Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

USF School of Nursing: Wegner Services

Overview

The JBI, formerly known as Joanna Briggs Institute, is an international research organization based in the Faculty of Health and Medical Sciences at the University of Adelaide, South Australia. The JBI Evidence Based Practice Database (via Ovid) is comprised of high-quality, reliable evidence on a wide range of clinical and policy topics at the point of care.  It includes more than 4,500 JBI Evidence Summaries, recommended practices, and best practice information sheets.

 

Access

JBI EBP Database is a subscription database, thus you will need to access it through the Wegner Health Sciences Library's website. By connecting through the Wegner Health Sciences Library, you will also be linked with Wegner's subscriptions and holdings for access to full-text or to submit an Interlibrary Loan (ILL) if Wegner does not subscribe to that resource.

  • Go to the Wegner Health Sciences Library website
  • Scroll down the page until you see the Databases link; click on the Databases link.
  • Once you click on the link for Databases, you will be taken to the Wegner Partners A-Z Database list. From here, click on J and then scroll until you see Joanna Briggs Institute EBP Database (via Ovid).

image of wegner library homepage

Image of A to Z database list

Controlled Vocabulary & Keywords

Controlled Vocabulary

Controlled Vocabulary provides a consistent, precise way to retrieve information when different words are used for the same concept, or when the same language is used for different concepts. JBI's controlled vocabulary can be found using the Search Tools Mode and selecting Tree.  Type your term into the search box and it will provide you with the term and show you the hierarchy in which it is organized.

JBI search options

 

JBI term hierarchy

 

Keywords

Keywords are all the ways to say the same thing and are valuable when there is no controlled vocabular for your search term.  Keywords also catch newer articles that have not yet been, or will not be, indexed with controlled vocabulary. Terms used as keywords will be searched for in the title, abstract, or other text field in the citation record.  Keywords can be:

  • synonyms (Acetaminophen/Tylenol; unit/ward)
  • acronyms (ECMO, CAUTI)
  • free text
  • natural language
  • user-selected terms
  • professional lingo
  • alternate spellings (healthcare/health care; pediatric/paediatric)
  • and more... 

 

BEST PRACTICE

Use controlled vocabulary AND keywords TOGETHER!

Phrases, Truncation & Wildcards, & Fields

Phrases

If you have a phrase, it is recommended to search it within quotation marks ("), otherwise the phrase could be split and the terms searched separately, e.g., "kidney allograft".

 

Truncation & Wildcard Symbols

You can use truncation or wildcard symbols to create searches with unknown characters, multiple spellings, or various endings.  JBI recognizes three truncation or wildcard symbols:

  • * - The asterisk (*) matches multiple characters at then end of a word.
  • # - The hash sign (#), or mandated wildcard, matches exactly one character within a word or at the end of a word
  • ? - The question mark (?), or optional wildcard, matches zero - one characters within a word or at the end of a word.

(*) Asterisk 

JBI can do unlimited right-hand truncation and limited right-hand truncation.

Unlimited

vaccin* will search vaccine, vaccines, vaccinate, vaccinates, vaccinated, vaccination, vaccinations, vaccinator, etc.

Limited

allerg*2 will search for allergy and allergic but it will not search for allergies

(#) Hash - Mandated Wildcard

Hospitali#ation will find occurrences of hospitalization or hospitalisation.

Hospital# will find hospitals but it will not find hospital.

(?) Question Mark - Optional Wildcard

P?ediatric will find pediatric and paediatric.

 

Search Fields

To search in specific fields in JBI (e.g., author only, title and abstract, etc.) you will want to be in the Search Fields Mode.  Once you are in the Search Fields Mode you can select the exact fields in which you want to search for your words.

Search fields screen

Boolean & Proximity Operators

red line

Boolean Operators

Boolean operators are used to combine all of your terms together. Boolean operators must be in ALL CAPS in order to be properly recognized by the database. JBI recognizes three Boolean operators:

OR

OR will broaden your search. Use OR between like terms. "intensive care unit*"[tw] OR "critical care unit*"[tw] OR icu[tw]

venn diagram

AND 

AND will narrow your search.  Use AND between different terms. "Intensive care unit*"[tw] AND "compassion fatigue"[tw]

venn diagram

NOT 

NOT will exclude terms from your search. Please consult with a librarian before using NOT in a search as you may be excluding vital references.  adult[tw] NOT child[tw]

venn diagram

 

Proximity Operators

Proximity searching allows you to search for two or more words that occur within a certain number of words from each other. JBI's proximity operators are comprised of a letters (ADJ or FREQ) and a number (n specifies the number of words).  JBI recognizes two proximity operators: 

  • Positional Operator (ADJ) retrieves records that contain your terms (in any order) within a specified number (n) of words of each other.
    • catheter ADJ3 infect* will retrieve phrases such as urinary tract infection (catheter related), catheter-related bloodstream infection, etc.
  • Frequency Operator (FREQ) specifies a term's threshold of occurrence in the records retrieved. Records containing the term are retrieved only if that term occurs at least the number of times specified in your search statement.
    • The search blood pressure.tx./freq=10 retrieves only records in which the phrase blood pressure appears ten or more times in the Full Text (TX) field of the database.

 

Footer for USD LibGuide v2.0