LibGuides: Autism Spectrum Disorder: Read- What can I learn?

Autism Tank Blog

Autism resources and support from a special education teacher and Board Certified Behavior Analyst (BCBA) with first-hand experience.

Back to School: Tips for Parents of Children with Special Needs

A new school year means a new grade, new teachers, new goals, and maybe even a new school! In order to help you and your child with special needs be as successful as you can be, we’ve put together a list of eight helpful back-to-school tips that we hope will make the transition into a new school year a little easier for you and your child.

File Folder Heaven: Autism Tasks

Hands-on, visually structured learning materials for students with Autism, or any early learners.

SD Parental Rights and Procedural Safegaurds

Education is one of the most important responsibilities a parent has when raising a child. Special education services may be available as an option for parents when their children are struggling with learning because of a disability. If you see your child struggling academically, socially or emotionally, you are encouraged to work with school personnel to determine ways to help your child. There are numerous ways to make changes to the learning environment that will help children learn effectively. Special education is one of those ways. Not all children who struggle in school are eligible for special education services, if your child is struggling; it is beneficial to work with school staff.

The purpose of the SD Parental Rights and Procedural Safeguards document is to provide you with important basic information regarding your rights as a parent of a child with a disability in South Dakota. Please review carefully. This is not intended as a full explanation of your legal rights and/or responsibilities under state and federal special education law. If you have questions or need assistance in understanding the state’s special education rules, contact any of the organizations listed at the end of the document, or your local school district’s superintendent and/or designee.

Why is this Cake on Fire? Inviting Students into the IEP Process
Imagine being a small child and hearing your parents talk about your birthday party. You hear the excitement in their voices as they talk and plan, starting with a theme for the party, deciding whom they will invite, and then figuring out who will do each job. As the time draws closer, you hear more and more conversations about your birthday party, and so you know it is coming soon. And then your birthday comes and goes, but no one ever invites you to your party. Maybe they just forgot to invite me, you think.

The ASD Feel Better Book
Learn to build individual strengths and work through problems with this picture-based guide for children with ASD aged 7-14. The use of simple images and photocopiable worksheets creates a fun and engaging resource for identifying different emotions and managing personal challenges.
Pathological Demand Avoidance Syndrome
After years of misdiagnosis, Jane's daughter, Mollie, was diagnosed with PDA at the age of seven. We follow her experiences pre and post diagnosis to age 10 as she attends school, interacts with the outside world and approaches adolescence. Throughout the book, Jane provides commentary on her daughter's behavior and the impact it has on her family- explaining the 'why' of PDA traits, including the need for control, meltdowns, obsessive behavior and sensory issues. She reveals the strategies that have worked for Mollie and provides essential advice and information on obtaining a diagnosis and raising awareness of PDA. The book also includes an interview with Mollie.
A Practical Guide to Happiness in Children and Teens on the Autism Spectrum
Bringing a refreshingly positive approach to mental health and autism, the guide is full of practical ideas for helping children strengthen their self-worth, optimism and receptivity to happiness. It also reveals how children can build resilience and better understand their feelings, giving them the skills to flourish and thrive and to ward off negative thoughts. The activities are ideal for all learning levels and can be done individually or in groups, at home or in the classroom. Talking about mental health in autism is all too often reduced to ways of 'curing illness' - this book helps to prevent poor mental health by making happiness a priority and an attainable goal.
Practical Strategies for Supporting Emotional Regulation in Students with Autism: Enhancing Engagement and Learning in the Classroom
For professionals who work with students on the autism spectrum in inclusive classroom settings, supporting emotional regulation is key. This practical guide outlines cognitive and language strategies which the authors have found successful for supporting emotional regulation in students with autism. The book also includes sample goals for regulation, information on therapy techniques that work and a 'cheat sheet' overview of the strategies, creating a clear and concise guide to enhancing learning in the classroom.
Simple Autism Strategies for Home and School
Offering a unique overview of life with autism from a child’s perspective, this guidebook will help parents and teachers better understand how this condition is experienced in day-to-day life. Organized by topic for easy reference, it explores the issues that can arise in everyday situations from toilet training to homework.
This resource offers practical guidance, situation-specific activities, and discussion tools such as original poetry which illustrates the perspectives of children with autism. Concise and accessible, this book takes a creative approach to understanding autism.
Teaching Social Skills to Children with Autism using Minecraft®
Minecraft®, often described as 'digital Lego', provides an ideal forum to help children with autism and related conditions to develop social and communication skills. This book offers guidance on how to use the game to support the learning of social and emotional concepts such as having a conversation, showing interest in others and understanding another person's point of view.
With over 150 pages of photocopiable and downloadable session plans, visuals and handouts, this manual is essential reading for professionals who are interested in introducing Minecraft® to support social skill development in their students.
Thera-Build® with LEGO®
Thera-Build® is a LEGO®-based therapeutic approach for improving children's emotional well-being. Participation in Thera-Build® groups can help to boost self-esteem, address common issues such as anxiety and anger, support social development and build positive attachments.
This inspiring and user-friendly guide explores the power of play, introduces the basics of brain plasticity and attachment theory, and shows exactly how to set up and run an effective Thera-Build® group.

Asperger's Syndrome: A Guide for Parents and Professionals
Note- this resource is also available in video format.

Tony Attwood's guide will assist parents and professionals with the identification, treatment and care of both children and adults with Asperger's Syndrome. The book provides a description and analysis of the unusual characteristics of the syndrome and practical strategies to reduce those that are most conspicuous or debilitating. This guide covers all aspects of the syndrome from language to social behavior and motor clumsiness and includes a chapter based on the questions most frequently asked by those who come into contact with individuals with this syndrome.
Covering the available literature in full, this guide brings together the most relevant and useful information on Asperger's Syndrome, incorporating case studies from the author's own practical experience as a clinical psychologist, with examples of, and numerous quotations from, people with Asperger's Syndrome.
Behavioral Intervention for Young Children with Autism: A Manual for Parents and Professionals
A growing body of research shows that many young children with autism can derive significant, lasting, and sometimes dramatic benefits from early intervention based on the principles of Applied Behavior Analysis. This manual, inspired by that research, provides a wealth of practical information for parents, professionals, and others concerned with helping such children. Authors include parents whose children have been the beneficiaries of a science based approach to autism treatment, as well as many noted researchers and experienced clinicians.