Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Native Voices: Native Peoples' Concepts of Health and Illness: Resources

This guide contains event information and resources related to the Native Voices: Native Peoples' Concepts of Health and Illness exhibit.

Oral Histories

The South Dakota Oral History Center (SDOHC) collects and preserves voices of the people of the Northern Plains. Including the American Indian Research Project (AIRP) which contains over 2,300 oral history interview recordings and the South Dakota Oral History Project (SDOHP) which contains over 3,200 oral history recordings.

Archives & Special Collections

The Archives & Special Collections is the rare books, manuscripts and archives department of the University Libraries. Materials are gathered into a number of core collections based on their content and subject. Each collection contains multiple individual collections. The Chilson Collection includes materials relating to local histories, South Dakota history, Native American cultures and western expansion of the United States.

Collaborative Research Center for American Indian Health (CRCAIH)

 

"The Collaborative Research Center for American Indian Health (CRCAIH-pronounced "KIRK-uh") was formed in September 2012 with a grant from the National Institute for Minority Health and Health Disparities.

MISSION: The Collaborative Research Center for American Indian Health (CRCAIH) is designed to create a platform to bring together Tribal communities and health researchers from multiple disciplines, to work together in conducting cutting-edge transdisciplinary research that addresses significant health disparities experienced by American Indians in South Dakota, North Dakota, and Minnesota.

Our goal is to build tribal research infrastructure and promote transdisciplinary research teams to improve American Indian health through examination of social and environmental influences on health."

NLM Native Voices Resources

Footer for USD LibGuide v2.0