Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Joseph H. Cash

Please e-mail speccoll@usd.edu with comments & questions

Additional Resources

Oral History Interviews

Cash, Joseph H. Oral history interview regarding the Ottawa Tribe of Oklahoma, 1976. [sound recording]  Location: Oral History Center: AIRP 1023

Cash, Joseph H. Oral history interview (Cash Interviewed about IAIS), 1975. [sound recording]  Location: Oral History Center: AIRP 1058

Cash, Joseph, H. Oral history interview (Oscar Howe), 1981. [sound recording]  Location: Oral History Center: AIRP 2267

Cash, Joseph, H. and Hoover, Herbert (Editors). The American Indian oral history collection/30 interviews on audio cassettes conducted by historians and anthropologists, for research and classroom use, 1977. [sound recording]  Location: Media/1st Floor: E77.C38

Cash, Joseph H. Researcher. Field notes of Dr. Cash (Dr. Joseph Cash discusses the Wounded Knee trials in St. Paul, MN, and the roles of the federal marshals and tribal police during the Wounded Knee Occupation). [sound recording]  Location: Oral History Center: AIRP 962

Cash, Joseph, H. Research. Transcript of field notes of Dr. Joseph Cash (Dr. Joseph Cash discusses the vandalizing of the Minnehaha Courthouse by American Indian movement supporters who had been expelled from the courtroom). [sound recording]  Location: Oral History Center: AIRP 957

Cash, Joseph, H. Researcher. Transcript of Dr. Joseph Cash’s field notes (Dr. Joseph Cash discusses the shooting of Pedro Bissonette by the BIA police on Pine Ridge Reservation in October of 1973, and the involvement of the American Indian Movement). Sound recording]  Location: Oral History Center: AIRP 940

Cash, Joseph H. Researcher. Transcript of Dr. Joseph Cash’s field notes (Joseph Cash discusses the occupation of Mount Rushmore, S.D. in 1971 by American Indian Movement members). [sound recording]  Location: Oral History Center: AIRP 939

Cash, Joseph, H. Transcript of Joseph Cash’s field notes, 1973. (Joseph Cash discusses a conversation he had with Mary Pat Cuney regarding the American Indian Movement, and the occupation of Wounded Knee, SD). [sound recording]  Location: Oral History Center: AIRP 938

Cash, Joseph, H. Field notes of Dr. Joseph Cash, 1973. (Dr. Joseph Cash discusses a story he was told by Nathan Little Soldier about activist Angela Davis at Wounded Knee).  Location: Oral History Center: AIRP 935

Cash, Joseph, H. Transcript of field notes by Dr. Joseph Cash, 1973. (Joseph Cash discusses the aftermath of the Wounded Knee Occupation of 1973 on Pine Ridge Indian Reservation, and its effects on the lives of local people, and tribal politics).  Location: Oral History Center: AIRP 920

Cash, Joseph, H. Transcript of field notes by Dr. Joseph Cash, 1973. (Joseph Cash discusses the effects that the Wounded Knee Occupation of 1973 had on the Pine Ridge Indian reservation community). [sound recording]  Location: Oral History Center: AIRP 919

Cash, Joseph, H. Oral history recording of Joseph Cash, 1970. (Joseph Cash discusses oral history and the American Indian Research Project at the South Dakota Oral History Center). [sound recording]  Location: Oral History Center: 574

Cash, Joseph, H. Sound recording of a Rosebud Reservation pow-wow (Joseph Cash records a pow-wow at Rosebud Reservation). [sound recording]  Location: Oral History Center: AIRP 65

Cash, Joseph, H. Sound recording of a lecture by Dr. Joseph Cash, 1967. (Dr. Joseph Cash lectures on early Indian contact in North America with French fur traders). [sound recording]  Location: Oral History Center: AIRP 1286

 

Books

Cash, Joseph H. “A History of Lead, South Dakota, 1876-1900.” Master’s thesis, University of South Dakota, 1959.  Location: Storage: LD 5071.3x .C26853 and Main Collection/3rd Floor: LD 5071.3x.C26853

Cash, Joseph H. The Potawatomi People (Citizen Band). Phoenix: Indian Tribal Series, 1976.  Location: Main Collection/3rd Floor: E99.P8 C37 and Chilson Collection/3rd Floor: E99.P8 C37

Cash, Joseph H. The Sioux People. Phoenix: Indian Tribal Series, 1971.  Location: Main Collection/3rd Floor: E99.D1 C34 and Chilson Collection/3rd Floor: E99.D1 C34

Cash, Joseph H. and Hoover, Herbert T. eds. To be an Indian: an oral history. Saint Paul:Minnesota Historical Society Press, 1995.  Location: Main Collection/3rd Floor: E77.T58 1995 and Chilson Collection/ 3rd Floor: E77.T58 1995

Cash, Joseph H and Wolff, Gerald W. The Ottawa People. Phoenix: Indian Tribal Series, 1976.  Location: Main Collection/3rd Floor: E99.O9 C37 1976 and Chilson Collection/3rd Floor: E99.O9 C37 1976

Cash, Joseph H and Wolff, Gerald W. The Ponca People. Phoenix: Indian Tribal Series, 1975.  Location: Main Collection/3rd Floor: E99.P7 C37 and Chilson Collection 3rd Floor: E99.P7 C37

Cash, Joseph H and Wolff, Gerald W. The Comanche People. Phoenix: Indian Tribal Series, 1974.  Location: Main Collection/3rd Floor: E99.C85 C37 and Chilson Collection 3rd Floor: E99.C85 37

Cash, Joseph H and Wolff, Gerald W. The Three Affiliated Tribes (Mandan, Arikara, and Hidatsa). Phoenix: Indian Tribal Series, 1974.  Location: Main Collection/3rd Floor: E99.M2 C29 and Chilson Collection 3rd Floor: E99.M2 C29

Cash, Joseph H. Working the Homestake. Ames, IA: Iowa State University Press, 1973.  Location: Main Collection/3rd Floor: HD 8039.M74 U53 and Chilson Collection/3rd Floor: HD 039.M74 U53

 

Articles

Cash, Joseph H. “The Disputed Role of Major Reno at the Battle of the Little Bighorn.” Rocky Mountain Review 4(2) (1967).

Cash, Joseph H. “Prelude to Tragedy.” South Dakota Historical Collections 35 (1971).

Footer for USD LibGuide v2.0