Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Open Access

Libguide to elaborate about Open Access: definition, publishing types, resources, submitting/publishing openly.
What is Open Access?
Open Access to publications means that research publications like articles and books can be accessed online, free of charge by any user, with no technical obstacles (such as mandatory registration or login to specific platforms). At the very least, such publications can be read online, downloaded and printed. Ideally, additional rights such as the right to copy, distribute, search, link, crawl and mine should also be provided.
Brinken H, Mehlberg M, Heller L. The Open Science training handbook: was written by 14 international experts during the FOSTER Book Sprint. 2018 [Internet]. Available from: https://book.fosteropenscience.eu
For more information about Open Access, check:
Suber. (2016). Knowledge unbound : selected writings on open access, 2002–2011. The MIT Press.
and
Suber. (2012). Open Access. MIT Press.

 

Beware of open access predatory journals
Beware of open access predatory journals these are fake/scam open access journals requesting payment without providing robust editorial or publishing services; see the Beall's List of Predatory Journals and Publishers, also check the five-point plan on how to avoid predatory journals by Jocalyn Clark. Paul M. Blobaum "Blobaum’s Checklist for Review of Journal Quality for Submission of Scholarly Manuscripts", 2013.
Think, Check, Submit is a tool to help you make informed decisions on where to publish and helps researchers evaluate journals prior to submitting their work for publication. With so many publications, how can one trust a particular journal? Follow this checklist to verify if you have chosen a trusted journal for publishing your research.
An interesting and alarming issue is the peer-review fraud from the New England Journal of Medicine: Haug. (2015). Peer-Review Fraud — Hacking the Scientific Publication Process. The New England Journal of Medicine, 373(25), 2393–2395.
 
NOTE: Any author with an NIH grant submits his/her article to PubMedCentral (PMC) and it will appear in PubMed, irrespective of which journal it was published in. That is how some predatory publishers are advertising that they 'are indexed in PubMed'. Only journals that have a note in NLM 'Indexed for Medline' are the journals selected and evaluated by the NLM Committee. Potential predatory and legitimate biomedical journals: can you tell the difference? A cross-sectional comparison has a very nice table (Table 10) showing 13 characteristics of potential predatory journals.
What to do if you have submitted an article to a predatory journal before you realized it is predatory?
Try to withdraw the article. If you were not able to withdraw it, look at 'Instructions to Authors' to see if you have transferred the copyright to the publisher or not. If copyright is with you as an author, you are free to publish that same article in a reputable journal but explain to the editor what happened to you with the predatory journal. Editors of reputable journals are fully aware of what is happening and how predatory journals work. You might have a chance to publish your article in a reputable journal!
Which open access journals are reputable?
Just as there is a wide range of quality among subscription-based journals, the quality of open access (OA) journals varies widely, too.
Journals and publishers that meet important publishing guidelines and industry standards established by the Committee on Publication Ethics (COPE) can be found in several organizations' membership lists and/or directories:
Also check NASP’s Journals Online platforms (for journals published in Bangladesh, Nepal, Sri Lanka, Central America, and Mongolia) or on African Journals Online (AJOL, for African journals) to find reputable journals.
Check these membership lists before submitting a manuscript to a journal for review. Check them before accepting an offer to serve as an editor or reviewer, too.
Checking these lists is criteria #7 from the Think-Check-Submit checklist. A few minutes with this checklist before submitting work to a journal can save your research reputation!
Paying to Publish. Really?
Some publishers ask for fees, or article processing charges (APCs), to make your publication openly accessible.  Is this okay?
  • If the journal makes all of its publications available for open access immediately, then there are no subscription fees.  In this case, APCs are the publisher's only revenue stream for the journal-title.  In this case, charging APCs is reasonable.
  • If the journal makes only some of their publications OA, then the publisher receives revenue from both subscriptions to the journal and APCs.  In general, this is not considered a good practice by libraries, since we would be paying twice for the same content.
Other considerations: How committed is the publisher to Open Access?  Is OA their main publishing model, or one of several?  And, what do they do with their revenue?
Check "Which open access journals are reputable?" above for more information.
From University of Tenesee Knoxville 'Open Access Publishing' from 'Scholarly Publishing Toolikt'
Also, read Chrissy Prator's "8 Ways to Identify a Questionable Open Access Journal", "Spotting a Predatory Publisher in 10 Easy Steps" and "Predatory Journals Are Such a Big Problem It’s Not Even Funny".

Open Access Publishing
To know more about the different types of Open Access Publishing, check the following link.

At Wegner Library
Wegner hosts Open Access Journals that are Anesthesiology Nursing subject-related in its catalog.

The Resources
Choose the type of the 'Open Access' database that you would like to browse from the table below.

Global Index Medicus

More than 2 million of bibliographic records on health sciences.

PubMed

PubMed® comprises more than 33 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.
DOAB Home (doabooks.org)
"The primary aim of DOAB is to increase discoverability of Open Access books. Academic publishers are invited to provide metadata of their Open Access books to DOAB."

eScholarship (University of California)

UC's open access repository. Contains books, journals, working papers, conference publications, postprints, theses, and dissertations.
NCBI Bookshelf
Bookshelf provides free online access to books and documents in life science and healthcare. Search, read, and discover.
Digital Commons
"brings together free, full-text scholarly articles from hundreds of universities and colleges worldwide. Curated by university librarians and their supporting institutions, the Network includes a growing collection of peer-reviewed journal articles, book chapters, dissertations, working papers, conference proceedings, and other original scholarly work."

EBM Calculators

This tool was created for your own personal use and testing purposes. Medical decisions should NOT be based solely on the results of this program. Although this program has been tested thoroughly, we are not responsible for any damages or loss of information. Please use at your own risk.
MDCalc Medical Calculator
Join the millions of medical professionals who use MDCalc daily to support clinical decision making at the bedside. Since 2005, MDCalc has been the leading medical reference for the most relevant, up-to-date and widely-used clinical calculators that support evidence-based patient care. Registration is free and takes less than 30 seconds for full, unlimited access.

MDCalc clinical decision support is created exclusively by board-certified physicians for use by physicians, physician assistants, nurse practitioners, pharmacists, and medical students. The simple yet sleek app provides access to 550+ easy-to-use clinical decision tools including risk scores, algorithms, equations, formulas, classifications, dosing calculators, and more
.

Journal of Medical Case Reports

In the era of evidence-based practice, we need practice-based evidence. The basis of this evidence is the detailed information from the case reports of individual people which informs both our clinical research and our daily clinical care. Each case report published in this journal adds valuable new information to our medical knowledge.

Residents' Clinics

Case reports from Mayo Clinics Proceedings.
CHEST Pearls
Case reports from Chest Journal.
Digital Commons
"brings together free, full-text scholarly articles from hundreds of universities and colleges worldwide. Curated by university librarians and their supporting institutions, the Network includes a growing collection of peer-reviewed journal articles, book chapters, dissertations, working papers, conference proceedings, and other original scholarly work."
Biologics Products & Establishments
This page contains a listing of biological product approvals and clearances with supporting documents; product/manufacturer lists; reports; related resources; and other product approval information.

DailyMed

The DailyMed database contains 142716 labeling submitted to the Food and Drug Administration (FDA) by companies. DailyMed does not contain a complete listing of labeling for FDA-regulated products (e.g., labeling that is not submitted to the FDA).
Drugs@FDA: FDA-Approved Drugs
Drugs@FDA includes information about drugs, including biological products, approved for human use in the United States, but does not include information about FDA-approved products regulated by the Center for Biologics Evaluation and Research (for example, vaccines, allergenic products, blood and blood products, plasma derivatives, cellular and gene therapy products). For prescription brand-name drugs, Drugs@FDA typically includes the most recent labeling approved by the FDA (for example, Prescribing Information and FDA-approved patient labeling when available), regulatory information, and FDA staff reviews that evaluate the safety and effectiveness of the drug.
Drugs and Lactation Database (LactMed)
The LactMed® database contains information on drugs and other chemicals to which breastfeeding mothers may be exposed. It includes information on the levels of such substances in breast milk and infant blood, and the possible adverse effects in the nursing infant. Suggested therapeutic alternatives to those drugs are provided, where appropriate. All data are derived from the scientific literature and fully referenced. A peer review panel reviews the data to assure scientific validity and currency.
RxClass
RxClass allows users to search by class name or identifier to find the RxNorm drug members or, conversely, search by RxNorm drug name or identifier to find the classes that the RxNorm drug is a member of.

Campbell Collaboration Library of Systematic Reviews

The Campbell Collaboration promotes positive social and economic change through the production and use of systematic reviews and other evidence synthesis for evidence-based policy and practice. It provides an online, peer-reviewed monograph series of systematic reviews, which follow structured guidelines and standards for summarizing the international research evidence on the effects of interventions in crime and justice, education, international development, and social welfare.

Choosing Wisely

In an attempt to avoid unnecessary medical and laboratory tests and procedures, the American Board of Internal Medicine (ABIM) has created 'Choosing Wisely'. It provides a list of evidence-based and updated recommendations from different specialty society partners.
ECRI Guidelines Trust (Requires free registration)
Provides unbiased, evidence-based approach to develop guidance. ECRI is proud to serve the healthcare industry, from providers and insurers to government agencies, and medical associations. Our areas of focus include: Patient Safety, Evidence-Based Medicine, Technology Decision Support.

EvidenceAlerts

EvidenceAlerts is an Internet service that notifies physicians and researchers about newly-published clinical studies. Researchers at the McMaster Health Information Unit find the highest quality studies, reviews, and evidence-based clinical practice guidelines from 107 premier clinical journals and these articles are rated by practicing physicians for clinical relevance and interest. Alerts are curated to your own clinical interests.

Evidence-Based Medicine Toolbox

Evidence-based medicine (EBM) requires the integration of the best research evidence with our clinical expertise and our patient’s unique values and circumstances.

Evidence-based Practice Center (EPC) Reports-Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ)
The Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ), through its EPCs, sponsors the development of various reports to assist public- and private-sector organizations in their efforts to improve the quality of healthcare in the United States. These reports provide comprehensive, science-based information on common, costly medical conditions and new healthcare technologies and strategies. The EPCs review all relevant scientific literature on a wide spectrum of clinical and health services topics. EPCs also produce technical reports on methodological topics and other types of evidence synthesis-related reports. These reports may be used for informing and developing coverage decisions, quality measures, educational materials and tools, clinical practice guidelines, and research agendas. The EPCs also conduct research on methodology of evidence synthesis.
Sign up: Evidence-Based Practice Email updates

Health Systems Evidence

The world's most comprehensive, free access point for evidence to support policy makers, stakeholders and researchers interested in how to strengthen or reform health systems or in how to get cost-effective programs, services and drugs to those who need them.

Journal of Medical Case Reports

In the era of evidence-based practice, we need practice-based evidence. The basis of this evidence is the detailed information from the case reports of individual people which informs both our clinical research and our daily clinical care. Each case report published in this journal adds valuable new information to our medical knowledge.
KT+
KT+ provides a new path to address the key question in this era of evidence-based health care: what is the current best evidence available to support clinical decisions?
National Institute for Health and Care Excellence (NICE) Guidance
Evidence-based recommendations developed by independent committees, including professionals and lay members, and consulted on by stakeholders.
PEDro
PEDro is the Physiotherapy Evidence Database, a free database of over 47,000 randomised trials, systematic reviews and clinical practice guidelines in physiotherapy. For each trial, review or guideline, PEDro provides the citation details, the abstract and a link to the full text, where possible. All trials on PEDro are independently assessed for quality. These quality ratings are used to quickly guide users to trials that are more likely to be valid and to contain sufficient information to guide clinical practice. PEDro is produced by the Institute for Musculoskeletal Health, School of Public Health at the University of Sydney and is hosted by Neuroscience Research Australia (NeuRA).
Public Health +
Public Health + is a database of only high quality pre-appraised studies and reviews relevant to public health. This database was designed to help busy public health practitioners access high quality and newsworthy evidence.

TRIP (Turning Research into Practice) medical database

A smart, fast tool to find high quality clinical research evidence.
Agency for Healthcare Research & Quality
The Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality's (AHRQ) mission is to produce evidence to make health care safer, higher quality, more accessible, equitable, and affordable, and to work within the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services and with other partners to make sure that the evidence is understood and used. We accomplish our mission by focusing on our three core competencies.

Clinical Practice Guidelines and Recommendations

One of the premier peer-reviewed clinical journals in general and internal medicine, Mayo Clinic Proceedings is among the most widely read and highly cited scientific publications for physicians. While the Proceedings is sponsored by Mayo Clinic, it welcomes submissions from authors worldwide, publishing articles that focus on clinical medicine and support the professional and educational needs of its readers. Continuously published since 1926, the Mayo Clinic Proceedings' content includes Nobel-prize-winning research.

ECRI Guidelines Trust (Requires free registration)

Provides unbiased, evidence-based approach to develop guidance. ECRI is proud to serve the healthcare industry, from providers and insurers to government agencies, and medical associations. Our areas of focus include: Patient Safety, Evidence-Based Medicine, Technology Decision Support.
National Institute for Health and Care Excellence (NICE) Guidance
Evidence-based recommendations developed by independent committees, including professionals and lay members, and consulted on by stakeholders.

Only look for resources with the following logo next to them: Open Access    
Open Access  represents a freely accessible source.

ASH: Image Bank

The American Society of Hematology Image Bank is a Web-based image library that offers a comprehensive collection of images relating to a wide range of hematologic topics. The ASH Image Bank is a public website that allows ASH members and the entire hematology community the ability to discover high quality, peer-reviewed hematologic images.

The newly redesigned ASH Image Bank launched in March, 2016 contains over 2100 images, with new images continuously being published. ASH encourages new submissions that are subject to review by the Image Bank Editor.

Chest Imaging and Pathology for Clinicians

The American College of Chest Physicians (CHEST) is the global leader in advancing best patient outcomes through innovative chest medicine education, clinical research, and team-based care.
Dermnet: Skin Disease Atlas
Dermnet is the largest independent photo dermatology source dedicated to online medical education though articles, photos and video. Dermnet provides information on a wide variety of skin conditions through innovative media. Website contains over 23,000 images of skin disease. Images can be enlarged via a click and can be located by browsing image categories or by using a search engine. The images and videos are available without charge, and users can purchase and license high-resolution copies of images for publishing purposes.

HEAL Collection

The Health Education Assets Library (HEAL) is a collection of over 22,000 freely available digital materials for health sciences education. The collection is now housed at the University of Utah J. Willard Marriott Digital Library.
Interactive Dermatology Atlas
The Interactive Dermatology Atlas web site does not define a standard of care, nor is it intended to dictate an exclusive course of diagnosis, treatment or management. Description of images and cases are provided for informational and educational purposes only and are not intended as medical advice. This information should not substitute for a visit or consultation with a healthcare provider. A searchable database of over 12,000 high-quality dermatology images.

Medical Images(Mayo Clinic Proceedings)

One of the premier peer-reviewed clinical journals in general and internal medicine, Mayo Clinic Proceedings is among the most widely read and highly cited scientific publications for physicians. While the Proceedings is sponsored by Mayo Clinic, it welcomes submissions from authors worldwide, publishing articles that focus on clinical medicine and support the professional and educational needs of its readers. Continuously published since 1926, the Mayo Clinic Proceedings' content includes Nobel-prize-winning research.
MedPix
MedPix® is a free open-access online database of medical images, teaching cases, and clinical topics, integrating images and textual metadata including over 12,000 patient case scenarios, 9,000 topics, and nearly 59,000 images.

NIH Image Gallery

The National Institutes of Health (NIH), a part of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, is the nation’s medical research agency—making important discoveries that improve health and save lives.
Thanks in large part to NIH-funded medical research, Americans today are living longer and healthier. Life expectancy in the United States has jumped from 47 years in 1900 to 78 years as reported in 2009, and disability in people over age 65 has dropped dramatically in the past 3 decades. In recent years, nationwide rates of new diagnoses and deaths from all cancers combined have fallen significantly.
The NIH Image Gallery on Flickr provides images that are free to use with credit.
Images are meant for use by the science and health community, the press that covers health and science, teachers and other educators in health and science and non-profit organizations that produce health and science information. It is not intended for commercial use.

Open-i

Open-i searches for images in all Open Access articles indexed in PubMed Central. Search over 600,000 copyright compliant images by keyword, topic, or image to find relevant or visually similar images.
Public Health Image Library (PHIL)
Much of the information critical to the communication of public health messages is pictorial rather than text-based. Created by a Working Group at the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC), the PHIL offers an organized, universal electronic gateway to CDC's pictures. 

 

BioMed Central Research Methodology

BMC Medical Research Methodology is an open access journal publishing original peer-reviewed research articles in methodological approaches to healthcare research. Articles on the methodology of epidemiological research, clinical trials and meta-analysis/systematic review are particularly encouraged, as are empirical studies of the associations between choice of methodology and study outcomes. BMC Medical Research Methodology does not aim to publish articles describing scientific methods or techniques: these should be directed to the BMC journal covering the relevant biomedical subject area.

Directory of Open Access Journals – DOAJ

DOAJ is a community-curated online directory that indexes and provides access to high quality, open access, peer-reviewed journals.
All DOAJ services are free of charge including being indexed. All data is freely available.

eScholarship (University of California)

UC's open access repository. Contains books, journals, working papers, conference publications, postprints, theses, and dissertations.

PMC: PubMed Central

PubMed Central® (PMC) is a free full-text archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature at the U.S. National Institutes of Health's National Library of Medicine (NIH/NLM).

Public Library of Science (PLoS)

Committee for Publication Ethics (COPE)
Open Access Scholarly Publishers Association (OASPA)
NASP’s Journals Online platforms
       For journals published in Bangladesh, Nepal, Sri Lanka, Central America, and Mongolia) or on 
African Journals Online (AJOL)
      For African journals) to find reputable journals.
Digital Commons
"brings together free, full-text scholarly articles from hundreds of universities and colleges worldwide. Curated by university librarians and their supporting institutions, the Network includes a growing collection of peer-reviewed journal articles, book chapters, dissertations, working papers, conference proceedings, and other original scholarly work."
National Institute of Neurological Disorders and Stroke
The National Institute of Neurological Disorders and Stroke (NINDS) conducts and supports research on brain and nervous system disorders. Created by the U.S. Congress in 1950, NINDS is one of the more than two dozen research institutes and centers that comprise the National Institutes of Health (NIH).

UNESDOC-UNESCO Digital Library

The UNESCO Digital Library is a key tool for enabling UNESCO’s mission of building peace in the minds of people, in particular by “advancing the mutual knowledge and understanding, and encouraging cooperation among the nations in all branches of intellectual activity…The collection includes: UNESCO publications, UNESCO-sponsored publications, Speeches of the Director-General from 1970 to present, Documents of UNESCO’s Governing Bodies and Publications of interest to UNESCO.
CDC Diseases and Conditions
Provides symptoms and diagnosis, treatment, concerns and conditions, state information, research information, Articles and Key findings, multimedia, statistics on several diseases and conditions.

 National Institute on Aging  

The National Institute on Aging (NIA) website offers information about the science of healthy aging, and Alzheimer’s disease and Alzheimer’s disease-related dementias (AD/ADRD). NIA scientists and other experts review the content of this website before it is published to ensure that it is evidence-based, accurate, authoritative, and up to date.
The website is a service of NIA, managed by two related public information centers: the NIA Information Center and the Alzheimer’s and related Dementias Information and Referral (ADEAR) Center.
This website includes information on health topics of interest to older adults; information on NIA research programs, funding opportunities, training, and resources; news about NIA-supported research; a public database that allow users to search for Alzheimer’s and related clinical trials; and a public database that allows users to search for Alzheimer’s clinical trials recruitment resources.

National Cancer Institute

The National Cancer Institute (NCI) is the federal government's principal agency for cancer research and training. NCI's team is of approximately 3,500 is part of the National Institutes of Health (NIH), one of 11 agencies that make up the Department of Health and Human Services (HHS). It leads the nation’s research efforts to improve cancer prevention, detection, diagnosis, and survivorship, supports 71 NCI-Designated Cancer Centers and more than 5,000 grantees, coordinates and supports all phases of clinical trials across 2,500 clinical trial sites nationwide, seeking the development of new and improved cancer treatments, etc.
OpenGene: open source tools and libraries for genetic data analysis
       GeneFuse Detect and visualize target gene fusions by scanning FASTQ files directly AfterQC Automatic Filtering, Trimming, Error Removing and Quality Control for fastq data. MutScan Detect and visualize target mutations by scanning FastQ files directly. CfdnaPattern Pattern Recognition for Cell-free DNA. MrBam Query Mutated Reads from a Bam.
OpenWorm
OpenWorm is an open source project dedicated to creating the first virtual organism in a computer.
Found out more about Open Education Resources (definition, sites, practices, policies, and Creative Commons) by accessing 'Open Education Resources' from the Libguide entitled 'Scholarly Communication & Publishing: Open Education Resources' by Shelie Vacek).

Blood Thinner Pills: Your Guide to Using Them Safely

The Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality offers a free booklet and a video about blood thinner medicines. Staying Active and Healthy with Blood Thinners, a 10-minute video, features easy-to-understand explanations of how blood thinners work and why it's important to take them correctly. Blood Thinner Pills: Your Guide to Using Them Safely, a 24-page booklet, explains how these pills can help prevent dangerous blood clots from forming and what to expect when taking these medicines.

Chest Foundation

Patient friendly, patient-focused materials.

Choosing Wisely

Patient Resources has  materials that were developed in partnership with medical specialty societies.

EthnoMed

EthnoMed is Harborview Medical Center's ethnic medicine website containing medical and cultural information about immigrant and refugee groups.

How to Create a Pill Card
This guide was designed to help users create an easy-to-use "pill card" for patients, parents, or anyone who has a hard time keeping track of their medicines. Step-by-step instructions, sample clip art, and suggestions for design and use will help to customize a reminder card.

Medlineplus.gov

From National Library of Medicine, Medlineplus.gov gives UpToDate, reliable, and layman-language information (disease and drug) to patients and their families and friends.

Prodigy Patient

Based on information written by doctors, for doctors, Prodigy Patient uses trusted medical knowledge to provide you with the best advice to look after your health.

Think Cultural Health

Think Cultural Health (TCH) is dedicated to advancing health equity at every point of contact. With growing concerns about health inequities and the need for health care systems to reach increasingly diverse patient populations, cultural competence has become more and more a matter of national concern.

U.S. Department of Health and Human Services Office of Minority Health

The Office of Minority Health is dedicated to improving the health and racial and ethic minority populations through the development of health policies and programs that will help eliminate health disparities.
Found out more about Preprints (definition, repositories, self-archiving, and policies) by accessing 'Preprints' from the Libguide entitled 'Scholarly Communication & Publishing: Preprints' by Shelie Vacek).
Note not all resources in this Libguide are openly accessible sites, many will require USD login credentials.
Agency for Healthcare Research & Quality
Centers for Disease Control and Prevention
Health Statistics Libguide
National Health Service
Organization for Economic Cooperation and Development
World Health Organization Databases 
World Health Organization Databases
GBD Compare
Analyze updated estimates of the world’s health for 369 diseases and injuries and 87 risk factors from 1990 to 2019 in this interactive tool. Use maps and treemaps, arrow diagrams, and many other charts to compare causes and risks within a country, compare countries with regions or the world, and explore patterns and trends by country, age, and sex. Results at the subnational level are also available for select countries. Drill down from a global view into specific details. Compare expected and observed trends. Watch how disease patterns have changed over time. Learn which causes of death and disability are having more impact and which are waning.
Measures available include:
  • Deaths
  • Years of life lost (YLLs)
  • Years lived with disability (YLDs)
  • Disability-adjusted life years (DALYs)
  • Incidence
  • Prevalence
  • Maternal mortality ratio
  • Probability of death
  • Life expectancy
  • Healthy life expectancy (HALE)
It is part of ‘GBD Data Visualization produced by Institute for Health Metrics and Evaluation.
Global Health Observatory
Explore a world of health data.
Health Equity Monitor
The Health Equity Monitor provides evidence on existing health inequalities and makes available tools and resources for monitoring health inequalities, including
  • The ‘Health Equity Monitor Database’, a large database of disaggregated data, currently includes data for more than 35 reproductive, maternal, newborn and child health indicators, disaggregated by six dimensions of inequality, from over 450 international household health surveys conducted in 115 countries in 1991-2019.
  • Interactive data visualizations’, that present data from the Health Equity Monitor database in an interactive way.
  • The Health Equity Assessment Toolkit (HEAT), a software application for assessing health inequalities in countries.
  • Publications’, including handbooks, manuals, advocacy booklets and reports.
Triple Billions
A measurable impact tracking the work of WHO, countries, regions and partners to meet the Triple Billion targets and health-related SDGs equitably. The triple Billion targets are:
Universal Health Coverage: One billion more people benefiting from Universal Health Coverage, monitored on two dimensions (coverage of essential health services and financial hardship) and tracked via 15 indicators.
Health Emergencies Protection: One billion more people better protected from health emergencies, tracked via six indicators.
Healthier Populations: One billion more people enjoying better health and well-being, tracked via 16 SDG indicators.

Centers for Disease Control and Prevention

CDC Data & Statistics

Data and statistics in CDC by Topic.
CDC Morbidity and Mortality Weekly Report

It includes links to health-related resources.

CDC National Center for Health Statistics
Includes the National Health Interview Survey, the National Immunization Survey, the National Health and Nutrition Examination Survey, the National Survey of Family Growth, the National Health Care Survey, the National Employer Health Insurance Survey, the National Mortality Follow back Survey, and the National Vital Statistics System consisting of the Birth Data and Mortality Data.

CDC Wonder (Wide-ranging Online Data for Epidemiologic Research)

It makes the information resources of CDC available and provides access to a wide array of public health information.


Organization for Economic Cooperation and Development
OECD Statistics 

From Organization for Economic Cooperation and Development, it includes data and metadata for OECD countries and selected non-member economies.

Agency for Healthcare Research & Quality

Data: Agency for Healthcare Research & Quality

The Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality's (AHRQ) mission is to produce evidence to make health care safer, higher quality, more accessible, equitable, and affordable, and to work within the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services and with other partners to make sure that the evidence is understood and used. We accomplish our mission by focusing on our three core competencies.
  • Healthcare Cost and Utilization Project (HCUP) is the Nation's most comprehensive source of hospital data.
  • Medical Expenditure Panel Survey (MEPS) is a set of surveys of families and individuals, medical providers, and employers nationwide.
  • U.S. Health Information Knowledgebase (USHIK) is a metadata registry of healthcare-related standards.
  • State Snapshots provide State-specific healthcare quality information, including strengths, weaknesses, and opportunities for improvement. The goal is to help State officials and their public- and private-sector partners better understand healthcare quality and disparities in their State.
Research Data Infographics  AHRQ focuses on data and analytics to help healthcare decision makers understand how the U.S. healthcare system is working and where there are opportunities for improvement. The data infographics depicted below are based on AHRQ data publications and are available for use in presentations, briefings, media outreach and other communications. AHRQ also offers interactive data visualizations that feature its data. More...

National Health Service

National Health Service: Provider quality indicators
The NHS website allows users to compare information for many NHS service providers. Indicator information may cover the quality and safety of a hospital, as well as information about facilities provided, such as the cost and availability of car parking.

Health Statistics
Health Statistics Libguide
This guide highlights health data available at the state, federal and international level in several areas of health care and health administration. Primary sources are the Federal Government and international agencies.

Australian Clinical Trials
AustralianClinicalTrials.gov.au is a joint initiative between the National Health and Medical Research Council and the Department of Industry, Innovation and Science to provide information and resources to consumers, health care providers, researchers and industry about clinical trials.

ClinicalTrials.gov

Explore 413,028 research studies in all 50 states and in 220 countries.
ClinicalTrials.gov is a resource provided by the U.S. National Library of Medicine.

Clinical Trials (Mayo Clinic Research)
Searching condition, treatment or drug name in Mayo Clinics. Keep the check box next to 'Only show open studies currently recruiting participants'.
EU Clinical Trials Register (EU-CTR)
The European Union Clinical Trials Register allows you to search for protocol and results information on:
  • interventional clinical trials that are conducted in the European Union (EU) and the European Economic Area (EEA);
  • clinical trials conducted outside the EU / EEA that are linked to European paediatric-medicine development.
The EU Clinical Trials Register currently displays 42,044 clinical trials with a EudraCT protocol, of which 6,918 are clinical trials conducted with subjects less than 18 years old.
The register also displays information on 18,700 older paediatric trials (in scope of Article 45 of the Paediatric Regulation (EC) No 1901/2006).

International Clinical Trials Registry Platform (ICTRP)
The new ICTRP search portal is now live. The platform is cloud based and can be accessed at https://trialsearch.who.int 
The UTN application can be accessed at  https://trialsearch.who.int/utn.aspx 

International Clinical Trials (WHO)

The Clinical Trials Search Portal provides access to a central database containing the trial registration data sets provided by several registries. It also provides links to the full original records.

National Institute on Aging  

The National Institute on Aging (NIA) website offers information about the science of healthy aging, and Alzheimer’s disease and Alzheimer’s disease-related dementias (AD/ADRD). NIA scientists and other experts review the content of this website before it is published to ensure that it is evidence-based, accurate, authoritative, and up to date.
The website is a service of NIA, managed by two related public information centers: the NIA Information Center and the Alzheimer’s and related Dementias Information and Referral (ADEAR) Center.
This website includes information on health topics of interest to older adults; information on NIA research programs, funding opportunities, training, and resources; news about NIA-supported research; a public database that allow users to search for Alzheimer’s and related clinical trials; and a public database that allows users to search for Alzheimer’s clinical trials recruitment resources.
Open Trials
OpenTrials is a collaboration between Open Knowledge International and Dr Ben Goldacre from the University of Oxford DataLab. It aims to locate, match, and share all publicly accessible data and documents, on all trials conducted, on all medicines and other treatments, globally.
UK Clinical Trials Gateway
This website is to help you find out about health and social care research taking place in England, Northern Ireland, Scotland and Wales.

How to Publish Openly
Sharing your research openly can be achieved in a number of ways.  Any of these options support open access:
  • Review your publication agreement before signing it and tell your publisher you want to:
    • a) retain the right to deposit a copy of your work in your institution's online archive/repository.  At USD, our archive/repository is USD RED powered by Digital Commons. AND/OR
    • b) retain the right to deposit a copy of your work in a disciplinary repository, such as PubMed Central.  Some journals allow you to archive a copy of your article after an embargo period. Ensure the embargo period is acceptable based on Public Open Access Policies for grant-funded research. Typically the maximum allowed is 12 months from publication. 
  • Publish in an Open Access journal that is recognized by and listed in both DOAJ and OASPA. (Directory of Open Access Journals and Open Access Scholarly Publishers Association)
Find out how to work with publishers to retain your rights by using the SPARC addendum.
(From Libguide entitled 'Scholarly Communication & Publishing: Open Access' by Shelie Vacek)
Writing and Submitting Case Reports (Free Submission Options)
Aesculapius Journal
The Aesculapius publishes manuscripts from standard categories: original research, reviews, editorials, case reports and conference proceedings in basic science, clinical research, social aspects of healthcare, healthcare simulation, innovative teaching methods, leaner and program assessment, and healthcare policy making. For the Journal Submission Rules and Formatting Requirements, check here.
By Shelie Vacek

USD's RED (Research Engage Design)
RED is a service of the University of South Dakota University Libraries that promotes and shares the scholarship, creative works, and data created by University of South Dakota faculty, students, and institutional partners.
If you are interested in depositing your work into RED, email us at: USD-LibraryAccessHelp@usd.edu.
More information check the following Libguide.

Changing YOUR Practice
In an attempt to avoid unnecessary medical and laboratory tests and procedures, the American Board of Internal Medicine (ABIM) has created Choosing Wisely. It provides a list of evidence-based and updated recommendations from different specialty society partners.

Get Involved 'All of Us'
Whether you are contributing health information, engaging in research, or supporting the 'All of Us' Research Program as a partner, by taking part in this historic program you may help us build a better future for health research and care. It is easy to get involved with the 'All of Us' Research Program as a researcher or participant. Learn more here.
Footer for USD LibGuide v2.0