Skip to main content

U.S. Congressional Serial Set: Serial Set

A guide to using the U.S. Serial Set collections in the University Libraries.

Serial Set

What is the Serial Set?

"The Serial Set contains the House and Senate Documents and the House and Senate Reports. The reports are usually from congressional committees dealing with proposed legislation and issues under investigation. The documents include all other papers ordered printed by the House or Senate. Documents cover a wide variety of topics and may include reports of executive departments and independent organizations, reports of special investigations made for Congress, and annual reports of non-governmental organizations. During the late nineteenth and early twentieth centuries, executive-branch materials were also published in the Serial Set." (from the Library of Congress)

See  the U.S. Congressional Serial Set Finding List from the College of Wooster to agency publications within the Serial Set.

Does the University Libraries have the Serial Set and where can they be found?

1818-1994 - The Serial Set can be found at a Remote Storage Facility. To access these documents you will need to request materials from Remote Storage by  emailing your request to both Archives and Special Collections (speccoll@usd.edu) and Circulation (circ@usd.edu). Materials can take 2-5 business days for retrieval. All materials must be used in the reading room of Archives and Special Collections. All usage is governed by Archives and Special Collections policies as found here.

1995-present - Located on 2nd floor Government Documents area.  Call number - Y 1.1/2:

CIS U.S. Serial Set Index - 1789-1969 - Located on 1st Floor, Reference collection (KF 49 .C62)
This is a subject index of the American State Papers and the Serial Set from the 15th - 91st Congress.

Image courtesy of the Library of Congress (link)

Subject Guide

Diane Frigge's picture
Diane Frigge
Contact:
Rm 231, University Libraries
605-658-3391

Depository Logo

Footer for USD LibGuide v2.0