LibGuides: Veterans Memorial Hospital: Library Resources

Welcome!

Royal C. Johnson Veterans' Memorial Hospital

Remote Access Request Form
This enables users from partner groups to access subscription databases from home or office.

Remote Access Request Form
This is a printable version of the Remote Access Request Form. You can use this version if you can't use the link above. This form enables users from partner groups to access subscription databases from home or office. Please complete the form and email it back to wegner@usd.edu.

Medical Dictionary

Stedman's Medical Dictionary

Accessing Library Resources

Using your login is only required when you need to get into the full text of an eBook, article, or subscription database (e.g., CINAHL). There is no need to search for a login option for Wegner Library resources. Rather, when a login is necessary, the following page will appear:

Your login username will follow the following format: first.last@wegnerlibrary.org. Regardless of what your actual email extension is, you will need to follow this format. Note, this is NOT a new email address; it is for logging in to Wegner Library resources only. Your password is your chosen or assigned password when you received your remote access credentials.

If you need assistance with your password, please email Wegner Library.

If need remote access, you can find a link to the form in the left column of this page.

Popular Subscription Resources

All Subscription Databases
Complete list of 48 health and medicine databases that V.A. personnel have access to through the Wegner Library.
CINAHL Complete
Cumulative Index of Nursing and Allied Health Literature. Contains over 1,300 full text journals,
170 continuing education modules, 133 full text Evidence-Based Care Sheets, and 169 full text Quick Lessons.
ClinicalKey for Nursing
Key content includes clinical overviews and topic pages for answers at the point of care, Mosby’s evidence-based nursing monographs, and full-text ebooks and nursing journals.
Cochrane Library
Includes Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews, Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials, the Cochrane Methodology Register and other high-quality resources. Each resource contains reviewed evidence to improve care and research.
DynaMed
DynaMed is the decision support tool that clinicians go to for answers. Content is written by a world-class team of physicians and specialist who synthesize the evidence and provide objective analysis and guidance with transparent detail to assist in the clinical decision-making process.
JBI (EBP Database)
Evidence to inform clinical practice that is derived from JBI's Global Collaborating Centers of Excellence in 40+ countries. Includes summarized research evidence in a format that is easy to locate, understand, and evaluate current evidence quickly.
more...less...
Formerly known as Joanna Briggs Institute.
Ovid Journals
Access to Books@Ovid (a collection of quick-reference e-books, plus many American Nurses Association standards), and Journals@Ovid which includes 400+ Journals (full text) including the American Journal of Nursing.
PubMed
National Library of Medicine’s interface for searching MEDLINE and other medical literature. Citations and abstracts to the world’s literature in medicine, nursing, pharmacy, public and allied health, and healthcare administration, with links to the articles listed. When launched from the library site, users will see the red “UGetIt!” button with each citation to give access to articles directly or through the library's document delivery service.
Wiley Online Library
Multidisciplinary collection of online resources covering life, health and physical sciences, social science, and the humanities.

Contact Us

Call us: 605-357-1400

Email us: wegner@usd.edu

Library Business Hours

Monday-Thursday 8:00am-5:30pm

Friday 8:00am-5:00pm

Some badge-swipe entry available for student study. Check with your program or email us.
Bring school/hospital I.D. badge.
Closed state and federal holidays & observances.


Exceptions to Regular Hours