Skip to main content

USD Photograph Collection

Please e-mail speccoll@usd.edu with comments & questions

Scope and Contents

The USD Photograph Collection represents the visual history of the University of South Dakota, from the 1880’s to the present.  The majority of the photographs in the collection are black and white, with a small number of color photographs.  Though most of the photographers are unidentified, identified photographers included student photographers, professional companies, and campus photographers.  Alumni have also donated additional photographs to the collection.

The USD Photograph Collection is divided into nine series: Alumni, Athletics, Buildings, Departments, Events, Persons, Student Organizations, Miscellaneous/Non-Campus, Oversize, and Photograph Album.

The Alumni series contains pictures from class reunions, commencement participants, and several folders of both identified and unidentified alumni.  Also included are images of USD graduates who became Governors, politicians as well as notable graduates such as Tom Brokaw, Allen H. Neuharth, and Joe Robbie.  Also included in this series is an 1893 photograph of Charles Barkl, who discovered the fire in Old Main.

The majority of photographs in the Athletics series are devoted to football.  There are images of coaches, games and individual players along with team photos from 1895-1948.  Other sports included in the Athletics series are: Baseball, Basketball, Golf, Rugby, Soccer, Softball, Swimming, Tennis, Track and Field, and Volleyball.

The Buildings series contains photos of all buildings on the USD Campus.  Also included in this series are aerial shots of campus, postcards, souvenir views and buildings that are no longer a part of campus, such as the Science Hall and West Hall.

The Departments series is composed of photographs of administration, faculty and student activities within various departments.  Many areas of the University are represented, and the series also includes photographs from the W. H. Over Museum.

The Events series is comprised of photos from various USD events.  Included in this series are photos of Bad Days, Charity Events, and Commencement.  This series includes photographs of Dakota Days, USD’s homecoming celebration, beginning in 1910.  Photographs of Strollers, the yearly fraternity and variety show, date from 1947.

The Persons series contains photos of Deans organized by school. Photographs of Faculty are organized by department, and include three folders of unidentified faculty photographs.  Photographs of Presidents are organized alphabetically by the name of the president.  Also included in the Persons series are student candid shots, class photos, images of student life and student portraits, and layout sheets from the 1980, 1983 and 1984 yearbooks.  In the Miscellaneous sub-series, Josephine Raish’s donated collection of class photographs and football photographs are kept together as a distinct folder of materials within the collection.

The Student Organizations series contains images of several of the University’s student organizations.  Among these are photos of fraternities, sororities, APES, SAA, Student Senate, Volante and other student organizations.

The Miscellaneous/Non-Campus series contains images that have a tenuous connection to the University of South Dakota.  This series includes views of Vermillion and miscellaneous images of people.

The Oversize series contains campus photos including aerial views, graduating class photos circa 1889-1912, theatre, ROTC, music, commencement, Greeks, Miss Dakota, Dakota Days 1954, Strollers, sports team photos, and USD Presidents portraits.

The Photograph Album series contains one album of black and white photographs ca. 1910-1915 titled USD College Memories and with the name C.A. Clemens on the inside cover.

The USD Photograph Database provides more information about images, and allows for searches of the materials

Footer for USD LibGuide v2.0