveltown, NY : Akwesasne Notes, 1973. 1 sound cassette (45 min.) : analog.
NOTES: Radio documentary. Produced by The Rest of the News. Akwesasne notes.
LOCATION: University of Illinois at Springfield
Severt Young Bear. Rooseveltown, N.Y. : Akwesasne Notes, 1974. 1 sound cassette (45 min.) : analog.
NOTES: Oglala leader Severt Young Bear tells of broken treaties and land rip-offs at Pine Ridge, and the events leading to the 1973 occupation of Wounded Knee, S.D.
LOCATION: University of Illinois at Springfield
Short interviews on Wounded Knee. Rooseveltown, N.Y. : Distributed by Akwesasne Notes, 1973. 1 sound cassette (60 min.) : analog.
NOTES: Interviews with Carter Camp, Ellen Moves Camp, Stan Holder and Matthew King recorded by the Rest of the News.
LOCATION: University of Illinois at Springfield
Siege at Wounded Knee. Minneapolis, Mn. : WCCO-TV, YEAR: 1982-1973. 1 videocassette (22 min.) : sd., col. ; 3/4 in.
LOCATION: Anoka-Ramsey Community College, Minnesota
Sit in at Wounded Knee, South Dakota. 1976. 1 videocassette (ca. 45 min.) : sd., col. ; 3/4 in.
NOTES: Lecture at California State University, Long Beach, on March 5, 1976.
The Spirit of Crazy Horse. [Alexandria, VA] : Beverly Hills, CA : PBS Home Video ; Distributed by Pacific Arts Video, 1991 1990. 1 videocassette (60 min.) : sd., col with b&w sequences ; 1/2 in.
NOTES: Originally shown on the television program entitled: Frontline. "PBS 274"--Cassette. Photographer, James Locker ; editor, Nathaniel Dorsky ; music, Kevin Locke, William Horn Cloud, William Good Voice Elk. Milo Yellow Hair. Milo Yellow Hair recounts the story of the Lakota Sioux Indian's struggle to reclaim their ancestral homeland and their continuing struggle to maintain their cultural identity. The program investigates the simmering conflict of recent decades and offers a perspective on the choices that lie ahead. VHS format.
LOCATION: University of South Dakota, University of Sioux Falls
Why Wounded Knee? Pacifica Tape Library AZ 0075A. 1976. 2 cassettes. mono. 2-track.
LOCATION: Augustana College
Wounded Knee epilogue. St. Paul, Minnesota Public Radio, 1974. 1 cassette. 2-track. mono.
NOTES: Kevin McKiernan puts together a comprehensive overview compiled from his coverage of the Wounded Knee controversy, beginning with reports from the occupied village, through the trial, and concluding with interviews with individuals important to the controversy; portions refer to the Indian Solidarity Day, a year after the occupation, and the Sundance ritual.
LOCATION: Brookings Public Library
Yellowbird, Bob. {Bob Yellowbird tells the origins of the American Indian movement and of the Wounded Knee struggle and asks for support, at Michigan State University] 1975. 1 sound tape reel : 7.5 ips, mono. ; 7 in, 1/4 in. tape.
NOTES: Broadcast on WKAR, February 4, 1975.
LOCATION: Michigan State University
OTHER
Deloria, Vine. "The new activism." Dialogue ; vol. 6, no. 2 (1973). Washington, D.C. : U.S. Information Agency, 1973. 12pp.
LOCATION: University of Minnesota, Minneapolis
Wounded Knee news. New York : Wounded Knee Communications, 1973-. Serial: v. : ill. ; 28 cm. NUMBERING: No. 1 (July 1973)-
LOCATION: Michigan State University