Skip to main content

Medical Laboratory Science

Please visit the homepage for the University of South Dakota's Department of Medical Laboratory Science for more information about this program.

U Get It!

U Get It

The U. Get It button is available from most databases to help you locate the entire article online.  Don't be afraid to use this button.  It doesn't always mean University Libraries doesn't own the resource.  Often times, it will direct you to another database where you can find the article.  

Do not be discouraged if you click on U. Get It and you see a message similar to the one below.  Simply click on the link that says, "USD/Law ILLIAD" in order to submit an interlibrary loan request.  Your username and password for interlibrary loan (ILLIAD) are the same as your My USD login and password.

USD/Law ILLIAD option

Journal FAQ's

Q: Where are the journals located?

A: Our collection consists of electronic and print journals.  If you are looking for a journal in our print collection, you will find it on the second floor of The University Libraries.

Q: Where is the best place to search for journal articles?

A: Use One Search for your initial query or search a Health/Medicine USD database.  **Remember, if it is an option in the selected database, be sure to limit your results to scholarly or peer-reviewed journals for most of your research papers, if it is an assignment requirement. 

Q: Is there a way to get a journal article if The University Libraries doesn't own it?

A: If we do not own a journal article in print, nor electronically, you may submit an Interlibrary Loan request in order to obtain it.

Q: All I have is an abbreviated journal title; is there a way to find out the full journal title?

A: When you have an abbreviation for a journal title, there are two ways to look up the full title

  1. NLM Catalog
  2. Ulrichsweb Global Serials Directory

Q: Why do some journals show coverage to "1 year ago"?

A: It is a fairly common practice for scholarly journal publishers to place an "embargo" - a restriction on access to the full-text of their journal covering a specific time period - on subscriptions to that journal that come through academic database publishers, like EBSCOHost. Generally, such an embargo means that while the databases that index the journal will provide abstracts and citation information, the full-text of the article will not be available to library users during the embargo period. 

Embargos usually range from 6 months to 18 months, with 1 year being the most common duration. Note that even if a journal is embargoed, current articles may be obtained via Interlibrary Loan.

Clinical Questions

The following resources can be used for clinical queries: 

therapy, diagnosis, prognosis, etiology, pathogenesis

Footer for USD LibGuide v2.0