Skip to Main Content

Women's Research Conference - USD

Please e-mail with comments & questions.

Collection Summary

Title Women's Research Conference - USD
Span Dates 1980-1996
Bulk Dates (bulk dates, 1982-1984)
Quantity 1 linear ft.
Printed Material Printed Materials are located in Box 1.
Location     Archives and Special Collections, University Libraries, University of South Dakota.

The Women’s Research Conference was initiated by the University of South Dakota’s Faculty Women’s Caucus to promote academic pursuits of Women’s Studies.  The Faculty Women’s Caucus, founded in 1975, was a forum of discussion about the need for improvement in women’s roles at the University and a gathering place for faculty to meet and exchange ideas.  With the support of University President Joseph McFadden and the Women’s Studies Program, planning for the conference began in 1982.  Members of the first Coordinating Committee were: Karen Hardy Cardenas, Louise Johnson, Cindy Struckman-Johnson, Susan Wolfe, Ann Balakier, Sharon Brown, Mary Anne Garnett, Cecilia Kennedy and Carolyn Torma.  The first Conference was held April 12-14, 1984.  Elizabeth Janeway, Women’s Studies scholar and author, was the first Keynote Speaker.  From 1985-1988, selected proceedings of the Conference were published.  The Conference was discontinued after 1996 due to lack of funding.

Finding Aid Permalink Cite or bookmark this finding aid as:
Footer for USD LibGuide v2.0