LibGuides: Political Science: Find Articles in Databases

Recommended Databases

Academic Search Premier
Great multidisciplinary database with lots of fulltext, popular and scholarly articles. Remember if you don't see the fulltext, use the "U Get It" button to find fulltext elsewhere.

Proquest Research Library
Like Academic Search Premier, a great multidisciplinary database with lots of full-text available.
HeinOnline
Fulltext legal journals and periodicals. Great source for North American case law from the United States and Canada.
Index to Legal Periodicals
Full text plus expert indexing of the most important legal journals and books. Users will appreciate international coverage and access to scholarly articles, symposia, jurisdictional surveys, court decisions, legislation, books, book reviews, and more. This is an excellent resource for attorneys, educators, business people, law librarians, students, paralegals, and others involved with the law.

Web of Science
Indexes leading journals in the arts, humanities, sciences and social sciences. Allows cited reference searching.

Catalog of U.S. Government Publications (CGP)
The Catalog is a search and retrieval service that provides bibliographic records of U.S. Government information products. Use it to link to Federal agency online resources or identify materials distributed to Federal Depository Libraries.

Also, see this list of other databases useful for Political Science research (includes newspapers, videos, statistics and law): http://libguides.usd.edu/az.php?s=121324

Where's the full-text?

Why do some journals show coverage to "1 year ago"?
more...less...
It is a fairly common practice for scholarly journal publishers to place an "embargo" -- a restriction on access to the full-text of their journal covering a specific time period - on subscriptions to that journal that come through academic database publishers like EBSCOHost. Generally, such an embargo means that while the databases that index the journal will provide abstracts and citation information, the full-text of the article will not be available to Library users during the embargo period.

Embargos usually range from 6 months to 18 months, with 1 year being the most common duration. Note that even if a journal is embargoed, current articles may be obtained via Interlibrary Loan.

If you want to find a specific journal, search the Journals List by journal title.

If the library does not have access to the title you are looking for, you may order a copy of the article via Interlibrary Loan.

**(How do I sign up for Interlibrary Loan?)

Where do I find the journals?
more...less...
If you find a journal article that is not available electronically, our print journal collections are located on the second floor of The University Libraries. Alternatively, if we do not own the journal article in print or in electronic format, you can obtain the article via Interlibrary Loan.

What is U Get It?

Can't Locate Your Article Online?

**Use the button available from most databases to locate the entire article online.

**If the article is available online, click on the Article or Journal links.

**If your article is not available in print or via another research database, request it using Interlibrary Loan.