Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

ENGL 210: Introduction to Literature: Approaches to Literature

This course guide organizes many of the resources you need for completing your ENGL 210 assignments. Each tab on the toolbar provides links to different resources such as the Information Literacy Lessons and research resources like catalogs and databases.

Elements of Literature

 Structural elements like plot, characters, symbolism, etc. are the building blocks from which authors construct texts.  Formalists consider how structural elements of the text contribute to the author’s message.  Use the Elements of Literature Checklist to keep track of the elements of texts and how they're used.

Oxford Dictionary of Literary Terms

Use the Oxford Dictionary of Literary Terms to look up terms to enhance your reading and writing of literary criticism.

Oxford Reference Works

The Library's Oxford Reference provides database access to valuable reference works on American, British, and other literatures.  

Postmodern Critical Lenses

Postmodern criticism recognizes that literature is social and can be understood from multiple points of view.  It seeks inclusiveness, opening the discussion to both dominant and minority voices.  Use the "Literary Theories: A Sampling of Critical Lenses"  page to learn about postmodern approaches to literature.

Dictionary of Literary Biography

The Dictionary of Literary Biographyprovides authoritative information while placing writers in the larger perspective of literary history. Signed essays written by scholars provide essential context for understanding the careers and writings of more than 12,000 authors from all time periods and from all parts of the world.

The Dictionary of Literary Biographyis located in Circulating Reference and has the call number PN451 .D57.

Footer for USD LibGuide v2.0