LibGuides: Theatre: Articles/Databases

Where's the full-text?

Where do I find the journals?
more...less...
If you find a journal article that is not available electronically, our print journal collections are located on the second floor of The University Libraries. Alternatively, if we do not own the journal article in print or in electronic format, you can obtain the article via Interlibrary Loan.

If you want to find a specific journal, search the Journals List in OneSearch by journal title.

You can also search for journal articles by entering as much information from the citation you have into OneSearch. Older citations may be available hard copy in the library, if not available electronically.

If the journal title is not found in one of the above, you may order a copy of the article via Interlibrary Loan.

**(How do I sign up for Interlibrary Loan?)

---------------------------------------

Why do some journals show coverage to "1 year ago"?
more...less...
It is a fairly common practice for scholarly journal publishers to place an "embargo" -- a restriction on access to the full-text of their journal covering a specific time period - on subscriptions to that journal that come through academic database publishers like EBSCOHost. Generally, such an embargo means that while the databases that index the journal will provide abstracts and citation information, the full-text of the article will not be available to Library users during the embargo period.

Embargos usually range from 6 months to 18 months, with 1 year being the most common duration. Note that even if a journal is embargoed, current articles may be obtained via Interlibrary Loan.

Find articles on your topic by searching in these databases

Use these article databases to locate reviews, criticism, commentary, and/or in-depth articles focused on your subject of interest. The databases contain scholarly content from academic level journals, and depending on the database, may include citations to dissertations, books, book chapters, etc.

Arts & Humanities Citation Index
A&HCI focuses on essential data from over 1,160 of the world's leading arts and humanities journals, as well as selected items from over 6,000 scientific and social sciences journals (coverage 1992-present). A&HCI is a database in Web of Science.
Humanities International Complete
Full text coverage in all aspects of the humanities, with worldwide content pertaining to literary, scholarly and creative thought.
JSTOR
The full text of many scholarly journals in theatre.
MLA International Bibliography
Citation database of journal articles, books and dissertations; coverage dating back to 1963. Coverage is international and subjects include literature, language and linguistics, folklore, literary theory & criticism, dramatic arts, as well as the historical aspects of printing and publishing.
Performing Arts Periodicals Database
Covers a broad spectrum of the arts and entertainment industry - including dance, film, television, drama, theater, stagecraft, musical theater, circus performance, opera, pantomime, puppetry, magic, performance art and more.
Project Muse
Index to full-text collection of journals in literary theory, classics, history and cultural studies, philosophy, film, theatre and performing arts.
WorldCat
Search thousands of libraries worldwide in this bibliographic utility. Can't find a score, book, sound recording, or DVD? Look here and find out which libraries have the item, or request an interlibrary loan from right within the database!

What is U.Get It?

Can't Locate Your Article Online?

**Use the button available from most databases to locate the entire article online.

**If the article is available online, click on the Article or Journal links.

**If your article is not available in print or via another research database, request it using interlibrary loan.

Mobile Access

Academic Search Premier Mobile
Mobile access to Academic Search Premier fulltext (proxy enabled)
WorldCat mobile
WorldCat is the world's largest library catalog. Use their mobile site. Instructions and link.