Skip to Main Content

Health Wellness & Communication

This Libguide is to provide you with clinical reliable resources on various health topics to communicate and promote awareness as part of Health Awareness Day/Week/Month across the year.

Health Sciences Librarian

Profile Photo
Layal Hneiny
Contact:
605-357-1540
USD or Partner login required for DynaMed, ClinicalKey, ClinicalKey for Nursing, JOVE, Lexicomp, Bates' Visual Guide to Physical Examination, Atlas of Human Anatomy, AccessMedicine, Board Vitals databases.

Accessed from Wegner Health Science's list of databases.

Open Access       represents a freely accessible source.

  represents the mobile version from the Google Play.

      represents the mobile version from the App store.

Introduction
To know more on diabetes, please visit the following pages: National Institute of Diabetes and Kidney Diseases & the American Diabetes Association .
COVID-19 & Diabetes
These are some reliable resources that discuss the topic of COVID-19 and diabetes combined. Check out Skip Nav Destination Diabetes and COVID-19 Open Access & $1M Awarded by the American Diabetes Association® for COVID-19 and Diabetes Research Projects Open Access.
Facts & Figure
These are some graphs that show how is South Dakota doing in terms of Years Lived with Disability (YLDs), death rates, and Disability-adjusted life years (DALYs) for both genders from 1990 till 2019.
This is a representation of the risk factors leading to Diabetes and chronic kidney diseases in 1990 in the State of South Dakota.
Compared to a representation of the risk factors leading to Diabetes and chronic kidney diseases in 2019 in the State of South Dakota.
Top 10 causes of death in South Dakota and Diabetes is number 9 in 2019.
http://www.healthdata.org/united-states-south-dakota Open Access
Top 10 causes of death and disability combined in South Dakota and Diabetes is number 9 in 2019.
Changing YOUR Practice
In an attempt to avoid unnecessary medical and laboratory tests and procedures, the American Board of Internal Medicine (ABIM) has created Choosing Wisely Open Access. It provides a list of evidence-based and updated recommendations from different specialty society partners.
For diabetes-related recommendations in Choosing Wisely are here Open Access and here Open Access.
Databases
Below are some databases that have subject/ category of endocrinology already filtered.
Guidelines
To know more on diabetes guidelines, please visit the following pages:
​​​​​​​
Articles
A sample of databases were you can find updated articles are:
Journals
Diabetes Spectrum Open Access, is committed to assisting health care professionals in developing strategies to individualize treatment and enhance diabetes self-management education to optimize patient outcomes. It presents comprehensive, peer-reviewed original research and review articles on topics in diabetes prevention and medical management, care innovations, professional and patient education, medical nutrition therapy, behavioral science and counseling, pharmacy and therapeutics, and advocacy. 
 
Also Wegner has access to all QUARTILE ONE journals for the category 'Endocrinology & Metabolism' (except for “Antioxidants & Redox Signaling') exported from Journal Citation Report (which can be accessed form the University Library's list of databases) are represented by the table below.

If you need help retrieving the rest of the journals that lie in the other Quartiles, or help in analysis and evaluation of any journal, please do not hesitate to contact us.

Books
Important diabetes books can be found here.
Wegner Library has a very good collection of electronic and hard copy books as well, please check some here.

Evidence-based Updates & News
To receive clinically significant, reliable, and secondary evidence updates in your chosen specialty/ies, register in: 
To get more news for diabetes health professionals, sign up the first time and sign in every other time to Smart Brief Open Access.
Hit Parade
Find out more about the most popular topics in research here
Fundraising
To know how to help around fundraising for diabetes, please click here.
Critically Appraised Topics & Clinical Overviews
Critically Appraised Topical Information and Clinical Overviews can be found here:
Patient Education
Some patient education handouts are below:
OSCE Skills
Bates' Visual Guide to Physical Examination offers OSCE clinical skills videos, please check here.
Continuing Medical Education Credits
Some databases that make you earn Continuing Medical Education(CME) Credits are:
More
 
  • If you want to look up Open Educational Resources in Google and YouTube, please follow the steps in the video below.

 

Footer for USD LibGuide v2.0