Health Wellness & Communication

USD or Partner login required for DynaMed, ClinicalKey, ClinicalKey for Nursing, JOVE, Lexicomp, Bates' Visual Guide to Physical Examination, Atlas of Human Anatomy, AccessMedicine, Board Vitals databases.

Accessed from Wegner Health Science's list of databases.

       represents a freely accessible source.

  represents the mobile version from the Google Play.

      represents the mobile version from the App store.

Introduction

Infection control practices are critical to reduce the transmission of infections from one person to another, such as from a healthcare worker to a patient or vice versa. See:

Everyday healthy habits that prevent the spread of disease.

Infection control practices for health care settings and long-term care facilities.

What is Infection Control?

In health care and public health practice settings, infection control includes various measures that prevent and contain the spread of infectious disease. These measures include:

• Hand Washing

• Infection control standard, contact, droplet, and airborne precautions

• Procedures for decontamination of persons and disinfection of equipment and the environment

• Quarantine of contacts (if necessary)

• Prophylaxis of exposed individuals

• Control of the vectors of infection

Reference

History of Infection Control

This article  represents brief history on 'Infection Control', check it out.

Guidelines

To know more on Infection Control guidelines, please visit the following pages:

• Infectious Disease Epidemiology Unit 

• Centers for Disease Control and Prevention: Guidelines & Guidance Library 

• Association for Professionals in Infection Control & Epidemiology 

• ClinicalKey   

Additionally, the South Dakota Department of Health provides Evidence-Based Guidance for Infection Control, found here .

Legislations on Infection Control in the State of South Dakota

Find some laws and rules in South Dakota here .

Type 'infection control' between quotations in the search box provided on the top right of the webpage.

COVID-19 & Infection Control

These are some reliable resources that discuss the topic of COVID-19 and infection control articles, click here . For Infection Control Guidance for Health Care Professionals about COVID-19, click here .

Articles

Not much has been published about Infection Control in South Dakota, check here.

Books

Important and most recent “Infection Control” books can be found here.

Wegner Library has a very good collection of electronic and hard copy books as well, please check some here.

Databases

Below are some databases that have subject/ category of endocrinology already filtered.

• DynaMed- Infectious Diseases  

• ClinicalKey- Clinical Overviews    on Infectious Disease

• ClinicakKey- Guideline    on Infectious Disease

Societies

Below are some diabetes societies that you can be part of

• Infectious Diseases Society of America (IDSA) 

• Infection Control: American Hospital Association (AHA) 

• Society for Healthcare Epidemiology of America (SHEA) 

• Infection Prevention Society (IPS)| For Health Professionals 

Journals

Wegner Library has access to all Quartile One (Q1) journals for the category ‘Public Environment & Occupational Health’, ‘Microbiology’ and ‘Infectious Diseases’ exported from Journal Citation Report (Clarivate).

The list is present below.

If you need help retrieving the rest of the journals that lie in the other Quartiles, or help in analysis and evaluation of any journal, please do not hesitate to contact us.

Evidence-based Updates & News

To receive clinically significant, reliable, and secondary evidence updates in your chosen specialty/ies, register in: 

• EvidenceAlerts 

• Accessss Smart Search 

• Knowledge Translation 

• EBM Focus by DynaMed

• NEJM

• 2 minute Medicine

To get more updates on News about Infection Control, check here .

Hit Parade

Find out more about the most popular topics in research here

• PubMed  under 'Trending Articles'

• Accessss Smart Search 

• Access Pharmacy-Topics in Evidence-based Pharmacy Practice

• Access Pharmacy-FDA Medwatch

• Cochrane under 'Highlighted Reviews'

• Emergency Nurses Association 

• NEJM-Journal Watch

Get Certified

The Certification Board of Infection Control and Epidemiology, Inc. (CBIC) endorses the concept of voluntary, periodic certification for all infection prevention and control professionals meeting educational and practice requirements. Get started here.

Reference

More

Resources for Health Care Professionals offers information about Lifestyle Changes, Health Equity, Self-Measured Blood Pressure (SMBP) Monitoring, Medication Adherence, Standardizing and Improving Patient Care, and Identifying Patients With Hypertension, please click here.

Resources for Public for Health Professionals offers more about Communication Tools, Health Equity Tools, Evidence-Based Policy Tools, Hypertension Maps, Data, and Statistical Reports, please click here.

If you want to look up Open Educational Resources in Google and Youtube, please follow the steps in the video below.

• To create an NCBI Account in PubMed which allows you to save search strategies, create customized filters, and add bibliographies and other citations.

• To know what are health/medicine databases and helpful apps are available on mobile devices, check the libguide entitled 'Apps and Mobile Resources for Health and Medicine'.

• To get articles.

• To request articles, books, etc.