Skip to Main Content

Health Wellness & Communication

This Libguide is to provide you with clinical reliable resources on various health topics to communicate and promote awareness as part of Health Awareness Day/Week/Month across the year.

Health Sciences Librarian

Profile Photo
Layal Hneiny
Contact:
605-357-1540
USD or Partner login required for DynaMed, ClinicalKey, ClinicalKey for Nursing, JOVE, Lexicomp, Bates' Visual Guide to Physical Examination, Atlas of Human Anatomy, AccessMedicine, Board Vitals databases.

Accessed from Wegner Health Science's list of databases.

Open Access       represents a freely accessible source.

  represents the mobile version from the Google Play.

      represents the mobile version from the App store.

Introduction: Up-To-Here
The thyroid gland is a small, butterfly-shaped gland located in the base of the neck just below the Adam's apple. Although relatively small, the thyroid gland plays a huge role in our body, influencing the function of many of the body’s most important organs, including the heart, brain, liver, kidneys and skin. Ensuring that the thyroid gland is healthy and functioning properly is vitally important to the body's overall well-being.
Patients with thyroid disorders (knowingly or unknowingly) are Up To Here with frustrating symptoms, such as gaining weight, feeling sad, or not getting enough sleep.
Reference

Thyroid Gland in Anatomage Table
What is Anatomage Table?
Check 'A Trip Inside the Human Body Using Anatomage' under Connective Issue Newsletter: December 2021 issue and Anatomage Libguide.

 

 

Changing YOUR Practice
In an attempt to avoid unnecessary medical and laboratory tests and procedures, the American Board of Internal Medicine (ABIM) has created Choosing Wisely Open Access. It provides a list of evidence-based and updated recommendations from different specialty society partners.
For Thyroid-related recommendations in Choosing Wisely is here Open Access.
Critically Appraised Topics & Clinical Overviews
Critically Appraised Topical Information and Clinical Overviews can be found here:
Facts & Figures
In South Dakota Endo/metab/blood/immune diseases deaths in South Dakota increased from 3.41 deaths per 100,000 in the year 1990 to 14 deaths per 100,000 in the year 1990 of both sexes all ages according to 'Institute of Health Metrics and  Evaluation'.
Thyroid Incidence and Mortality Summary in South Dakota for the year 2017 is found here.
Additionally,
  • Thyroid Cancer Number of Cases and Deaths by Age, South Dakota, 2017
  • Thyroid Cancer Cases and Deaths by Year, South, 2001 – 2017
  • Thyroid Cancer Age-Adjusted Rates, Cases, and Deaths by Year, South Dakota, 2001 – 2017
can be found here Open Access.
The Disability-adjusted life years (DALYs) in South Dakota increased from 23 to 19 from 1990 to 2019.
A decrease with Years lived with disability (YLDS) from 14 to 20 between the years of 1990 till 2019.
More Demographics and trends can be found in CDC-United States Cancer Statistics:  Data Visualizations Leading Cancers by Age, Sex, Race and Ethnicity Open Access   & Trends    Open Access  .

Databases
Some of which are:
  • Critically appraised topics about Thyroid Disease Endocrinology can be found in DynaMed .
  • Books, Images, Videos, Clinical Overviews and more can be found in ClinicalKey  .
  • A list of free full text articles about thyroid awareness is present in PubMed Open Access. 
  • You can access Book Chapters, cases, Patient Education resources, Tables and Quick Reference Resources on the thyroid Awareness Topic via Access Medicine  . 

Articles
Some interesting articles to read about Thyroid Awareness are:
  • Cornell S. Comparison of the diabetes guidelines from the ADA/EASD and the AACE/ACE. J Am Pharm Assoc (2003). 2017 Mar-Apr;57(2):261-265. doi: 10.1016/j.japh.2016.11.005. Epub 2017 Jan 5. PMID: 28065547.
  • Tamagno, & Gaoatswe, G. (2011). Time for the endocrinologists to expand their awareness of and contribution to the diagnosis and management of encephalopathy associated with autoimmune thyroid disease. Hormones (Athens, Greece), 10(1), 36–38. https://doi.org/10.14310/horm.2002.1298
Multimedia
Videos
Interactive Models
Infographics
Images
  • DynaMed   includes photos, radiographic images, histologies. 
  • From Bate's Visual Guide on Physical Examination: Each module shows step-by-step examinations with rationales for the clinician's actions. Contains examples of health history taking, interviewing, and a description of findings. Graphics illustrate key components of anatomy and physiology.
 
Grants
Check out a grant opportunity here Open Access.
Evidence-based Updates & News
To receive clinically significant, reliable, and secondary evidence updates in your chosen specialty/ies, register in: 
To get more updates as Thyroid Patients, follow this twitter account Open Access. 
For educational and support services for patients with Graves’ disease, thyroid eye disease & related disorders, follow this twitter account Open Access.
Hit Parade
Find out more about the most popular topics in research here
Patient Education
Some patient education handouts are below:
OSCE Skills
Bates' Visual Guide to Physical Examination offers OSCE clinical skills videos, please check here.
Continuing Medical Education Credits
Some databases that make you earn Continuing Medical Education(CME) Credits are:
More
 
  • If you want to look up Open Educational Resources in Google and YouTube, please follow the steps in the video below.

 

Footer for USD LibGuide v2.0