Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

ERIC Documents: ERIC Microfiche Collection

The ERIC (Education Resources Information Center) database is sponsored by the U.S. Department of Education to provide extensive access to educational-related literature.

ERIC Microfiche Collection

ERIC MICROFICHE COLLECTION

The ERIC database includes references to journal articles (EJ numbers) and other publications called documents (ED numbers).  Documents added to ERIC today that are not copyrighted (ED numbered entries) are available in full text online.  However, since not all of the earlier ones have been released in digital format, they are available in microfiche.

University Libraries owns these 436,622 ERIC documents on microfiche.  They can be found on the second floor of the I.D. Weeks Library builiding.

 

In October 2002, the U.S. Department of Education discontinued distribution of microfiche of government-funded reports from the ERIC program to the Federal Depository Library Program and began providing the Government Publishing Office (GPO) with electronic versions of the reports. These reports are now available as searchable PDF files, beginning with ED 463411.

 

 

ERIC Documents with ES, EP and MP Numbers (e.g., ES010949 and EP011253)
 

  • From 1966 - 1967 are fiche with ES, EP and MP numbers. These preceded the ED numbers and are filed in the ERIC cabinets at the very beginning before the ED numbers.  University ibraries only has ES number 000001-002554.

 

ERIC Documents on Microfiche


The ERIC Documents on Microfiche collection is on the 2nd floor of the I.D. Weeks Library. 

The ERIC microfiche collection was published from 1966 to July 2004; it begins with ED000001 and ceased with ED483046.  ERIC fiche is no longer being produced. University Libraries has the complete collection.

While most publications indexed in ERIC are available on microfiche, there are a few for which copyright permission could not be obtained. These will have a notation "Document not available from EDRS" in the document resume, and may show a Level 3 in the full citation. 

Journal articles indexed in ERIC (with EJ numbers) are not included in the ERIC Fiche.
 

University Libraries has ES 000001-002554

University Libraries has ED 000001-483046

University Libraries has INDEX 1966-2000

 

Subject Guide

Profile Photo
Diane Frigge
Contact:
Rm 231, University Libraries
605-658-3391

Depository Logo

Footer for USD LibGuide v2.0