Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Music - Guide to Research

The purpose of this guide is to organize the most relevant USD Library resources for students, staff and faculty within the discipline of Music.

Online Reference Sources

Oxford Music Online

You can search for musical genres, historical periods, composers, performers, theories and more. Access themt hrough the A-Z databases link on the library homepage

There are three resources within Oxford Music Online, including:
1. Grove Music Online

2The Oxford Dictionary of Music (Michael Kennedy, 2006)

3The Oxford Companion to Music (Alison Latham, 2011

https://usd.idm.oclc.org/login?url=https://mgg-online.com

MGG (Musik in Geschichte und Gegenwart) Online:

  • is an exhaustive music encyclopedia, published in German
  • contains articles on music and related areas (literature, philosophy, visual arts)

You can access MGG Online:

  • through the A-Z databases link on the library homepage

Translating MGG Online articles into English:

  • Use an online translation service or your browser's 'Translate to English' function
  • When citing MGG articles in your assignment, make sure you indicate what translation service you have used

Oxford Reference Online

Oxford Reference Online is a fully indexed, cross-searchable database of about 100 dictionary, language reference, and subject reference works published by Oxford University Press.

Searches sources such as: 
Encyclopedia of Popular Music
The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Music 
The Oxford Companion to Music 
and many more resources all together!

Footer for USD LibGuide v2.0