Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Educational Media Film Collection

Please e-mail speccoll@usd.edu with comments & questions.

Contents List

16mm Films

Descriptive list of the 16mm films

 

Acting: A Study of Life, Program 1 (Workshop with Alvina Krause)

M-458; July 1970; 12 inches; color; copyright Forward Productions

 

Acting: A Study of Life, Program 2 (Workshop with Alvina Krause)

Shakespeare: An Age of Astonishment

M-459; July 1970; 12 inches; color; copyright Forward Productions

 

Acting: A Study of Life, Program 3 (Workshop with Alvina Krause)

Contemporary Drama, Part 1

M-460; July 1970; 12 inches; color; copyright Forward Productions

 

Acting: A Study of Life, Program 4 (Workshop with Alvina Krause)

Contemporary Drama, Part 2

Drama of the Absurd

M-461; July 1970; 12 inches; color; copyright Forward Productions

 

Acting: A Study of Life, Program 5 (Workshop with Alvina Krause)

Outer Techniques of Communication

M-462; July 1970; 12 inches; color; copyright Forward Productions

 

Acting: A Study of Life, Program 6 (Workshop with Alvina Krause)

Antigone

M-456; July 1970; 12 inches; copyright Forward Productions

 

The Adventure of the Arts

H-136; 1967; 9.5 inches; 14 minutes; color

“An exploration of the creative process, in which, the work of a painter, a composer and a writer illustrate three aspects of the adventure of the arts.” Presented by the College of Fine Arts, University of South Dakota; narrated by Martin Busch; paintings by Paul Arnold and Douglas Sharples; original music by Robert Marek and Ronald Odson; written and directed by Sanford D. Gray.

Patron access copy on DVD available in this collection.

 

The American as Artist: A Portrait of Bob Penn

R-604-U; Date unknown, ca. 1970s; 29 minutes; color

“A painter who is also a Native American, Robert Penn comments on the hybrid cultural qualities of his work, and the significance of color and mood in his compositions” (description from OCLC). Narrated by Graham Thatcher; Director & Photographer James P. Sprecher; Executive Producer David Allen Silvian; Producer Sanford D. Gray; Project Director Bill E. Hopkins; Writer: Hansford Martin; Produced through the University of South Dakota, E.O. Lawrence Telecommunications Center for the Midwestern Educational Television Network

Patron access copy on DVD available in this collection.

 

Amiotte

R-603-U; Date unknown, ca. 1970s; 30 minutes; color

“A portrait of Arthur Amiotte, a 34-year-old Oglala Sioux from the Pine Ridge Reservation in South Dakota who has been educated in the best art schools white culture has to offer, but becomes frustrated with white society and values. Shows his return to the reservation where experiences with a medicine man rearrange his attitudes and his painting” (description from OCLC). Produced through a grant from the Jerome Foundation, Inc; Executive Producer David Allen Silvian; Producer Bruce Baird; Director, cinematographer and editor Richard Muller; Produced for the Midwest Educational Television Network

Patron access copy on DVD available in this collection.

 

Black Hills Playhouse

G-69; 1962; 7 inches; 10 minutes 30 seconds; color

“The many activities revolving around the production of a play at the Black Hills Playhouse are shown. Students of theatre gather from all parts of the country to participate in this excellent summer theatre.”

 

A Century of Learning

S-679; 1982; 10.5 inches; 17 minutes; color

Narrated by Tom Brokaw and directed by Sanford Gray.

 

Chiasma

F-182; 1964; 7 inches; 5 minutes 9 seconds; color

“This film, with the exception of the title and credits, was produced entirely without the use of a camera. Various abstract patterns flash on the screen to an original score by Robert C. Marek.” Music by Robert Marek; filmed by Sanford Gray.

Patron access copy on DVD available in this collection.

 

Child Is a Piper

H-624; 12 inches; 29 minutes; color

“This film shows attractions within one hour of Rapid City, as seen through a child’s eyes. It is educational and scenic, and includes Mount Rushmore, the Badlands, Storybook Island, wild-life in Custer State Park, Crazy Horse, outdoor recreation, rodeos, etc…”

 

Christie

F-211-USD; 1966; 7 inches; 10 minutes 43 seconds; color

“This film shows the life of a Nigerian pre-med student, attending the University of South Dakota on an American Association of University Women International Fellowship. Christie Adesanya chats with students about life in the United States and in her native Nigeria.” Directed by Sanford Gray.

 

The College Crisis and You

H-124; 1958; 10.5 inches; 13 minutes; black and white

National Association of State Universities and Land-Grant Colleges. Narrated by Bill Shiply.

 

Could It Happen Here?

F-187; 1964; 7 inches; 10 minutes 57 seconds; black and white

“Produced originally for Law Day, USD, this film shows the importance of the third, fifth, and eighth amendments to the Constitution. In this dramatization, the defendant, accused of a minor traffic violation drifts off into a dream world where the Constitutional Amendments have been abolished as “obsolete.” He awakens to find himself in a modern day courtroom protected by his full Constitutional rights.” Written by Ernest Phelps and Don Miller and directed by Sanford Gray.

 

A Country School Legacy (two copies)

M-313; 12 inches; color

 

Drops of Stone: A Study in Solid and Fluid Form

F-213-KUSD; 1962; 7 inches; 5 minutes 52 seconds; color

“A study in solid and fluid forms. Shots of a miniature copy of Michelangelo’s David are contrasted with shots of ink swirling in water.” Original score by Leslie Beyer and directed by Roger Miller.

 

Earth Power

C-232-U; 12 inches; color

 

The Eternal Search (two copies)

E-140-1 and E-141-2; circa 1950’s; 10.5 inches; black and white

“Introduction by I.D. Weeks. Faculty Research Studies: Archeology dig finds skeleton; Geology in the field mapping; Psychology testing with monkeys; Social Behavior; Medical Research.” Narrated by Larry Michaels; script by Jim Slack; directed by Don Miller; filmed at the State University of South Dakota.

Patron access copy on DVD available in this collection.

 

Fantasy

F-183; 1965; 7 inches; 5 minutes 17 seconds; color

“Various patterns evolve as threads appear on a black velvet background in strict rhythm to a guitar accompaniment. John Dowland’s Fantasy for Guitar set the pace for the delicate patterns as they appear.” Student production. Music by John Dowland.; performed by Charles Pederson; animation by Mary Holien.

[Title on container and in shelving list is Fantasy #3]

 

Fare Thee West

R-548; 1970; 12 inches; 28 minutes 5 seconds; color

“The film covers the historic and recreational sites and activities throughout the state.” S.D. Department of Highways.

 

Frustrating Fours and Fascinating Fives

Ages and Stages Series, McGraw Hill

1953; 22 minutes; black and white

“A study of the behavior of four-and five-year-old children at home and at nursery school, presenting typical examples of the actions of children at these ages. Shows the vacillation between infantile helplessness and vigorous self-assertion at four, and the development of independence and the beginnings of cooperation at five and presents advice and encouragement to parents.” Department of National Health and Welfare, Ottawa; made by Crawley films for the National Board of Canada; released by National Film Board of Canada.

 

Future of South Dakota Program: A Summary

C-240; 12 inches; color

Produced, narrated and directed by Douglas Sharples; written by Douglas and Judy Sharples.

 

Graduate Study: Key to the Future

H-172; 1962; 12 inches; about 26 minutes; color

“An overall look at graduate and postgraduate work at the State University of South Dakota.” Narrated by Larry Michaels. A State University of South Dakota Motion Picture Unit Production; narrated by Larry Michael; written, directed and photographed by Sanford D. Gray.

Patron access copy on DVD available in this collection.

 

The Great Lakes of South Dakota

H-616; 1965; 9.5 inches; 14 minutes 15 seconds; color

“Scenes from recreational and economic activities on four dams along the Missouri River in South Dakota, plus historical material on river exploration.” Produced for South Dakota Department of Highways, script by Bob Geddy, narrator Gene Zimmerman, a Nauman Films Production.

Patron access copy on DVD available in this collection.

 

Happiest Gold Rush Ever

K-298; 1976; 14 inches; 34 minutes 59 seconds; color

“The early history of the Black Hills of South Dakota and the riotous days of the Black Hills Gold Rush are re-created from painting and photographs from nearly twenty libraries, museums, historical societies and archives. The film culminates in a live action sequences shot in the Homestake Mine of the present.” Produced by The University of South Dakota on a grant from The South Dakota Arts Council, the Deadwood-Lead Centennial Committee and KUSD TV; directed and photographed by Sanford D. Gray; written by Hansford Martin; narrative by Wayne S. Knutson; KUSD production.

Patron access copy on DVD available in this collection.

 

Harvey Dunn: Painter of Pioneers

R-502-3; 1968; 12 inches; 27 minutes 52 seconds; color

Narrated by John McIntire; written and directed by John Wheeler.

 

Have You Really Seen South Dakota?

F-240; 1970; 7 inches; 14 minutes; color

“A brief look at South Dakota attractions including the Northeast and Great Lakes and the Black Hills and Badlands areas.” Produced by Department of Highways; South Dakota Travel Division.

Patron access copy on DVD available in this collection.

 

Health Care: Crisis at Rosebud

R-208; 1973; 10.5 inches; 20 minutes 32 seconds: color

“This film explores the serious doctor shortage which existed on the Rosebud Reservation in 1973 and offers some ways of finding a solution.” Produced by the University of South Dakota for the South Dakota Committee for the Humanities, Vision Maker Video. Narrated by Jack Bruce; written by Craig T. Shoemaker, Joan McConville Gray, and Joseph H. Cash; directed by Sanford D. Gray; project director Herbert Hoover.

Patron access copy on DVD available in this collection.

Related material can be found in the South Dakota Oral History Center: Sound recording of field notes by Dr. Charles Allen (June 8th, 1973).

 

Helping Hands (three copies)

Speech and Hearing Center, USD

F-153-U, F-181-2-U, F-222-3; 1965; 7 inches; 10 minutes; color

“This film shows some of the advantages in using the moto-kinesthetic method in speech correction. Three examples are shown; a hyperactive child with an articulatory problem, an adult with severe hearing loss, and an adult sphasic.” Clinicians: Lily Tjomsland, Sylvester Clifford, and Alyce Jessen; directed by Sanford Gray.

 

How You Can Succeed on Skis without Really Crying

F-229; 1968; 7 inches; 10 minutes; color

“This is a humorous short story on learning to ski at Terry Peak in the Black Hills of South Dakota.”

[Title on container and in shelving list is How to Succeed on Skis without Really Crying]

 

Illustrations of Aphasia

F-212; 1965; 7 inches; 6 minutes; color

“This film shows some of the typical problems encountered in working with the speech problems of an aphasic patient recovering from a cerebral hemorrhage.” Directed by Sanford Gray; clinician, Sylvester Clifford, Ph.D.

 

The Impact of Gutzon Borglum

F221-U; 7 inches; color

Narrated by Graham Thatcher.

[Title on container and in shelving list is Mount Rushmore: The Impact of Gutzon Borglum]

 

Impressions of a Program in Nursing

E-5-U; 1966; 3.5 inches; 13 minutes 8 seconds; black and white

“The program in nursing at the University of South Dakota as seen through the eyes of three student nurses. One, a former nurse having successfully raised a family and returning to nursing; another, a young lady just out of high school; and the third, a young man planning to enter the nursing profession.” Presented by the University of South Dakota; photographed and directed by David Wienkauf.

[Title on container and in shelving list is Impressions of a Career in Nursing]

 

In the Interests of Time

C-231-U; 1979, 12 inches; about 29 minutes, color

“A look into the historical preservation movement in South Dakota and support from the National Trust.” Presented by the Historical Preservation Center of South Dakota, the Office of Cultural Preservation, the University of South Dakota, and the South Dakota Committee on the Humanities; directed and photographed by Sanford D. Gray, written by Hansford Martin, narrated by Jack Bruce, project director John J. Little, consultants Jerrald Thoms and Clayland Waite.

Patron access copy on DVD available in this collection.

 

The Inner City

H-137; 1962; 10.5 inches; 18 minutes and 48 seconds; black and white

“The problems of a social worker living in the Inner City section of Chicago are explored. Produced entirely from still photographs, the film is written and narrated by a former USD faculty member who has spent several summers working in the Inner City.” Still photographs by Richard Gowen and Ed Wallowitch; written and narrated by Richard Gowen; directed by Sanford Gray.

 

Joyful Noise

F-186-U; 1970; 7 inches; 11 minutes 8 seconds; color

“Dance is increasingly being utilized as part of the worship service. This film shows how “Lord of the Dance,” “Breath on Me,” and the Nicene Creed were choreographed by two nonprofessional dance groups in Howard, S.D.” A presentation of the South Dakota Arts Council for the Fine Arts Committee of the SD Council of Churches; produced by USD; music performed by Ed Johnson, Burce Mauyer, Kathy Burnett; written by Hansford Martin; photographed and directed by Sanford Gray.

 

Keys to the Library

K-31; 10.5 inches; color

L. Herman Smith, library consultant; Kugler Barker Production: Pasadena, California.

 

The Keystone WYE

H-623; 12 inches; 28 minutes; color

“The Keystone Wye is a documentary of the construction of a tri-level laminated wooden structure at the junction of highway US 16 and 16A north of Keystone, SD. Included are some scenic views in addition to the planning, programming, letting for contract, survey, timber cutting, lamination of the beams and arches of the structure of Timber Structures Inc., Portland, Oregon and all areas of the construction, and the dedication by Governor Boe.” South Dakota Department of Highways.

 

Legends of the Sioux

R-522; 1966; 12 inches; 28 minutes; color

"This is an authentic recreation of the excitement and color of ancient Sioux legends in a beautiful setting of South Dakota mountains, prairies, and badlands.” Nauman Productions; SD Department of Highways; photographed and directed by Sanford Gray.

 

Make a Mighty Reach

M-313; 15 inches; color

Written, produced, and directed by Dan Weisburd; assistant producer, Thomas Caulfield; filmed by Robert Kaufman.

 

Mount Rushmore

MR-34; 1965; 12 inches; 28 minutes; color

“A documentary on the carving of Mount Rushmore Memorial by Gutzon Borglum, with early sculpture scenes and historical backgrounds of the four presidents.” Narrated by Lowell Thomas; Mt. Rushmore National Memorial Society of the Black Hills.

 

Oahe: A Question of Values

K-194; 1975; 15 inches; color

“The 55-minute documentary about the Oahe irrigation project that helped to change the course of South Dakota history.” Black Hills State College; William Bogard, project director and script advisor; written and edited by Douglas and Judy Sharples; produced and directed by Douglas Sharples, Cottonwood Productions.

 

Old West Trail: Explore the Country

R-533; 1973; 12.5 inches; 27 minutes 31 seconds: color

“This film, narrated by Chet Huntley, depicts activities and attractions in the Old West Trail States of South Dakota, North Dakota, Montana, Wyoming and Nebraska in a fast moving, colorful travelog [sic.]. The film is spiced with history, powwows, rodeos, trail rides, parks, wildlife and other features common to this area.” Old West Trail Foundation.

 

Open Road

H627; 12 inches; 28 minutes; color

“Most interesting to South Dakotans. It portrays highway construction from soil testing to final allying of pavement.” South Dakota Department of Highways.

 

Our Schools (two copies)

U-11, U-12; 1964; 10.5 inches; black and white

Filmed by Glenn Wentzel.

[Title on container and in shelving list is Our Schools: School District Reorganization]

 

Prelude, Fugue and Chaconne

F-188-U; 1962; 7 inches; 6 minutes 24 seconds; color

“A short film that explores the working parts of a pipe organ. Shots of the blower, windchest, trackers and pipes are edited in strict rhythm with the music in an attempt to visually interpret the composition of Diderik Buxtehude.” Robert Clark, organist; produced and directed by Sanford Gray.

 

Science Fair

1962; 9 inches; 9 minutes 40 seconds; color

“The camera takes a look at one of the annual Science Fairs held at the University of South Dakota. A number of the exhibits presented by High School students are shown and the film is climaxed by the presentation of awards.” State University of South Dakota; written and directed by Sanford Gray; narrated by Larry Michael and Dennis Ristau.

 

Science Fair (two copies)

1962; 7 inches; 9 minutes 40 seconds; color

“The camera takes a look at one of the annual Science Fairs held at the University of South Dakota. A number of the exhibits presented by High School students are shown and the film is climaxed by the presentation of awards.” State University of South Dakota; written and directed by Sanford Gray; narrated by Larry Michael and Dennis Ristau.

 

Shrine to Music Museum: The Development of a Major New Cultural Institution on the Great Plains

C-228; 1980; 12 inches; color

Directed and photographed by Sanford Gray; written by Hansford Martin; narrated by Jack Bruce.

 

Snow Piece

F-184-USD; 1965; 7 inches; 7 minutes 19 seconds; color

“The camera explores the many textures, shadows and patterns that are the result of a heavy snowfall. Frost clings to trees, eerie shadows stretch out across the snow, and icicles glisten in the sun.” A University of South Dakota Film Production; Music by Robert Marek; directed by Sanford D. Gray.

Patron access copy on DVD available in this collection.

 

South Dakota Kaleidoscope

R-467; 1970; 12 inches; 27 minutes 56 seconds; color

“This colorful production displays all of South Dakota’s majestic scenery in the colors of the beautiful kaleidoscope. Scenes from activities of Mount Rushmore, the many rodeos in South Dakota, parades and other exciting events make up the film.” Presented by Travel Division, South Dakota Department of Highways; produced by the University of South Dakota; photographed and directed by Sanford D. Gray.

Patron access copy on DVD available in this collection.

 

Space for the Mentally Retarded

K-241; 1968; 10.5 inches; 20 minutes and 20 seconds; color

“This film aimed primarily at a South Dakota audience, tells what facilities are available in the state for the mentally retarded. It also points out some of the problems involved in caring for the retarded and what can be done to help them.” Produced by the University of South Dakota for the Mental Retardation Planning Section, SD Dept. of Health; directed by Sanford Gray; narrated by Jack Bruce.

 

Surprising South Dakota

H-625; 9.5 inches; color

A film by John Savage.

 

Teaching the Child Who Is Mentally Retarded (three copies)

H-103, H-104, H-105; 10.5 inches; color

Filmed by Sanford Gray.

 

Travels in the Interior of North America

E-163; 1972; 9.5 inches; 13 minutes; color

“Film is based on Maximilian of Wied’s written descriptions and Karl Bodmer’s hand-colored illustration depicting their journey along the Missouri River Valley in 1833-1834. Presents cultures of various Indian tribes they encountered.” James Jerome Hill Reference Library, St. Paul, Minnesota; produced by Virgil Massman.

 

University and You

1950’s; 14 inches; color

The University of South Dakota

Incomplete patron access copy on DVD available in this collection.

 

University and You

F-42; 1950’s; 15 inches

The State University of South Dakota presents ;writers Jim Slack and Don Miller; narrator Jim Slack; director Don Miller.

Patron access copy on DVD available in this collection.

 

What Is the University?

H-100-1(Copy 1); 1959; 9 inches; color; black and white

“President I.D. Weeks, Harry Dykstra, Fred Peterson, Dr. Stilwell, Harry Gamadge, Martin Busch, Radio School of the Air.” Written by Johnny Powell; narrated by Larry Michael; camera direction, Don Miller.

Patron access copy on DVD available in this collection.

 

What Is the University?

H-100-2 (Copy 2); 1959; 3.5 inches; black and white

“President I.D. Weeks, Harry Dykstra, Fred Peterson, Dr. Stilwell, Harry Gamadge, Martin Busch, Radio School of the Air.” Written by Johnny Powell; narrated by Larry Michael; camera direction, Don Miller.

 

Shelving order of the 16mm films

 

7.5 inch reel enclosure

Black Hills Playhouse

Chiasma

Christie

Could It Happen Here?

Drops of Stone: A Study in Solid and Fluid Form

Fantasy #3

[Title in descriptive list is Fantasy]

Have You Really Seen South Dakota?

Helping Hands (three copies)

How to Succeed on Skis without Really Crying

[Title in descriptive list is How You Can Succeed on Skis without Really Crying]

Illustrations of Aphasia

Joyful Noise

Mount Rushmore: The Impact of Gutzon Borglum

[Title in descriptive list is The Impact of Gutzon Borglum]

Prelude, Fugue and Chaconne

Science Fair (two copies)

Snow Piece

 

10 inch reel enclosure

The Adventure of the Arts

The Great Lakes of South Dakota

Impressions of a Career in Nursing

[Title in descriptive list is Impressions of a Program in Nursing]

Science Fair

Surprising South Dakota

Travels in the Interior of North America

What Is the University? (two copies)

 

12 inch reel enclosure

The American as Artist: A Portrait of Bob Penn

Amiotte

The Eternal Search (two copies)

Frustrating Fours and Fascinating Fives

Health Care: Crisis at Rosebud

The Inner City

Keys to the Library

Our Schools: School District Reorganization (two copies)

[Title in descriptive list is Our Schools]

Space for the Mentally Retarded

Teaching the Child Who Is Mentally Retarded (Three copies)

 

12.5 inch reel enclosure

Acting: A Study of Life, Program 1 (Workshop with Alvina Krause)

Acting: A Study of Life, Program 2 (Workshop with Alvina Krause)

Acting: A Study of Life, Program 3 (Workshop with Alvina Krause)

Contemporary Drama, Part 1

Acting: A Study of Life, Program 4 (Workshop with Alvina Krause)

Contemporary Drama, Part 2

Drama of the Absurd

Acting: A Study of Life, Program 5 (Workshop with Alvina Krause)

Outer Techniques of Communication

Acting: A Study of Life, Program 6 (Workshop with Alvina Krause)

Antigone

A Century of Learning

Child Is a Piper

The College Crisis and You

A Country School Legacy (two copies)

Earth Power

Fare Thee West

Future of South Dakota Program: A Summary

Graduate Study: Key to the Future

Harvey Dunn: Painter of Pioneers

In the Interests of Time

The Keystone WYE

Legends of the Sioux

Mount Rushmore

Old West Trail: Explore the Country

Open Road

Shrine to Music Museum: The Development of a Major New Cultural Institution on the Great Plains

South Dakota Kaleidoscope

 

15.25 inch reel enclosure

Happiest Gold Rush Ever

The University and You (Two copies)

Make a Mighty Reach – in old metal can, size of enclosure will change

Oahe: A Question of Values – in old metal can, size of enclosure will change

 

Digital copies

Digital copies on DVD (Digital Video Disc) of the 16mm films for patron access

 

The Adventure of the Arts

Transfer from 16mm film to DVD June 2010

MPEG-2 format

 

Amiotte

Transfer from 16 mm film to DVD June 2015

Two copies of film on one DVD, one AVI file and one MP4 file

 

The American as Artist: A Portrait of Bob Penn

Transfer from 16 mm film to DVD June 2015

Two copies of film on one DVD, one AVI file and one MP4 file

 

Amiotte and The American as Artist: A Portrait of Bob Penn

Transfer from 16 mm film to DVD September 2010

Two films on one disk

[Title written on film container and written on the DVD is Bob Penn: American as Artist]

 

The Art of Being Indian and Oscar Howe: The Sioux Painter

Transfer from 16 mm film to DVD September 2010

Two films on one disk

Unknown if these were copied from films that were part of the Educational Media film collection

 

Chiasma

F-182;

Transfer from 16mm film to DVD April-May 2012

Format: MPEG-2 compression

Disk type: Archival-grade single-sided silver DVD-R

 

The Eternal Search

E-140-1;

Transfer from 16mm film to DVD April-May 2012

Format: MPEG-2 compression

Disk type: Archival-grade single-sided silver DVD-R

 

Graduate Study: A Key to the Future

H-172;

Transfer from 16mm film to DVD April-May 2012

Replacement disk made August 2013

Format: MPEG-2 compression

Disk type: Archival-grade single-sided silver DVD-R

 

The Great Lakes of South Dakota

H-616

Transfer from 16mm film to DVD May-June 2013

Format: MPEG-2 compression

Disk type: Archival-grade single-layer silver DVD-R

 

Happiest Gold Rush Ever

K-298

Transfer from 16mm film to DVD May-June 2013

Format: MPEG-2 compression

Disk type: Archival-grade single-layer silver DVD-R

 

Have You Really Seen South Dakota?

F-240

Transfer from 16mm film to DVD May-June 2013

Format: MPEG-2 compression

Disk type: Archival-grade single-layer silver DVD-R

 

Health Care: Crisis at Rosebud

R-208

Transfer from 16mm film to DVD May-June 2013

Format: MPEG-2 compression

Disk type: Archival-grade single-layer silver DVD-R

 

In the Interests of Time

C-231-U

Transfer from 16mm film to DVD May-June 2013

Format: MPEG-2 compression

Disk type: Archival-grade single-layer DVD-R

 

Snow Piece

F-184;

Transfer from 16mm film to DVD April-May 2012

Format: MPEG-2 compression

Disk type: Archival-grade single-sided silver DVD-R

 

South Dakota Kaleidoscope

R-467

Transfer from 16mm film to DVD May-June 2013

Format: MPEG-2 compression

Disk type: Archival-grade single-layer silver DVD-R

 

The University and You

F-42;

Transfer from 16mm film to DVD April-May 2012

Replacement disk made August 2013

Format: MPEG-2 compression

Disk type: Archival-grade single-sided silver DVD-R

 

What is the University?” “The University and You,” and “The Happiest Gold Rush Ever

Transfer from 16 mm film to DVD September 2010

“The University and You” is an incomplete copy of the 14” version.

Three films on one disk

 

Digital copies on DVD (Digital Video Disc) of the 16mm films for backup

 

Amiotte

Transfer from 16 mm film to DVD June 2015

Format: MP4 file ?

 

The American as Artist: A Portrait of Bob Penn

Transfer from 16 mm film to DVD June 2015

Format: MP4 file ?

 

Amiotte and The American as Artist: A Portrait of Bob Penn

Transfer from 16 mm film to DVD September 2010

Two films on one disk

 

The Art of Being Indian and Oscar Howe: The Sioux Painter

Transfer from 16 mm film to DVD September 2010

Two films on one disk

 

Chiasma

F-182;

Transfer from 16mm film to DVD April-May 2012.

Format: MPEG-2 compression

Disk type: Archival-grade single-sided silver DVD-R

 

The Eternal Search

E-140-1;

Transfer from 16mm film to DVD April-May 2012.

Format: MPEG-2 compression

Disk type: Archival-grade single-sided silver DVD-R

 

Graduate Study: A Key to the Future

H-172;

Transfer from 16mm film to DVD April-May 2012.

Format: MPEG-2 compression

Disk type: Archival-grade single-sided silver DVD-R

 

The Great Lakes of South Dakota

H-616

Transfer from 16mm film to DVD August 2013

Format: MPEG-2 compression

Disk type: Archival-grade single-layer silver DVD-R

 

Happiest Gold Rush Ever

K-298

Transfer from 16mm film to DVD August 2013

Format: MPEG-2 compression

Disk type: Archival-grade single-layer silver DVD-R

 

Have You Really Seen South Dakota?

F-240

Transfer from 16mm film to DVD August 2013

Format: MPEG-2 compression

Disk type: Archival-grade single-layer silver DVD-R

 

Health Care: Crisis at Rosebud

R-208

Transfer from 16mm film to DVD August 2013

Format: MPEG-2 compression

Disk type: Archival-grade single-layer silver DVD-R

 

In the Interests of Time

C-231-U

Transfer from 16mm film to DVD August 2013

Format: MPEG-2 compression

Disk type: Archival-grade single-layer silver DVD-R

 

Snow Piece

F-184;

Transfer from 16mm film to DVD April-May 2012.

Format: MPEG-2 compression

Disk type: Archival-grade single-sided silver DVD-R

 

South Dakota Kaleidoscope

R-467

Transfer from 16mm film to DVD August 2013

Format: MPEG-2 compression

Disk type: Archival-grade single-layer silver DVD-R

 

The University and You

F-42;

Transfer from 16mm film to DVD April-May 2012.

Additional disk made August 2013

Format: MPEG-2 compression

Disk type: Archival-grade single-sided silver DVD-R

 

What is the University?” “The University and You,” and “The Happiest Gold Rush Ever” (2copies)

Transfer from 16 mm film to DVD September 2010

“The University and You” is an incomplete copy of the 14” version.

Three films on one disk

Disk format: One a gold DVD

 

Digital copies on DVD (Digital Video Disc) of the 16mm films for preservation

 

Chiasma

F-182;

Transfer from 16mm film to DVD April-May 2012.

Format: AVI (Audio Video Interleaved or Audio Video Interleave)

Disk type: Archival-grade single-sided silver DVD-R

 

The Eternal Search

E-140-1;

Transfer from 16mm film to DVD April-May 2012.

Format: AVI (Audio Video Interleaved or Audio Video Interleave)

Disk type: Archival-grade single-sided silver DVD-R

 

Graduate Study: A Key to the Future

H-172;

Transfer from 16mm film to DVD April-May 2012.

Format: AVI (Audio Video Interleaved or Audio Video Interleave)

Disk type: Archival-grade single-sided silver DVD-R

 

The Great Lakes of South Dakota

H-616

Transfer from 16mm film to DVD May-June 2013

Format: AVI (Audio Video Interleaved or Audio Video Interleave)

Disk type: Archival-grade single-layer silver DVD-R

 

Happiest Gold Rush Ever

K-298

Transfer from 16mm film to DVD May-June 2013

Format: AVI (Audio Video Interleaved or Audio Video Interleave)

Disk type: Archival-grade double-layer silver DVD-R

 

Have You Really Seen South Dakota?

F-240

Transfer from 16mm film to DVD May-June 2013

Format: AVI (Audio Video Interleaved or Audio Video Interleave)

Disk type: Archival-grade single-layer silver DVD-R

 

Health Care: Crisis at Rosebud

R-208

Transfer from 16mm film to DVD May-June 2013

Format: AVI (Audio Video Interleaved or Audio Video Interleave)

Disk type: Archival-grade single-layer silver DVD-R

 

In the Interests of Time

C-231-U

Transfer from 16mm film to DVD May-June 2013

Format: AVI (Audio Video Interleaved or Audio Video Interleave)

Disk type: Archival-grade double-layer DVD-R

 

Snow Piece

F-184;

Transfer from 16mm film to DVD April-May 2012.

Format: AVI (Audio Video Interleaved or Audio Video Interleave)

Disk type: Archival-grade single-sided silver DVD-R

 

South Dakota Kaleidoscope

R-467

Transfer from 16mm film to DVD May-June 2013

Format: AVI (Audio Video Interleaved or Audio Video Interleave)

Disk type: Archival-grade double-layer DVD-R

 

The University and You

F-42;

Transfer from 16mm film to DVD April-May 2012.

Format: AVI (Audio Video Interleaved or Audio Video Interleave)

Disk type: Archival-grade single-sided silver DVD-R

 

Footer for USD LibGuide v2.0