LibGuides: Drug Information: Patient Education

Patient Education for Drugs and CAMs

Subscription Databases

Access Medicine This link opens in a new window
Patient Education.Access Medicine has patient education on alternative therapy options, such as acupuncture, tai chi, and yoga.
Provides access to several commonly used medical e-books including Harrison’s Online, CURRENT Medical Diagnosis & Treatment, and Goodman & Gilman’s The Pharmacological Basis of Therapeutics. Also contains practice guidelines, drug information, common laboratory tests, USMLE-format questions for self-assessment, case files, patient education, and many videos, audio clips, images and illustrations. Accessible from mobile devices.
Access Pharmacy This link opens in a new window
Patient Education. A pharmacy education resource that includes more than 80 key pharmacy reference books, quick reference (including herbs and supplements information), drug information (including dosages, trade names, and pricing), multimedia presentations and video, drug therapy cases with practice questions, study tools, and NAPLEX review help.
ClinicalKey This link opens in a new window
Patient Education. ClinicalKey is a clinical point of care and research tool contains hundreds of Elsevier's medical textbooks, journals, procedural videos, images, practice guidelines, patient education, and drug information. Accessible from mobile devices.
DynaMed This link opens in a new window
DynaMed contains patient education for their entries, including in the DynaMed Drug A-Z. Select a the drug name and the patient education link will be in the left-hand column of the entry.
Lexidrug This link opens in a new window
Patient Education. Provided by Sanford Hospital Detailed drug information for health professionals who prescribe and administer medications.

Additional Resources

MedlinePlus - Drugs, Herbs & Supplements
MedlinePlus was developed by the National Library of Medicine to provide consumer health information.
VigiAccess
Browse and view data on suspected side-effects, also known as suspected adverse drug reactions (“ADRs”), from the World Health Organization’s global database for ADRs. The data contains reports of suspected ADRs, so called Individual Case Safety Reports (ICSRs), collected by national drug authorities in over 110 countries and span over more than 100 000 different medicinal products.