Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Introduction to Archival Research

Resources in Archives

Suggestions to start your research on USD buildings in Archives and Special Collections:

Publications:

Alumni publications (South Dakotan) may have articles about new buildings on campus.

The Volante student newspaper may have articles about buildings on campus.  11-1887 to 06-1908 are located in the Digital Library of South Dakota.

 

Chilson Collection:

F657.C6 G852 2007 Guide to National Register of Historic Places

NA 735.V47 S36 1980 Architectural History of Vermillion, South Dakota

F651.P879 1989 Historic Contexts for Historical and Architectural Resources in South Dakota

 

USD Archives:

LD5073.C56X The University of South Dakota 1967-1982 

LD 5073.C85X The University of South Dakota 1862-1966

LD 5073.G73 2012 150 Years of Pride, Persistence and Progress

 

Special Books:

LD 5075.C52 2011 Tour of the University of South Dakota's Historic Buildings

NA 55.V47 W54 2013 Vermillion Architects and Contractors 1870 to Present

 

Archival materials:

USD Archives Buildings, Other Structures and Utilities finding aid

We have several Archives and Special Collections blogs related to campus buildings.

 

Library resources:

Check library databases for journal articles.  

South Dakota History Index

Other Resources

Check buildings and building plaques.  Plaques may be located in unusal places.  

      For example- the library plaque is on the 2nd floor in the atrium

National Register of Historic Places- USD has 3 buildings 

      Historic Preservation Office of the South Dakota State Historical Society

For buildings acquired by USD the courthouse may have information about buildings.

Footer for USD LibGuide v2.0