Women's, Gender, & Sexuality Studies Resources: Journals

Feminist Collections contains news of the latest print and audiovisual resources for research and teaching in women's studies. There are guides to new bibliographies and reference works, film and video critiques, computer updates, and news of out-of-the-way materials -- pamphlets, reports, rare book dealers' catalogs, microforms, and more. Thoughtful articles by experts explore women's publishing, Internet resources, library organization, archives, and other tools for feminist scholarship. New periodicals and special issues of journals in other disciplines are announced in each issue.

Feminist Periodicals: A Current Listing of Contents is published by the Office of the University of Wisconsin System Gender & Women’s Studies Librarian on a quarterly basis with the intent of increasing public awareness of feminist periodicals. It is our hope that Feminist Periodicals will serve several purposes: to keep the reader abreast of current topics in feminist literature; to increase readers’ familiarity with a wide spectrum of feminist periodicals; and to provide the requisite bibliographic information should a reader wish to subscribe to a journal or to obtain a particular article at her library or through interlibrary loan.

This core list of journals, compiled by the ACRL Women & Gender Studies Section in women and gender studies serves as a tool for building women and gender studies collections. The serials provide a foundation for study and research from a feminist perspective within the humanities, sciences and social sciences. The list includes selected titles that are covered in three or more women and gender studies indexes, or that provide critical information for women and gender studies collection development.