LibGuides: Physician Assistant Studies: Clinicals

Clinical Resources

DynaMed This link opens in a new window
DynaMed is the decision support tool that clinicians go to for answers. Content is written by a world-class team of physicians and specialist who synthesize the evidence and provide objective analysis and guidance with transparent detail to assist in the clinical decision-making process. Content from Micromedex can be found in this database
ClinicalKey This link opens in a new window
This clinical point of care and research tool contains hundreds of Elsevier's medical textbooks, journals, procedural videos, images, practice guidelines, patient education, and drug information. Accessible from mobile devices.
Access Medicine This link opens in a new window
The Access Medicine package to which the Health Sciences Libraries subscribes includes: Harrison’s, as well as Hurst’s the Heart, and the Lange series in the basic medical sciences and in the clinical sciences. There are many more e-textbooks. Performs better using Firefox or Chrome
Provides access to several commonly used medical e-books including Harrison’s Online, CURRENT Medical Diagnosis & Treatment, and Goodman & Gilman’s The Pharmacological Basis of Therapeutics. Also contains practice guidelines, drug information, common laboratory tests, USMLE-format questions for self-assessment, case files, patient education, and many videos, audio clips, images and illustrations. Accessible from mobile devices.

Physical Exam Resources

Bates' Visual Guide to Physical Examination Streaming Videos This link opens in a new window
Each module shows step-by-step examinations with rationales for the clinician's actions. Contains examples of health history taking, interviewing, and a description of findings. Graphics illustrate key components of anatomy and physiology.

The Rational Clinical Examination by JAMA
Explore JAMA's groundbreaking series on evidence-based use of the medical history, physical examination, and testing to diagnosis disease. Complete list of linked articles by disease/condition.
ClinicalKey Procedure Videos
Videos that demonstrate best practice.
Interactive Medical Cases
Nearly 100 interactive cases in this series from the NEJM.
Videos in Clinical Medicine
Over 100 videos in this series from the NEJM.
NeuroLogic Exam
This presents the anatomical foundations of the neurologic exam and provides examples of both normal and abnormal conditions as exhibited by patients. University of Utah.

Drug Information

Lexidrug This link opens in a new window
Provided by Sanford Hospital Detailed drug information for health professionals who prescribe and administer medications. This database replaces Micromedex
Access Pharmacy This link opens in a new window
A pharmacy education resource that includes more than 80 key pharmacy reference books, quick reference (including herbs and supplements information), drug information (including dosages, trade names, and pricing), multimedia presentations and video, drug therapy cases with practice questions, study tools, and NAPLEX review help.

ClinicalKey Drug Information
Includes drug and dosing information to guide treatment of generic and brand name drugs, investigational medications, neutraceuticals, and nutritional products.
epocrates
A website and app used to help guide clinical decision making.
Johns Hopkins ABX Guide
U.S. Food and Drug Administration (FDA)
Product approvals, recalls and general safety alerts; FDA publications online in full-text; links to "hot topics," and how to Report a Problem with a Product Regulated by FDA.

Symptoms

Diagnosaurus
Diagnosis database from McGraw-Hill and AccessMedicine database.

Calculators

MDCalc
lots of calculators

Differential Diagnosis

Ferri's Clinical Advisor
Diagnostic and therapeutic information on over 700 conditions. See chapter on Differential Diagnosis.
DeGowin's Diagnostic Examination (11th ed.)
ClinicalKey
Differential diagnosis, medical topics, patient education, and procedures.
Merck Manual
Information is separated into separate entities describing pathophysiology, etiology, symptoms and signs, diagnosis, prognosis, treatment, and prevention.

International Classification of Diseases (ICD)

ICD-10-CM

International Classification of Diseases or ICD provides international standard codes for diseases and injuries. A code is given to each disease which is listed with its diagnosis.

The ICD-10-CM is recommended for use in all clinical settings but is required for reporting diagnoses and diseases to all U.S. Public Health Service and the Centers for Medicare Medicaid Services programs.