Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Music - Guide to Research

The purpose of this guide is to organize the most relevant USD Library resources for students, staff and faculty within the discipline of Music.

Key Resources

Systematic access to the contents of music magazines and journals did not occur until the mid-20th century. The Music Index was the first large-scale attempt to provide this access, beginning in 1949. RILM Abstracts followed in 1967 and The International Index of Music Periodicals in 1996. These three different indexes each possess a different scope and chronological coverage, although there may be some overlap. While there are many other potentially helpful journal databases; these three are the best for music.

We have IIMP, which is now known as the Music Periodicals Database and RILM, and these databases can be accessed either from the links in the list below, and the University Libraries website.

Find Journal Articles in Music

Our largest academic multi-disciplinary database; full text articles in all fields.

  • Academic Search Premier (EBSCOhost). Large academic multi-disciplinary database; provides full text for nearly 4,600 scholarly publications, including full text for more than 3,600 peer-reviewed journals.

If you want to find a specific journal, search the Journals List by journal title

You can also search for journal titles in the library catalog. Older citations may be available hard copy in the library, if not available electronically.

If the journal title is not found in one of the above, you may order a copy of the article via Interlibrary Loan.

**(How do I sign up for Interlibrary Loan?)

---------------------------------------

Answers to common questions about Library Resources.

Can't Locate Your Article Online?

**Use the U Get It button available from most databases to locate the entire article online.

**If the article is available online, click on the Article or Journal links.

**If your article is not available in print or via another research database, request it using interlibrary loan.

Google Scholar

Google Scholar Search

Mobile Access

mobi

Bibliore - RILM blog

Loading ...
Footer for USD LibGuide v2.0