Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Physician Assistant Studies: Find Articles

Where's the full-text?

From a citation obtained from another source, search the Journals List by journal title. (See the search box below). You can also search journal title in the library catalog. Older citations may be available hard copy in the library, if not available electronically. If the journal title is not found in one of the above, you may order a copy of the article via Interlibrary Loan.

Citation Searches

Finding Journal Articles

  • Pubmed/Medline is a good place to start.  See the box below for help.
  • See below for a list of Medical and Health Science databases arranged by topic.
  • Visit USD's Database Page for a complete list of all available Databases.

PubMed (Medline) links and Tutorials

Article Databases

Where to start?  This list of databases below will help you to find current and retrospective articles on your topic. The scope of the health sciences is highly interdisciplinary; the following list is not intended to be exhaustive but should be used as an introduction to indexes in the areas of major interest serving the various academic programs. Link to complete A to Z list of library databases.

Note: Access to the Library's subscription databases, e-journals and e-books is restricted to users with USD or Wegner accounts. From off-campus, you will be prompted to log in to the USD EZProxy Server using your USD or Wegner Partner ID and password. Details at: http://libguides.usd.edu/proxy

 Contents:

  1. Consumer Health
  2. Drugs
  3. Evidence Based Medicine 
  4. General Medicine 
  5. Health Professions
  6. Health Services Research: Policy/Economics
  7. Herbs and Botanicals
  8. Molecular Biology
  9. Nursing
  10. Patient Education
  11. Psychiatry, Psychology
  12. Sports Medicine
  13. Tests & Measures of Health & Behavior
  14. Toxicity
  15. Point-of-Care (Quick Look-up Sources)

  ​
1. Consumer Health

  • MedlinePlus Authoritative information from NLM, the National Institutes of Health (NIH), and other government agencies and health-related organizations. Preformulated MEDLINE searches are included in MedlinePlus and give easy access to medical journal articles. MedlinePlus also has extensive information about drugs, an illustrated medical encyclopedia, interactive patient tutorials, and latest health news.

2. Drugs

  • Micromedex PDR, drug information, drug interactions, product identification, acute diseases, and CareNotes, Martindale, Formulary Advisor.
  • MEDLINE/Pubmed 1966-present
    Search by topic [e.g., tuberculosis] limited to publication type historical article by typing the following command: tuberculosis AND historical article [pt] 

 3. Evidence Based Medicine

  • MEDLINE/Pubmed 1966-present
    Search by topic [e.g., tuberculosis] limited to publication type historical article by typing the following command: tuberculosis AND historical article [pt] 
  • ACP Smart Medicine via STAT!Ref  By the American College of Physicians.  Smart Medicine is an authoritative, evidence-based guidance tool to improve clinical care.  Evidence for all diseases is evaluated, and the credibility of the evidence is displayed with a rating.  Log out when finished.
  • Cochrane Collection This resource is a regularly updated collection of evidence-based medicine databases. It includes abstracts and full reviews of controlled trials, methodologies, economic evaluation, and health technology assessment.
  • The Agency for Healthcare Research & Quality Provides evidence-based information on health care outcomes.
  • Trip Database   Free resource. Turning Research into Practice: Searches hundreds of evidence-based resources simultaneously.

4. General Medicine

  • Access Medicine  The Access Medicine package to which the Health Sciences Libraries subscribes includes: Harrison’s, as well as Hurst’s the Heart, and the Lange series in the basic medical sciences and in the clinical sciences. There are many more e-textbooks.
  • ClinicalKey Upgraded and expanded from MD Consult, this Point of Care research and "clinical insight engine" contains hundreds of Elsevier's medical books, textbooks and current journals, Procedures Consult's procedural videos,the First Consult POC interface, additional videos and images, practice guidelines, patient handouts, and drug information from Clinical Pharmacology.
  • STAT!REF  Full-text medical and drug information for healthcare professionals. Provides keyword searchable access to the full text of several medical and drug textbooks.  Merck Manual, Stedman's Medical Dictionary, calculators, conversion tools and more.
  • NORD   Over 1,130 disease reports including symptoms, causes, treatments, and investigative therapies.
  • OMMBID  Online Metabolic and Molecular Bases of Inherited Disease is a compendium of genetic disorders. Includes pathophysiology and treatment.
  • ScienceDirect   Full-text journals in the area of science and medicine. Elsevier.

 

5. Health Professions

  • CINAHL  CINAHL is a core resource for nursing and allied health professionals, students, educators and researchers. It provides indexing for 1,835 journals from the fields of nursing and allied health and contains more than a million records from 1982-present.
  • ExamMaster
  • NORD   Over 1,130 disease reports including symptoms, causes, treatments, and investigative therapies.
  • OMMBID  Online Metabolic and Molecular Bases of Inherited Disease is a compendium of genetic disorders. Includes pathophysiology and treatment.
  • Social Work Abstracts (One user at a time)    

 

 6. Health Services Research: Policy/Economics

 7. Herbs & Botanicals

  • Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center  Provides information about herbs, botanicals, and other products. 
  • International Bibliographic Information on Dietary Supplements (IBIDS)  Provides information on dietary supplements, including vitamins, minerals, and botanicals produced by the Office of Dietary Supplements at the National Institutes of Health
  • GreenFILE   Focusing on the relationship between human beings and the environment, with well-researched but accessible information on topics ranging from global warming to recycling to alternate fuel sources and beyond. Scholarly and general interest articles.

 8. Molecular Biology

  • NLM Entrez  Provides science literature.
  • BiosisPreviews   Indexes and abstracts from 6,000 international journals in most life science disciplines, including agriculture, biochemistry, biotechnology, ecology, immunology, microbiology, neuroscience, pharmacology, public health, and toxicology.
  • Web of Science Core Collection  Includes Science Citation Index Expanded covering over 5,600 journals, and covering relevant items from over 7,000 leading science and social sciences journals. Can access Journal Citation Reports via this link.

 9. Nursing

  • CINAHL  CINAHL is a core resource for nursing and allied health professionals, students, educators and researchers. It provides indexing for 1,835 journals from the fields of nursing and allied health and contains more than a million records from 1982-present.
  • ClinicalKey Nursing Includes nursing reference books, full-text articles of key nursing journals, drug information and drug calculators, clinical topic overviews, patient education handouts, and the latest in nursing news.

 10. Patient Education

  • Micromedex PDR, drug information, drug interactions, product identification, acute diseases, and CareNotes, Martindale, Formulary Advisor.
  • ClinicalKey  Upgraded and expanded from MD Consult, this Point of Care research and "clinical insight engine" contains hundreds of Elsevier's medical books, textbooks and current journals, Procedures Consult's procedural videos,the First Consult POC interface, additional videos and images, practice guidelines, patient handouts, and drug information from Clinical Pharmacology.

11. Psychiatry, Psychology

  • PsycINFO  Covers the academic, research and practice literature in psychology from over 45 countries in more than 30 languages. PsycINFO includes relevant materials from related disciplines such as medicine, psychiatry, education, social work, criminology, etc.

12. Sports Medicine

  •  SPORTDiscus  The world's most comprehensive bibliographic resources for all aspects of sport and fitness.

 13. Tests & Measures of Health & Behavior

  • HAPI Health and Psychosocial Instruments  Health and Psychosocial Instruments (HaPI) is a database of references to assessment and measurement tools and to articles and books describing their use. Tools include tests, questionnaires, interview schedules, checklists, index measures, coding schemes

 14. Toxicity

  • Micromedex PDR, drug information, drug interactions, product identification, acute diseases, and CareNotes, Martindale, Formulary Advisor.

15. Point-of-Care (Quick Look-up Sources)

  • DynaMed  Provides the most useful information at the point of care. Usefulness requires a balance of validity, relevance, convenience and affordability. Where available, links are provided to full-text electronic electronic resources via a PubMed reference.
  • ACP Smart Medicine via STAT!Ref  By the American College of Physicians.  Smart Medicine is an authoritative, evidence-based guidance tool to improve clinical care.  Evidence for all diseases is evaluated, and the credibility of the evidence is displayed with a rating.  Log out when finished.
Footer for USD LibGuide v2.0