Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Art & Art History

Gateway into art and art history resources at USD

Find Books

Try the library One Search!

 

Go to the Advanced Search for more catalog search options.

  • Oxford Art Online - a.k.a. Grove Art  
    This is the best place to start your research! Includes the peer-reviewed Grove Art Online (an online encyclopedia of the visual arts with over 45,000 articles and over 130,000 images), and the Benezit Dictionary of Artists

  • Oxford Reference Online is a fully indexed, cross-searchable database of about 100 dictionary, language reference, and subject reference works published by Oxford University Press. I.e. Oxford Companion to Western Art, Encyclopedia of Aesthetics, and Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms

See the Assignment Help tab for more information on finding Exhibition Catalogs, critisism, and artist info in the Libraries  online catalog .

Here are a few subject headings you can try:

Art, Modern -- 20th century -- Catalogs

Art -- New York (N.Y.) -- Catalogs

Museum of Modern Art (New York, N.Y.) -- Catalogs

N Visual arts

NA Architecture

NB Sculpture

NC Drawing. Design. Illustration

ND Painting

NE Print media

NK Decorative arts

NX Arts in general

TR Photography. Cinematography. Motion Pictures. Video.

More info

Browsing the University Libraries online catalog by Subject Headings can be useful when choosing topics to research.

Here are some examples:

Art, Abstract

Art, American

Art--Criticism

Feminism in Art

Search Google Books for your topic. Depending on the copyright for each item, you may see the full text or preview for book.

Google Book Search  

Footer for USD LibGuide v2.0