LibGuides: Ridge View High School English Research Guide: Research Databases (General)

Attention!

Database Lesson

To learn how to use the research databases, or to refresh your knowledge of database searching, please consult the Database Lesson.

General Purpose Databases

Academic Search Complete
Academic Search Complete is a strong general purpose database that covers fields such as the social sciences, business and economics, general sciences, and humanities. Many of the articles are available in full text form.
more...less...
SEARCH TIP: Open the drop down menu on the right hand search box and select “TX All Text” if you are searching for a key word or “SU Subject Terms” if you are using a subject term as part of your search.

SEARCH TIP: Click on the “Subject Term” tab at the top of the database toolbar to search for subject terms.
Proquest Databases
This is a useful general purpose database for many topics suitable for RBAA papers.
more...less...
SEARCH TIP: Open the drop down menu on the right hand search box and select “Document Text” if you are searching for a key word or “Subject” if you are using a subject term as part of your search.

SEARCH TIP: You can go to the Databases box and change the default setting of “Multiple Databases…” to selecting specific databases by opening the drop down menu or clicking on the link “Select Multiple Databases.”
JSTOR
JSTOR is a wide ranging database containing back files from many scholarly journals. The content in JSTOR begins with the individual journals first issue and covers up to about 3 years ago. JSTOR stands for “Journal Storage.”
more...less...
SEARCH TIP: Select Articles in the LIMIT TO section just below the search text boxes.
Google Scholar
Google Scholar is a search engine that accesses .edu web sites.

Source Evaluation Rubric

These resources consist of an example of an annotation paragraph and a Source Evaluation Rubric useful when preparing your evaluation of your source document. Feel free to print or to download each document.

Source Evaluation Rubric
Use this rubric to quickly evaluate and assess the quality of your sources. Then express your evaluation for these different categories in your annotation. Keep in mind that you can cover only 3 or 4 of these categories in your paragraph.