USF School of Nursing: Wegner Services

Overview

ClinicalKey for Nursing is an Elsevier product which provides evidence based information on a variety of conditions and topics. ClinicalKey for Nursing can be used at any time during patient care from background research to point-of-care.

Access

ClinicalKey for Nursing is a subscription database, thus you will need to access ClinicalKey for Nursing through the Wegner Health Sciences Library's website. By connecting through the Wegner Health Sciences Library, you will also be linked with Wegner's subscriptions and holdings for access to full-text or to submit an Interlibrary Loan (ILL) if Wegner does not subscribe to that resource.

• Go to the Wegner Health Sciences Library website
• Scroll down the page until you see the box titled Library Quick Links
• Select ClinicalKey for Nursing

Searching & Content

ClinicalKey for Nursing uses simple text searching, therefore it does not have a controlled vocabulary nor do you need to use a specific search syntax (e.g., field tags).

ClinicalKey for Nursing has the following content:

• Clinical Overviews
  • Easy to navigate monographs for point-of-care
• Topic pages
  • Information containing disease epidemiology, risk factors, clinical manifestations, treatments, etc.
• Mosby’s evidence-based Nursing Monographs
  •  Evidence about common clinical problems, including summaries of key studies, tagged by level of evidence
• Full-text books 
  • Nursing books, including AACN’s Core Curriculum for Critical Care, Sheehy’s Manual of Emergency Care, and Saunders Nursing Drug Handbook 2021
  • ClinicalKey handles its book chapters a little differently than other databases. To view the PDF of a book chapter in a ClinicalKey eBook, you must first register "within" ClinicalKey. Please notice the "Register" link in the far upper right hand corner of ClinicalKey.
• Full-text journals
  • Elsevier nursing journals, including Journal of Emergency Nursing, Nurse Leader, AORN Journal and Journal for Nurse Practitioners
• Customizable Patient Education Handouts
• Calculators and Clinical calculators
  • Drug calculators for IV, PO dosage and body surface area (BSA), Drug, Clinical Criteria, Decision Tree, Medical, and Unit Conversion Calculators from EBMcalc are available
• Core Measures
  • Contain Nursing recommendations
• Videos and Images
  • Including procedural videos
• Drug Monographs
  • Information about U.S. prescription drugs, herbal supplements, nutritional, vitamin and OTC products
• Labs
• Clinical updates 
  • Best practice clinical articles
• Integrated Dorland’s Dictionary
• Nursing Scales
  • Links to commonly used scales, such as the Wong-Baker FACES® Pain Rating Scale and NIH Stroke Scale
• Practice guidelines
• MEDLINE® Abstracts
• Clinical Trials