Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Women's Research Conference - USD

Please e-mail speccoll@usd.edu with comments & questions.

Scope and Contents

Karen Hardy Cardenas, first Chair of the Coordinating Committee for the conference and USD Professor of Spanish, initially donated the Women’s Research Conference Collection in 1989.  The Collection contains five series: Correspondence, Manuscripts, Photographs, Printed Materials, Typescripts, and Ephemera

The Correspondence series contains correspondence from 1982 –1984 concerning the start up and programming of the conference.  The Correspondence is arranged chronologically.

The Manuscript series contains handwritten notes, possibly written by Cardenas, of agendas, meeting minutes and general conference planning.

The Photographs series contains photographs of two of the speakers from the 1986 conference.

The Printed Materials series contains a 1980 Women’s Week program of events; 1984-1996 conference programs, event flyers and pamphlets; paste-up copies of event flyers; and miscellaneous women’s studies publications.  The News clippings sub series contains clippings about the first Conference in 1984.  Also included is the compilation book from the first Conference, Woman’s Place: Selected Proceedings.

The Typescript series contains Conference materials including: the conference-planning proposal, minutes, planning versions of the conference program and a list of addresses that may have been a mailing list.  Also included are a few of the papers presented at the first Conference and their abstracts.

The Ephemera series contains badges, ribbons and posters.

Footer for USD LibGuide v2.0