Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Vermillion, South Dakota

Please e-mail speccoll@usd.edu with comments & questions.

Scope and Contents

The Vermillion, South Dakota Collection contains six series: Correspondence, Land Title Abstracts, Photographs, Printed Materials, Typescripts, and one subject series on the Vermillion Sesquicentennial.

The Correspondence series consists of three individual letters relating to Vermillion history from 1888, 1909, and 1954.

The Land Title Abstracts series contains 4 abstracts for parcels of land in Vermillion or in Clay County.

The Printed Materials series contains one successful National Register of Historic Places application for the Downtown Vermillion Historic District, one Preserve America grant application for funds to produce a publication on Vermilion’s history for the town’s sesquicentennial, two books on Vermillion’s history, newspaper clippings, and promotional literature from various city agencies. Visitor information, maps, guides, and other brochures were produced by the Chamber of Commerce for students attending USD or those individuals coming to teach/work at the university.  The Vermillion Development Company produced city economic profiles to encourage business opportunities in the area. Student handbooks, play productions, and commencement materials from Vermillion Middle and High School are also included in this series.

The Photograph series contains photographs of the city mayors and managers and five 8 x 10 negatives of the Vermillion High School Basketball Team, ca. 1940s.

The Typescript series consists of a 2 page document entitled “The Military Road” by USD professor of history Cedric Cummins.

The Vermillion Sesquicentennial series contains material used to celebrate Vermillion’s 150 of existence.

Footer for USD LibGuide v2.0