Skip to Main Content

Young Adult Literature Awards: YA Lit Awards

This guide provides links to all of the YALSA awards for Young Adult Literature as well as the YALSA reading lists of YA Literature.

2016 Printz Winner & Honors

Printz Winner:

Bone Gap
By Laura Ruby

Printz Honors:

  • The Ghosts of Heaven by Marcus Sedgwick
  • Out of Darkness by Ashley Hope Pérez

2016 Alex Award Winners

  • All Involved by Ryan Gattis
  • Between the World and Me by Ta-Nehisi Coates
  • Bones & All by Camille DeAngelis
  • Futuristic Violence and Fancy Suits by David Wong
  • Girl at War by Sara Nović
  • Half the World by Joe Abercrombie
  • Humans of New York: Stories by Brandon Stanton
  • Sacred Heart by Liz Suburbia
  • Undocumented: A Dominican Boy’s Odyssey from a Homeless Shelter to the Ivy League by Dan-el Padilla Peralta
  • The Unraveling of Mercy Louis by Keija Parssinen

2016 Morris Award Winners

Morris 2014 Winner:

Image result for Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda written by Becky Albertalli

Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda written by Becky Albertalli

Morris Finalists:

  • Because You’ll Never Meet Me written by Leah Thomas
  • Conviction written by Kelly Loy Gilbert
  • The Sacred Lies of Minnow Bly written by Stephanie Oakes
  • The Weight of Feathers written by Anna-Marie McLemore

Michael L. Printz Award

logoThe Michael L. Printz Award honors the best book written for teens based entirely on literary merit. In addition, the Printz Committee names up to four honor books, which also represent the best writing in young adult literature.

The award is administered by the Young Adult Library Services Association (YALSA), a division of the ALA. 


Alex Awards

logoThe Alex Awards are given annually to ten books written for adults that have special appeal to young adults. 


Margaret A. Edwards Award

logoThe Edwards Award honors an author, as well as a specific body of his or her work, for significant and lasting contribution to writing for teens. 

William C. Morris Award

logoThe Morris Award honors a book written for young adults by a first-time, previously unpublished author. The first Morris Award was given in 2009.  Additionally, Morris Finalists are awarded a silver medal. 

Odyssey Award

logoThe Odyssey Award honors the producer of the best audio book produced for children and/or young adults, available in English in the United States. 


YALSA Award for Excellence in Non-Fiction

logoYALSA's newest award, The Award for Excellence in Non-Fiction for Young Adults, will honor the best non-fiction book for young adults.  The first of this award was given out in 2010.


2016 Excellence in Non-Fiction

Image result for Most Dangerous: Daniel Ellsberg and the Secret History of the Vietnam War written by Steve Sheinkin\" data-mce-src=

Most Dangerous: Daniel Ellsberg and the Secret History of the Vietnam War written by Steve Sheinkin

For a list of the Excellence in Non-Fiction finalists, click here.

2016 Odyssey Award

Image result for “The War that Saved My Life” is written by Kimberly Brubaker Bradley and narrated by Jayne Entwistle

The War that Saved My Life, written by Kimberly Brubaker Bradley and narrated by Jayne Entwistle
Honor Book 
Echo written by Pam Muñoz Ryan
Click here for a list of Honor winners.

Footer for USD LibGuide v2.0