Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Histories about Vermillion, Clay County, Dakota Territory, and South Dakota: Home

Need help? Ask!

Phone: 605-658-3380

Email: speccoll@usd.edu

Hours: Monday-Friday 8 a.m to 5 p.m., by appointment only. Holidays and other exceptions.

Archives and Special Collections is closed for renovation/expansion from May 14, 2021, to January 01, 2022. We do not have access to our collections and patron services will be limited.

Location: Room 305, University Libraries, I.D. Weeks Building

Visithttp://www.usd.edu/library/archives

About our town, county, territory, and state

Select bibliography of histories and other resources about Vermillion, Clay County, Dakota Territory, and South Dakota.

Start with these histories:

Schell, Herbert S. History of Clay County, South Dakota. Vermillion, SD: Clay County, 1976. Main Collection and Chilson Collection, F657.C6 S34x.

 

Sterling, Everett W. Vermillion story, the people and events in Vermillion’s founding in 1859 and growth through the first 100 years. Published on the occasion of the Vermillion Centennial, August 1959. Vermillion, SD: Vermillion Chamber of Commerce, 1959. Location: Main Collection and Chilson Collection, F659 .V4 S7x.

Vermillion

Census of 1860. South Dakota Historical Collections, Volume X, 1920. Location: Main collection and Chilson Collection, F646 .S76. Includes a section on Vermillion and Clay County.

 

Clay County Historical Society. Tour Guide: Historic Sites of Vermillion, Founded in 1859. Vermillion, S.D.: Clay County Historical Society, 1970.  Location: Main and Chilson Collection F659.V4 C52.

 

Jordan, George T.  Vermillion and Vicinity, 1901.  Location:  Vermillion, South Dakota papers, Richardson Collection, Archives and Special Collections.

 

Lathrop, A.H.  Life in Vermillion before the 1881 flood and shortly after. Vermillion, SD: Clay County Historical Society, 1970. Location: Chilson Collection, F659 .V4x L37.

 

Sanborn fire insurance map from Vermillion, Clay County, South Dakota. Years available are 1883, 1892, 1898, 1903, 1912, 1923, 1932, and 1931-1939. On library databases: Sanborn Maps – South Dakota (accessed June 11, 2019).

 

Smith, Elizabeth T. Historic Vermillion and Clay County.  Chicago: Arcadia Publishing, 2002. Location: Main Collection and Chilson Collection, F659 .V4 S64 2002.

 

Sterling, Everett W. Vermillion story, the people and events in Vermillion’s founding in 1859 and growth through the first 100 years. Published on the occasion of the Vermillion Centennial, August 1959. Vermillion, SD: Vermillion Chamber of Commerce, 1959. Location: Main Collection and Chilson Collection, F659 .V4 S7x.

 

Svingen, Orlan J. “The history of Vermillion to 1900.” Master’s Thesis, University of South Dakota, 1975. Location: Main Collection and USD Archives, LD5071.3x .Sv36.

 

Thaden, Thomas R. From the river valleys to the rising bluff: a pictorial history of Vermillion, South Dakota, 1859-2009. Virginia Beach, VA: Donning Co. Publishers, 2008. Location: Main Collection and Chilson Collection, F659 .V47 T48 2008.

 

United States. Works Projects Administration. South Dakota. Vermillion: A civic picture: (a report on municipal government).  Vermillion: University of South Dakota, 1942.  Location:  Chilson Collection, JS1509.V42 A5 1942.

 

Vermillion Chamber of Commerce. Vermillion The university city: some interesting facts about one of the choicest residential cities in the state. Vermillion, SD: Vermillion Chamber of Commerce, [1937?]. Location: Main Collection and Chilson Collection, F659.V4 V4x.

 

Vermillion Development Company. Vermillion, South Dakota. [Madison, SD: The Madison Leader, 1968]. Location: Main Collection and Chilson Collection, F659.V4 V47x.

 

Vermillion Plain Talk.  “Historical sketches of Vermillion and Clay County, commemorating Vermillion’s one hundredth anniversary”.  Vermillion Plain Talk. An article appeared in each weekly issue from February 5th through August 1959.

 

Vermillion Historic Preservation Plan Task Force. Vermillion Historic Preservation Plan. Vermillion, S.D.: S.n.], 1993. Chilson Collection F659.V4 V473 1993.

 

Wilds, Bridget C. “Downtown Vermillion, South Dakota: An Applied Research Project in Historic Preservation and Downtown Revitalization.” Honors thesis, University of South Dakota, 2016. Location: Main Collection LD5071.2x .W6477.

Clay County

Atlas of Clay County. Watertown, SD: Centennial Atlas, c1990. Locations: Main Collection and Chilson Collection, G1448 .C53 A84 1990. This set includes atlases of many other SD counties. 

 

Briggs, Harold Edward. “The early history of Clay County.” Master’s Thesis, University of South Dakota, 1924.  Locations: Main Collection and USD Archives, LD5071.3x .B76863. Also in South Dakota Historical Collections, Vol. 13, page 69-157.

 

Carlberg, Janet Joyce. “A study of place-names in Clay County, South Dakota.” Master’s Thesis, University of South Dakota, 1962. Location: Main Collection, LD 5071.3x .C1918.

 

Carlsen, Nancy L. Clay County Historic Preservation Commission cemetery inventory. Vermillion, SD: Clay County Historic Preservation Commission, 2008. Location: Vermillion Public Library South Dakota Reference, LMC 929.5 .C284.

 

Census of 1860. South Dakota Historical Collections, Volume X, 1920. Locations: Main collection and Chilson Collection, F646 .S76. Includes a section on Vermillion and Clay County.

 

Clay County, SD air photos. Brookings, SD: Plant Science Dept., SD Agricultural Experiment Station, South Dakota State University, [2003]. Location: South Dakota Documents, ED 175:P 324. Set includes other counties in South Dakota. Dates vary.

 

George A. Ogle & Company. Memorial and Biographical Record of Turner, Lincoln, Union and Clay Counties, South Dakota. Containing Biographical Sketches of Hundreds of Prominent Old Settlers and Representative Citizens, with a Review of Their Life Work; Their Identity with the Growth and Development of These Counties; Reminiscences of Personal History and Pioneer Life; and Other Interesting and Valuable Matter Which Should Be Preserved in History. Chicago: G. A. Ogle &, 1897. Locations: Main Collection and Chilson Collection, F650 .M52x.

 

Guide to National Register of Historic Places in Clay County, South Dakota. Vermillion, SD: Clay County Historic Preservation Commission, 2007. Locations: Main Collection and Chilson Collection, F657 .C6 G852 2007.

 

Kryger, Marion L. Homesteaders of Clay County, South Dakota: reference guide for 1884 map of Clay County. Vermillion, SD: M. Kryger, 1999. Locations: Main Collection and Chilson Collection, F657 .C6 K79 1999.

 

Moore, Charles S. Pocket atlas of Clay County, South Dakota. Vermillion, SD: Dakota Republican (printer), 1894. Location is online, not at the library. Historic Map Works, http://www.historicmapworks.com/Atlas/US/9628/Clay+County+1894 (accessed 6/21/2019).

 

Moses, Lloyd R. Clay County place names. Vermillion, SD: Clay County Historical Society, 1978. Locations: Main Collection and Chilson Collection, F657 .C6 C55 1976.

 

Ogle, George A. Standard atlas of Clay County, South Dakota. Chicago: Geo. A. Ogle & Co, 1912. Locations: Atlas Collection and Chilson Collection, G4183 .C5 1912.

 

Parker, Donald Dean. History of our county and state [Clay County]. Brookings, SD: South Dakota State College, [1959]. Locations: Main Collection and Chilson Collection, F657 .C6 P32x.

 

Peterson, August. “Clay County indicating the area of about 37,500 acres and the names of 236 Swedish pioneers who made their settlement and obtained patents from U.S. c1900. Location: Chilson Collection, Map 4183 .C5 E27 1914.

 

Peterson, August. History of the Swedes who settled in Clay County, South Dakota, and their biographies. [Clay County, SD: The Swedish pioneer and historical society of Clay County, SD, 1947]. Locations: Main Collection and Chilson Collection, F657 .C6 P48x.

 

Peterson, August. History of the Swedes who settled in Clay County, South Dakota, and their biographies. [Clay County, SD: The Swedish pioneer and historical society of Clay County, SD, 1947]. Locations:  Main Collection and Chilson Collection, F657 .C6 P48x.

 

Schell, Herbert S. Clay County: chapters out of the past. Vermillion, SD: Vermillion Area Chamber of Commerce, 1985. Locations: Main Collection and Chilson Collection, F657 .C6 S36.

 

Schell, Herbert S. History of Clay County, South Dakota. Vermillion, SD: Clay County, 1976. Locations: Main Collection and Chilson Collection, F657.C6 S34x.

 

Smith, Elizabeth T. Historic Vermillion and Clay County.  Chicago: Arcadia Publishing, 2002. Locations: Main Collection and Chilson Collection, F659 .V4 S64 2002.

 

South Dakota State Planning Board and Clay County Planning Board. Economic and social survey of Clay County. Brookings, SD: Works Progress Administration Sponsored Federal Project No. #3, 1936. Location: South Dakota Documents, EX 650:P694/Su 79/C 579.

 

Vermillion Plain Talk.  “Historical sketches of Vermillion and Clay County, commemorating Vermillion’s one hundredth anniversary”.  Vermillion Plain Talk. An article appeared in each weekly issue from February 5th through August 1959. Location: Chilson Collection.

Dakota Territory and South Dakota

Andreas, Alfred Theodore.  Andreas' historical atlas of Dakota.  Chicago: R. R. Donnelley & sons, The Lakeside Press, 1884.  Locations: Atlas Stand and Chilson Collection, G4180.A5 A5 1884.

 

Kingsbury, George W., and George Martin Smith. History of Dakota Territory. Chicago: S.J. Clarke Pub., 1915. Locations: Main Collection and Chilson Collection, F651 .K552x.

 

Peterson, E. Frank. Historical Atlas of South Dakota : Containing State and County Maps, Geologic Maps, Statistical Charts, Geography, Geology, History, Descriptive Notes, Tables, Etc. E.F. Peterson, 1904. Location: Chilson Collection, G4180.P4x 1904.

 

Robinson, Doane. A Brief History of South Dakota. New York: American Book, 1931. Locations: Main Collection and Chilson Collection, F656 .R65 1931.

 

Schell, Herbert S. History of South Dakota. 3rd Ed., Rev. ed. Lincoln: U of Nebraska, 1975. Locations: Main Collection and Chilson Collection, F651 .S29 1975.

 

Thompson, Harry F., and Herbert T. Hoover. A New South Dakota History. 2nd ed. Sioux Falls, S.D.: Center for Western Studies/Augustana College, 2009. Locations: Main Collection and Chilson Collection, F651 .N49 2009.

Footer for USD LibGuide v2.0