LibGuides: Public Health Resources: Find Articles

Where's the full-text?

Where do I find the journals?
more...less...
If you find a journal article that is not available electronically, our print journal collections are located on the second floor of The University Libraries. Alternatively, if we do not own the journal article in print or in electronic format, you can obtain the article via Interlibrary Loan.

If you want to find a specific journal, search the Journals List by journal title. Older citations may be available hard copy in the library, if not available electronically.

If the journal title is not found on the libraries' journal list, you may order a copy of the article via Interlibrary Loan. (How do I sign up for Interlibrary Loan?)

Where can I find full titles for journal abbreviations?
more...less...
PubMed's Journal Database allows you to type in an abbreviation, and will give you a list of results from which to choose.
Why do some journals show coverage to "1 year ago"?
more...less...
It is a fairly common practice for scholarly journal publishers to place an "embargo" -- a restriction on access to the full-text of their journal covering a specific time period - on subscriptions to that journal that come through academic database publishers like EBSCOHost. Generally, such an embargo means that while the databases that index the journal will provide abstracts and citation information, the full-text of the article will not be available to Library users during the embargo period.

Embargos usually range from 6 months to 18 months, with 1 year being the most common duration. Note that even if a journal is embargoed, current articles may be obtained via Interlibrary Loan.

Finding Journal Articles

Search all Health/Medicine USD databases (Research Gateway) Use drop-down menu and click on Health/Medicine.

List of Public Health Related Journals

Searching with PubMed

PubMed

PubMed is the National Library of Medicine's search interface that allows searching of the extensive Medline database. Currently, Medline contains over 19 million citations from medicine, nursing, allied health, public health, dentistry, pharmacy, veterinary medicine, the health care system, health administration, and the pre-clinical sciences.

PubMed Central
Free digital archive (from the publishers) of biomedical and life sciences journal literature. Some titles are not in PubMed.
PubMed Tutorials

Key Databases

AgeLine
Focuses on the population aged 50+ and issues of aging. Includes literature of social gerontology and aging-related content from the health sciences, psychology, sociology, social work, economics, and public policy. AgeLine also includes information for professionals working in aging-related fields and for consumers.
Annual Reviews
Provides searchable, full-text access to original, scholarly review articles. These articles provide periodic examination of scholarly advances in a number of scientific fields as well as reviews of the current state of research in a given field.
CINAHL Complete
CINAHL is a core resource for nursing and allied health professionals, students, educators and researchers. It provides indexing for 1,835 journals from the fields of nursing and allied health and contains more than a million records from 1982-present. CINAHL tutorial
ClinicalKey
A Point of Care research and "clinical insight engine" contains hundreds of Elsevier's medical/dental books, textbooks and current journals, patient handouts, and drug information from Clinical Pharmacology.
more...less...
Helpful when researching recommended guidelines.
Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews
These reviews rigorously study the existing primary research for and against the effectiveness and appropriateness of healthcare treatments (clinical procedures, medications, educational programs, etc.). Stringent guidelines are used to create a meta-analysis from analyzed randomized controlled trials on a particular topic
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition
Scholarly full text journals focusing on many medical disciplines. Also featured are abstracts and indexing for additional journals. Coverage of nursing and allied health is particularly strong.
Medline via EbscoHost
The National Library of Medicine’s MEDLINE database contains citations and abstracts to the world’s literature in medicine, nursing, pharmacy, dentistry, public health, allied health, health administration, and the preclinical sciences. With the EBSCO version of MEDLINE, a tab is available (Choose Databases) which allows simultaneous searching of many library-owned EBSCO databases at one time.
PubMed
Pubmed is the National Library of Medicine’s web interface for searching the MEDLINE database as well as other related citations. MEDLINE contains citations and abstracts to the world’s literature in medicine, nursing, pharmacy, dentistry, public health, allied health, health administration, and the pre-clinical sciences.
TRiP Turning Research into Practice
TRiP is a clinical search engine that searches multiple evidence-based sites simultaneously providing information from systematic reviews, practice guidelines, clinical trials, MEDLINE articles for both medical and dental topics. It has a global scope; not limited to U.S. information.