Skip to main content

Lloyd Roosevelt Moses

Please e-mail speccoll@usd.edu with comments & questions.

Scope and Contents

The Lloyd Roosevelt Moses Collection contains eleven series: Correspondence, Maps, Manuscripts, Personal, Printed Materials, Publications, Research Materials, Typescripts, Photographs, Audio/Visual and Ephemera.  Lloyd Moses first donated his papers in 1996, and T. Emogene Paulson made additional donations in 2000 and 2001, after Lloyd Moses’ death.

The Correspondence series is divided into four sub-series: Incoming, Outgoing, Other and Sympathy cards.   The first three sub-series contain letters that concern topics regarding the Institute for Indian Studies, the Military and Moses’ personal interests.  Many of the letters are photocopies of originals not included in this collection.  The Sympathy Cards sub-series contains cards from Moses’ family and friends after his death.

The Manuscript series contains drafts of Moses’ speeches.  Included in this series is the hand written Commissioning Exercise Address, which is also available in a typed format in the Typescript series.

The Maps series contains several Clay County maps including a 1982 city map of Vermillion.  Also included are maps for Tripp and Mellette County and a map of Europe with Moses’ holograph notes about the various countries.

The Personal series contains biographical information on Moses and his family.  There is some correspondence relating to family research.  Also included are personal documents about Enoch Moses, a Moses relative who served in the Civil War, Lloyd Moses’ birth Certificate and typescripts of several versions of the Moses family tree.  The series also contains, Moses’ nomination forms for SD Cowboy and Western Hall of Fame and Moses’ runner’s diary for the program “Run for Your Life”.

The Printed Materials series contains several books including: a copy of the Vest Pocket Bible Dictionary with Moses’ holograph notes, a copy of Cambridge Concordance Bible that was given to him by servicemen Daley Barracks, Bad Kissingen, Germany and a book about Moses family genealogy.  Also included are publications by the Institute for Indian Studies such as the Institute Newsletter and publications about the Head start Program.  The newspaper clippings concern various events during Moses’ life.  The Clippings are arranged chronologically. 

The largest series in the collection is the Publications series.  It contains materials from the publications Clay County Place Names, Sioux Collections, Whatever it Takes and Who’s Who Among the Sioux.  Included are correspondence concerning Sioux Collections and Who’s Who Among the Sioux, copyright forms, drafts, and research Materials.  Of special interest are the Resource files for Who’s Who Among the Sioux.  These files contain T. Emogene Paulson’s notes, research, requests for information and correspondence on each of the book’s biographical entries.  Though most of the files contain only a few items, there is more information on the most notable figures.  The Resource files are filed alphabetically by entrants name. 

The Research Materials contain Moses’ research on several topics including: George Armstrong Custer and the battle of Little Big Horn, Lewis and Clark’s visit to Spirit Mound, Lakota Language and Religious Studies.  Also included in this series are research materials for Moses’ speeches.  This series is arranged topically and contains handwritten notes and articles regarding the topics.

The Typescript series contains copies of speeches given by Moses at various events and papers written by Moses, Rich Gerry and Thomas Earl Geu. 

The Photographs series is divided into several sub-series: Activities, Family, Military, Miscellaneous, Personal, Portraits, Proof Sheets and University of South Dakota.  The Activities sub series contains pictures of the Archeological dig at Hell Gap, Wyoming and miscellaneous photographs of Moses in various activities such as bobsledding and boy scouting.  The Family sub-series contains Moses family pictures, which includes photos of Moses’ maternal grandparents, parents, and brother. The Military Photos include pictures from Europe, Japan, Korea, Parachuting and unidentified military photos.  Also included in this sub-series are photos of military correspondence, which were used in Moses’ book. The Miscellaneous sub-series contains pictures from Moses’ tour at Breckenridge, MN, the 1972 Rapid City flood, pictures from the State Historical Society and a color photograph of Dwight D. Eisenhower during a tickertape parade.  The personal sub-series contains photos of football players at Colome High School and Moses’ friends.  Also included in this sub series are photos of Moses’ burial service at Arlington Cemetery and pictures of the Moses home in Fairfax and Vermillion, SD.  This sub series is preceded by a list, created by T. Emogene Paulson, identifying the numbered photographs in this sub-series.  The Portraits sub-series contains several portraits of Enos Poor Bear Sr. and Lloyd Moses.  The Proof Sheet sub-series contains proof sheets of photos used in Moses’ autobiography Whatever it Takes.  The University of South Dakota sub-series contains photos of Moses’ receiving an honorary degree of letters on May 14, 1977 at the USD graduation ceremony as well as photos of the staff of the Institute of Indian Studies.

The Audio/Visual contains slides and videotapes.  There are four boxes of slides.  They cover Moses’ time in Europe, photos of his retirement, his work for the Clay County Historical Society and his trip to witness the Polar Bear Migration in Churchill, Manitoba Canada.  The videotapes cover Moses’ autobiography press conference, a tape from his Churchill, Manitoba trip and a video made from 8mm filmstrips.

The Ephemera series contains certificates, the Oglala Sioux Tribal flag that was enclosed with a letter and a pencil sketch of Lloyd Moses.  Also included are post cards of Chief Eagle, Calvin Coolidge, Germany, Hitler’s House and the Bombing of Pearl Harbor.  Several programs are included in this series including those for Moses’ retirement party and his memorial service.

Footer for USD LibGuide v2.0