Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Department of Addiction Counseling and Prevention

Please visit the homepage for the University of South Dakota's Department of Addiction Counseling and Prevention for more information.

​CINAHL is a primary database for nursing and allied health students and professionals.

Getting to CINAHL

PubMed is the National Library of Medicine’s web interface for searching the MEDLINE database as well as other related citations. MEDLINE contains citations and abstracts to the world’s literature in medicine, nursing, pharmacy, dentistry, public health, allied health, health administration, and the pre-clinical sciences. 

Getting to PubMed

  • Start from the Libraries home page: http://www.usd.edu/library
  • Scroll to the black bar ( Books & More | Databases | Journals/E-books | Research Guides | Interlibrary Loan)
  • Click on the Databases tab.  Then click A-Z Databases
  • When the A-Z databases page opens, click P
  • Click on PubMed

Use the videos below to help begin your search in PubMed, or check out our PubMed tutorial guide.  As always, contact your librarian to schedule an appointment for a one-on-one PubMed searching consultation.

Contains abstracts of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations, and is the largest resource devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health. It also includes information about the psychological aspects of related fields such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, technology, linguistics, anthropology, business, law, and others.

Getting to PsycINFO

  • Start from the Libraries home page: http://www.usd.edu/library
  • Scroll to the black bar ( Books & More | Databases | Journals/E-books | Research Guides | Interlibrary Loan)
  • Click on the Databases tab.  Then click A-Z Databases
  • When the A-Z databases page opens, click P
  • Click on PsycINFO

Broad coverage of high quality journals in many natural and social sciences, inclusion of meeting abstracts and pre-publication articles, and the ability to search full-text are among the special features of this resource.

Getting to ScienceDirect

  • Start from the Libraries home page: http://www.usd.edu/library
  • Scroll to the black bar ( Books & More | Databases | Journals/E-books | Research Guides | Interlibrary Loan)
  • Click on the Databases tab.  Then click A-Z Databases
  • When the A-Z databases page opens, click S
  • Click on ScienceDirect

Largest citation database in science, engineering, medicine and technology; also the social sciences, arts and humanities are represented.

Getting to Web of Science

  • Start from the Libraries home page: http://www.usd.edu/library
  • Scroll to the black bar ( Books & More | Databases | Journals/E-books | Research Guides | Interlibrary Loan)
  • Click on the Databases tab.  Then click A-Z Databases
  • When the A-Z databases page opens, click W
  • Click on Web of Science

A multi-disciplinary database providing full-text for nearly 12,000 total publications and indexing and abstracting for more than 16,000 publications. Coverage spans every area of academic study and general interest subject areas. In addition, the database contains more than 84,000 biographies, 86,000 primary source documents, 10,000 company profiles and an image collection of more than 107,000 photos, maps and flags. MegaFILE is comprised of EBSCO's Academic Search Premiere, Business Source Premiere, MasterFILE Premiere, and Regional Business News databases.

Getting to EBSCOMegaFile

  • Start from the Libraries home page: http://www.usd.edu/library
  • Scroll to the black bar ( Books & More | Databases | Journals/E-books | Research Guides | Interlibrary Loan)
  • Click on the Databases tab.  Then click A-Z Databases
  • When the A-Z databases page opens, click E
  • Click on EBSCOMegaFIle

Additional databases which may benefit your studies:

When searching databases, take time to design your search strategy thoroughly. 

Focus on one concept at a time; list your main idea for concept #1 along with synonyms, abbreviations, and alternate spellings.  Everything in Concept 1 should use the OR boolean.  Do the same thing for your other concepts. 

Use the AND boolean to combine your concepts together. 

Using a Venn Diagram can be useful in your search strategy design:

VennDiagram  

Additional searching tips:

* (asterisk) - Most databases recognize this as a truncation tool.  Use it to truncate your word and search a variation of the words.  For example: smok* will search for smoke, smokes, smoking, smokers, smokeless, etc.  

" " (quotations) - Most databases will search your words as a phrase when they are placed in quotation marks.  For example, a database will search for the words alcohol and addiction together when they are placed in quotations, like this "alcohol addiction".  If you search for alcohol addiction without the quotation marks, the database will search for the words alcohol and addiction, but they won't be next to each other.  In other words, the paper you find may be about alcohol in one paragraph and addiction [of any kind] in another paragraph.

Here's a video from B.D. Owens Library (Northwest Missouri State University) to help explain boolean operators, asterisks, and quotation marks:

Footer for USD LibGuide v2.0