Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

ERIC Documents: ERIC (via Public Access)

The ERIC (Education Resources Information Center) database is sponsored by the U.S. Department of Education to provide extensive access to educational-related literature.

ERIC (via Public Access)

ERIC (Access via U.S. Department of Education)

This version is freely available to anyone, and indexes more than 1.6 million items published from 1966-present, including in full-text.

How do I find an ERIC document?
ERIC documents are identified by searching in the ERIC Public Access database and ERIC Ebscohost.

 

  • Some ERIC documents have an "EJ" number. These are articles in journals.
  • Other ERIC documents have an "ED" number. These are books, reports, etc. Most ED documents from 1966 to 2003 are available on microfiche.
  • Full text of some ED documents and many EJ articles will be found by following the Full Text, PDF or U Get It links in the indexes.
     

What journals are indexed in ERIC?

The list of currently approved journals can be found at: http://eric.ed.gov/?journals and the approved list of non-journal sources can be found at http://eric.ed.gov/?nonjournals

 

I am looking to weed my microfiche collection. Which ERIC records should I keep?

The documents which are currently available on microfiche, but not online, can be found here. This list will be updated annually to reflect any new documents made available online through the PDF restoration process.

 

Subject Guide

Profile Photo
Diane Frigge
Contact:
Rm 231, University Libraries
605-658-3391

Depository Logo

Footer for USD LibGuide v2.0