LibKey Nomad is a browser extension that connects users with library-licensed and open access full text articles. LibKey Nomad is available for most major browsers, including Google Chrome, Brave, Edge, Firefox, and Safari. When using LibKey Nomad, users are automatically directed to the best available version of an article so there is no need to search multiple places. When the full text is not available you will be provided with options to request the article through InterLibrary Loan (ILL).
LibKey Nomad does not require the creation of a personal account, it does not track users or hold credentials, and it is only active when on the web page of a scholarly publisher or database.
Note: If you are using Google Chrome with your usd.edu account, you will need to log out before installing the LibKey Nomad extension. USD's organizational access does not include the Google extensions store. After installation, you can log back into Chrome with your usd.edu account and LibKey Nomad should work.
Getting Started
Publisher Websites
When browsing publisher and other web pages, LibKey Nomad provides a link to download the PDF of an article available through the USD Libraries. It is not necessary to first connect through the USD Libraries website. If the full text is not available through the USD Libraries subscriptions, a button for "Access Options" will appear and you will be connected to options for requesting the article through ILL.
Wikipedia
LibKey Nomad also works with Wikipedia. When viewing the list of references for an entry, a "Download PDF" button will appear after the citations that full text is available for through the USD Libraries. An "Article Link" button may appear for citations that are from sources that do not support linking directly to the PDF. For articles not available from the USD Libraries, an "Access Options..." button will appear that provides options for requesting the articles through ILL.
PubMed
When searching PubMed, LibKey Nomad shows options for downloading a PDF, linking to an article, or additional access options, and you can view the cover images of the journals that articles appear in. LibKey Nomad also provides a link to the complete issue of a journal. This allows for browsing the table of contents for the issue in which an article appears, increasing discoverability of similar articles from the same publication.
Domain Messaging
LibKey Nomad shows the options to chat with a librarian on the following domains.
1. Wall Street Journal
2. New York Times
3. Harvard Business Review
4. Scifinder
5. Stedmans
6. Statpearls
7. Choice review
8. Endnote
9. Chronicles of Higher Education
