LibGuides: Musical Theatre: Reference Resources

These books are simply examples of sources that are available to you. Do not hesitate to do your own keyword/subject/title/author searches in the catalog.

Encyclopedia of Musical Theater by Kurt Gñzl; Kurt Gñzl

Call Number: REFERENCE COLLECTION / 1ST FLOOR ML102.M88 G3 2001

ISBN: 0028649702

Publication Date: 2001-05-17

This three-volume set covers the most productive people and the most produced works of musical theatre throughout most of the world for the last 150 years.
Stage It with Music by Thomas S. Hischak

Call Number: CIRCULATING REFERENCE / 3RD FLOOR (USDF) ML102.M88 H6 1993

ISBN: 0313287082

Publication Date: 1993-06-30

A concise dictionary of the shows, series, genres, people, and places of musical theatre, with coverage from the genre’s nineteenth-century beginnings to 1993.
Encyclopaedia of the Musical Film by Stanley Green

Call Number: CIRCULATING REFERENCE / 3RD FLOOR (USDF) PN1995.9.M86 G7

ISBN: 0195029585

Publication Date: 1981-09-17

Includes plot outlines, songs including ones cut from the film, singers, actors, composers, lyricists, directors, choreographers, and producers. Appendix includes Academy Awards, title changes, and movies with biographical subjects.
The American Musical Theatre Song Encyclopedia by Thomas S. Hischak; Gerald Bordman (Foreword by)

Call Number: CIRCULATING REFERENCE / 3RD FLOOR (USDF) ML102.M88 H59 1995

ISBN: 0313294070

Publication Date: 1995-05-09

This encyclopedia provides extensive detail about individual songs from musicals, including the genre and topic of the song, it's purpose in the show, and the story behind its composition. Coverage extends from 1866-1994.
The American musical film song encyclopedia by Thomas S Hischak

Call Number: CIRCULATING REFERENCE / 3RD FLOOR (USDF) ML102.M68 H57 1999

ISBN: 031330737

Publication Date: 1999

Guide to songs from film musicals, arranged alphabetically by song title. Entries emphasize the context of the songs within the film. Also inclu

American Musical Theatre by Gerald Bordman; Richard Norton
Call Number: MAIN COLLECTION / 3RD FLOOR (USDA) ML1711 .B67 2010
ISBN: 9780199729708
Publication Date: 2010-12-29
A thorough history of musical theatre in America from 1866 to 2010.
Broadway Musicals: Show by Show by Stanley Green; Kay Green
Call Number: MAIN COLLECTION / 3RD FLOOR (USDA) ML1711 .G735 2008
ISBN: 9781557837363
Publication Date: 2008-11-01
A combination history, guide, fact book, and photo album of the most memorable musical theatre productions from 1866-2008.

Show Tunes by Steven Suskin; Michael Feinstein (Foreword by)
Call Number: MAIN COLLECTION / 3RD FLOOR (USDA) ML128.M78 S86 2000
ISBN: 0195125991
Publication Date: 1999-12-16
The World of Musical Comedy by Stanley Green
Call Number: MAIN COLLECTION / 3RD FLOOR (USDA) ML1711 .G74 1980
ISBN: 0498023443
Publication Date: 1980-10-01
Biographies of seventy prominent musical composers and lyricists. Includes a production history and discography for every musical involving a composer or lyricist profiled in the book.

Ganzl's Book of the Musical Theatre by Kurt Ganzl; Andrew Lamb
Call Number: CIRCULATING REFERENCE / 3RD FLOOR (USDF) MT95 .G2 1989
ISBN: 0028719417
Publication Date: 1989-01-01
Plot summaries and production histories for major musicals from Great Britain, France, the United States, Austria, Germany, Hungary, and Spain. Coverage from the 19th century to 1988.
Complete Book of the American Musical Theater by David Ewen
Call Number: MAIN COLLECTION / 3RD FLOOR (USDA) ML1711 .E9 1959
Publication Date: 1969
An encyclopedia of nearly 500 musical productions, with plot summaries and analysis.
Musicals.net
Synopses and more of 80 major stage and film musicals.

Oxford Music Online

You can search for musical genres, historical periods, composers, performers, theories and more. Access themt hrough the A-Z databases link on the library homepage

There are three resources within Oxford Music Online, including:
1. Grove Music Online

2. The Oxford Dictionary of Music (Michael Kennedy, 2006)

3. The Oxford Companion to Music (Alison Latham, 2011

https://usd.idm.oclc.org/login?url=https://mgg-online.com

MGG (Musik in Geschichte und Gegenwart) Online:

is an exhaustive music encyclopedia, published in German
contains articles on music and related areas (literature, philosophy, visual arts)

You can access MGG Online:

through the A-Z databases link on the library homepage

Translating MGG Online articles into English:

Use an online translation service or your browser's 'Translate to English' function
When citing MGG articles in your assignment, make sure you indicate what translation service you have used

Oxford Reference Online

Oxford Reference Online is a fully indexed, cross-searchable database of about 100 dictionary, language reference, and subject reference works published by Oxford University Press.

Searches sources such as:
Encyclopedia of Popular Music
The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Music
The Oxford Companion to Music
Oxford Encyclopedia of Theatre and Performance
International Encyclopedia of Dance
The Oxford Companion to American Theatre
The Oxford Companion to the American Musical
The Oxford Companion to Shakespeare

and many more resources all together!

A large database of song texts, including word-for-word translations, poetic translations, and International Phonetic Alphabet (IPA) song pronunciations. Transcriptions and literal translations of opera arias and art song texts.

IPA Source