LibGuides: Engl 205 Business Writing: Subject Specific Databases

Business/Economics

Business Source Premier
Use Business Source Premier if your topic includes a business or economic issue.
more...less...
SEARCH TIP: Open the drop down menu on the right hand search box and select “TX All Text” if you are searching for a key word or “SU Subject” if you are using a subject term as part of your search.

SEARCH TIP: Click on the “Thesaurus” tab at the top of the database toolbar to search for subject terms.
Business Source Premier-Enhanced Interface
The enhanced interface is useful when searching for information about a specific company or industry sector.
IBISWorld
IBIS World provides independent, accurate, comprehensive, and up to date research on over 700 industries, including statistics, analysis and forecasts.
EDGAR Database
A government database providing information on securities and exchange filings for publicly held corporations.
Thomas Register
Identifies manufacturers in the United States.

Medicine

CINAHL
CINAHL Complete provides full text articles from nursing & allied health journals and is useful for focused information on medical topics.
more...less...
SEARCH TIP: Open the drop down menu on the right hand search box and select “TX All Text” if you are searching for a key word or “MW Main Word in Subject Heading” if you are using a CINAHL Subject heading term as part of your search.

SEARCH TIP: Click on the “CINAHL Headings” tab on the toolbar at the top of the page to search for CINAHL subject terms.
Health Source Nursing/Academic Edition
This is a useful database for many general medical topics across the medicine field. Most of the articles are full text.
more...less...
SEARCH TIP: Open the drop down menu on the right hand search box and select “TX All Text” if you are searching for a key word or “SU Subject” if you are using a subject term as part of your search.

SEARCH TIP: Click on the “Subject Term” tab on the toolbar at the top of the page to search for subject terms.
MedLine
MEDLINE provides authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and more. Use this database for in-depth medical information .
more...less...
SEARCH TIP: Open the drop down menu on the right hand search box and select “TX All Text” if you are searching for a key word or “SU Subject” if you are using a subject term as part of your search.

SEARCH TIP: Click on the “MeSH” tab on the toolbar at the top of the page to search for subject terms. MeSH stands for Medical Subject Headings and are specialized subject terms for the medical field.
PubMed
PubMed provides articles and research papers on all topics of medicine. This database is useful if you want to know in-depth medical research. PubMed provides citations but not full text access.

Communication Studies

Communication & Mass Media Complete database
This database focuses on the fields of communication studies and mass media/advertising. Checking both this database and Academic Search Premier will ensure good coverage of communication specific articles.
more...less...
SEARCH TIP: Open the drop down menu on the right hand search box and select “TX All Text” if you are searching for a key word or “SU Subject Terms” if you are using a subject term as part of your search.

SEARCH TIP: Click on the “Thesaurus” tab at the top of the database toolbar to search for subject terms.

Education

Education Research Complete
This database covers topics involving education and is a good complement to the ERIC database.
more...less...
SEARCH TIP: Open the drop down menu on the right hand search box and select “TX All Text” if you are searching for a key word or “SU Subject” if you are using a subject term as part of your search.

SEARCH TIP: Click on the “Thesaurus” tab on the toolbar at the top of the page to search for subject terms.
ERIC
ERIC stands for the Educational Resource Information Center which is a government sponsored database of articles and papers on all facets of education. Most of these results are available in full text.
more...less...
SEARCH TIP: Open the drop down menu on the right hand search box and select “TX All Text” if you are searching for a key word or “SU Subject” if you are using a subject term as part of your search.

SEARCH TIP: Click on the “Thesaurus” tab on the toolbar at the top of the page to search for subject terms.

Psychology

PsychARTICLES
Contains full text articles from 60+ journals published by the American Psychological Association. This is a good starting point for information involving psychology but should not be the only psych database you search.
more...less...
SEARCH TIP: Open the drop down menu on the right hand search box and select “TX All Text” if you are searching for a key word or “SU Subject” if you are using a subject term as part of your search.

SEARCH TIP: Click on the “Thesaurus” tab on the toolbar at the top of the page to search for subject terms.
PsychINFO
This dataabase provides the most complete coverage in the field of pyschology. Many of the articles are available in full text.
more...less...
SEARCH TIP: Open the drop down menu on the right hand search box and select “TX All Text” if you are searching for a key word or “SU Subject” if you are using a subject term as part of your search.

SEARCH TIP: Click on the “Thesaurus” tab on the toolbar at the top of the page to search for subject terms.

Sociology

SocINDEX with Full Text
This database covers the sociology field and offers full text articles from over 700 journals. Use this database if your topic involves social issues.
more...less...
SEARCH TIP: Open the drop down menu on the right hand search box and select “TX All Text” if you are searching for a key word or “SU Subject” if you are using a subject term as part of your search.

SEARCH TIP: Click on the “Subject Term” tab on the toolbar at the top of the page to search for subject terms.

Environment and technology

Agricola
This database provides citations and abstracts for articles from over 600 periodicals, as well as USDA and state experiment station and extension publications, and selected books on agriculture, animal husbandry, animal and human nutrition, forestry, plant pathology, plant science, human ecology, agricultural economics, and rural sociology.
Annual reviews
Provides searchable, full-text access to original scholarly review articles in specific fields such as Earth and Planetary Sciences and the Environment and Resources.
Energy Citations Database
Energy Citations contains bibliographic records for energy and energy-related information from the Department of Energy (DOE) and its predecessor agencies, the Energy Research & Development Administration (ERDA) and the Atomic Energy Commission (AEC).
Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) Publications
This link provides access to EPA resources on environmental topics.
GreenFile
This database focuses on the environment and environmental technologies as well as on human impact on the environment.

Science.gov This link opens in a new window
This website is the US Government web portal for science, environment, and technology information made available by a cross section of government agencies.

Wildlife & Ecology Studies Worldwide
This database provides an index to world literature on mammals, amphibians, reptiles, and birds and includes studies on all aspects of their life cycles and behaviors, including hunting and management research.