It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Languages Research Guide: Research Databases (General)
This guide provides access to library resources helpful to Languages students.
LatAm-Studies Full Text Online is a database service dedicated to the promotion and dissemination of research on Latin America and the Caribbean. It contains licensed journals and other academic content of the most prestigious research institutions in the region and the world.
SEARCH TIP: Open the drop down menu on the right hand search box and select “TX All Text” if you are searching for a key word or “SU Subject Terms” if you are using a subject term as part of your search.
SEARCH TIP: Click on the “Subject Term” tab at the top of the database toolbar to search for subject terms.
SEARCH TIP: Open the drop down menu on the right hand search box and select “Document Text” if you are searching for a key word or “Subject” if you are using a subject term as part of your search.
SEARCH TIP: You can go to the Databases box and change the default setting of “Multiple Databases…” to selecting specific databases by opening the drop down menu or clicking on the link “Select Multiple Databases.”
JSTOR is a wide ranging database containing back files from many scholarly journals. The content in JSTOR begins with the individual journals first issue and covers up to about 3 years ago. JSTOR stands for “Journal Storage.”
LexisNexis Academic is a collection of online databases: News, Business (plus corporate news and corporate financials), Legal, Medical, and Reference.
Source Evaluation Rubric
These resources consist of an example of an annotation paragraph and a Source Evaluation Rubric useful when preparing your evaluation of your source document. Feel free to print or to download each document.
Use this rubric to quickly evaluate and assess the quality of your sources. Then express your evaluation for these different categories in your annotation. Keep in mind that you can cover only 3 or 4 of these categories in your paragraph.