Writing a Paper - Topic: Health Sciences: What is a Peer-Reviewed Article?

• Lancet
• Journal of Management Studies
• Journal of Animal Sciences

• Time
• Newsweek
• Macleans
• Saturday Night
• Harpers

• Washington Post
• USA Today
• New York Times

• Yes
• A scholarly Journal consists of articles that have been reviewed (refereed) by the authors peers - an editorial board of specialists in the field of research who evaluate the content and methodology of the author(s)' work and results.
• Editorial board information generally appears on the inside cover page or title page.

• No

• No

• Refereed Journals
• Primary Journals (see table below for the distinction between primary, secondary and tertiary articles and sources)

• Popular magazine
• General interest magazine
• News magazine
• Consumer magazine

• Concerned with academic study
• These articles also contain bibliographies of cited and related works
• Written by experts in the field
• Includes author's credentials and institutional affiliation
• Often abstract included
• Often reports original research, reviews and evaluates material that has already been published, or expands and refines theory.
• Published by a professional association, society, research association, or academic institution.

• A collection of articles about diverse topics of popular interest and current events. These articles rarely, if ever, cite sources.
• Often unsigned
• Usually no references
• Appeals to the layperson
• Contains advertising
• Published by a commercial publisher

• Disseminates news on a daily or weekly basis
• Content is usually determined by current events
• Vast array of topics
• Contributors are usually local staff, news-wire services and syndicated columnists.

• Articles of original research in peer-reviewed (refereed) journals

• Review articles
• Books
• Articles from non-refereed journals

• Encyclopedias Fact books
• Almanacs
• Biographical sources

Primary articles present original thinking, report on discoveries, or share new information with the reader. They are usually the most current information available in the library such as journal articles, dissertations (theses), patents or scientific reports.

To find primary sources in our Library, use the Journal Indexes. Journal Indexes will help you locate articles in scientific journals.

Secondary sources are less current when compared to primary sources and provide information about primary or original work.

To find secondary sources in our Library, use the Journal Indexes for reviews or articles that summarized the finding of others.

Use the Library Catalog (Aleph) for books.

Ask the Reference staff (in person, by phone 677-5348 or wegner@usd.edu) for assistance in limiting your search to review articles.

Materials that assimilate information taken from primary and secondary sources. The information is usually presented in an easy-to-read, or basic format.

Use the Library Catalog (Aleph) to find encyclopedias, biographical sources, fact books, almanacs and other tertiary sources.