It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
ENGL 210: Introduction to Literature: Subject Specific Databases
This course guide organizes many of the resources you need for completing your ENGL 210 assignments. Each tab on the toolbar provides links to different resources such as the Information Literacy Lessons and research resources like catalogs and databases.
Citation database of journal articles, books and dissertations; coverage dating back to 1963. Coverage is international and subjects include literature, language and linguistics, folklore, literary theory & criticism, dramatic arts, as well as the historical aspects of printing and publishing.
SEARCH TIP: Open the drop down menu on the right hand search box and select “TX All Text” if you are searching for a key word or “MW Main Word in Subject Heading” if you are using a CINAHL Subject heading term as part of your search.
SEARCH TIP: Click on the “CINAHL Headings” tab on the toolbar at the top of the page to search for CINAHL subject terms.
MEDLINE provides authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and more. Use this database for in-depth medical information .
PubMed provides articles and research papers on all topics of medicine. This database is useful if you want to know in-depth medical research. PubMed provides citations but may not provide full text access.
Comprehensive bibliographic database about sports, including: physiology, kinesiology, physical therapy, nutrition, coaching, management, education, leisure studies, and tourism, among others. Contains journal articles and monographs as well as dissertations and theses, magazine articles, books, conference proceedings, and more.
Provided by the South Dakota State Library
Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts with Full Text indexes more than 600 periodicals, more than 100 are available in full-text plus books, research reports and proceedings. Subject coverage includes librarianship, classification, cataloging, bibliometrics, online information retrieval, information management and more. Coverage in the database extends back as far as the mid-1960s.
This database indexes English and foreign-language periodicals, selected state journals, conference proceedings, pamphlets, books, and library school theses, plus over 300 books per year. Charts, graphs, photos, and other valuable graphical information.
SEARCH TIP: Open the drop down menu on the right hand search box and select “TX All Text” if you are searching for a key word or “SU Subject Terms” if you are using a subject term as part of your search.
SEARCH TIP: Click on the “Thesaurus” tab at the top of the database toolbar to search for subject terms.
Contains full text articles from 60+ journals published by the American Psychological Association. This is a good starting point for information involving psychology but should not be the only psych database you search.
Full text plus expert indexing of the most important legal journals and books. Users will appreciate international coverage and access to scholarly articles, symposia, jurisdictional surveys, court decisions, legislation, books, book reviews, and more. This is an excellent resource for attorneys, educators, business people, law librarians, students, paralegals, and others involved with the law.
NOTE: The ERIC database is currently undergoing updates such that no full text articles are available at the present time. . ERIC stands for the Educational Resource Information Center which is a government sponsored database of articles and papers on all facets of education. Most of these results are available in full text.
This database provides citations and abstracts for articles from over 600 periodicals, as well as USDA and state experiment station and extension publications, and selected books on agriculture, animal husbandry, animal and human nutrition, forestry, plant pathology, plant science, human ecology, agricultural economics, and rural sociology.
Energy Citations contains bibliographic records for energy and energy-related information from the Department of Energy (DOE) and its predecessor agencies, the Energy Research & Development Administration (ERDA) and the Atomic Energy Commission (AEC).
"Content in EPA's Web Archive is no longer being updated and links may not function; however, the materials in this archive may be useful as background documents to supplement current information or to provide a historical perspective on a topic."
Broad coverage and browsability of high quality journals in many natural and social sciences, easy to use search screen, inclusion of meeting abstracts and pre-publication articles, and the ability to search texts of articles are among the special features of this resource.
Provides access to full-text science-oriented content. Contains full text for hundreds of science encyclopedias, reference books, periodicals and other sources. Topics covered include biology, chemistry, earth & space science, environmental science, health & medicine, history of science, life science, physics, science & society, science as inquiry, scientists, technology and wildlife.
A working biologists index to world literature on mammals, amphibians, reptiles, and birds; includes studies on all aspects of their life cycles and behaviors, including hunting and management research.
Historical newspaper indexes from the following: Deadwood/Black Hills (1877-1900), Indian Country Today (1991-2003), Rapid City Journal (1999-2005), SDSU Collegian Index (1970-2000), and Sioux Falls Argus-Leader (1979-2003).