LibGuides: ENGL 101 Research Guide: Statistical Information

Federal and State Government Sites

South Dakota government website
Provides access to South Dakota government offices and information.

South Dakota Codified Laws
This is a searchable online database of the laws of the State of South Dakota. You can also find the print version of the state laws in the reference collection using call number KFS 3030 2004.

Congress website
Provides access to legislative information at the federal level for both the House of Representatives and Senate.
US Census Bureau
The US Census Bureau is an important source for statistical information about people and life within the United States.
USA.GOV The U.S. Government web portal
This link takes you to the United States government agency web portal where you can search for information from multiple government agencies.

United States House of Representatives
Official Website for the U.S. House of Representatives.
United States Senate
Official Website for the U.S. Senate.
ProQuest Congressional
Comprehensive database of U.S. legislative and executive primary sources. Includes Statutes at Large, bills, reports, hearings, hearing transcripts and testimony, committee reports, prints and miscellaneous publications, Congressional Record, member profiles, and CRS Reports. Also includes the Federal Register, Code of Federal Regulations, and Presidential materials. Additionally, this database offers robust Congressional news coverage and topical feature pages.

Statistical Information Resources

County and City Databooks
This resource provides access to the 1944 through 2000 County and City Data Books with information such as population, employment, etc. The paper version is in the reference collection under call number HA 202.A36 2007
Department of Commerce Statistics
Diane Frigge's LibGuide provides access to statistical information published by the Department of Commerce. (This information used to be provided by Stat-USA.)
Data.Gov
Is a government web portal providing access to statistics from 10 different government agencies. This is the place to go if you know what agency produces the statistics you want.
Lexis Nexis Statistical
This database geographical, demographical, and economic statistics in an easy to use search interface.
U.S. Census Bureau
The U.S. Census Bureau provides very useful compilation of statistical information about the US including population, employment, birth and death rates, etc in the Statistical Abstracts of the United States. You will have to search for this in the Census Bureau site. The most recent paper editions are in the reference collection under call number HA 202.U54x
Uniform Crime Reporting Program
The FBI provides consolidated crime reports from across the country on this site. A very useful site for statistics on different types of crime including hate crimes.
United States Historical Census Data
This site provides historical census data from 1790-1960 in an online searchable format. Caution! Some of the files can be quite large so check before you print anything.