Downloading and Installing EndNoteAccess CodeUPDATES (Read This First)The First Time You Use EndNote
Downloading and Installing EndNote X5Downloading and Installing EndNote (Mac)Downloading and Installing EndNote (Vista - Windows 7)Downloading and Installing EndNote (XP)
BibliographyCreating an Annotated BibliographyEbscoEditEditing an EndNote Output StyleFiltersGroupsPreferencesSubject BibliographyWord 2003Word 2007Word 2010Attach Files to ReferenceDeleting a Citation
Removing Author Initials from in-text citations
Importing Citation from Ebscohost
CWYW-Word 2007: Find & Insert CitationsCWYW-Word 2007: Format Bibliography (Video)CWYW-Word 2007: Edit & Manage Citations
Direct Export from EBSCOhost databasesManual Data EntryDirect Export from the Web of ScienceDirect Export on Macintosh and Windows Using FirefoxWorldCat
This is the "Manual Data Entry" page of the "Endnote" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Endnote  

This guide will lead you through the process of downloading, installing, and setting up Endnote on your computer.
Last Updated: Jul 26, 2017 URL: http://libguides.usd.edu/endnote Print Guide RSS Updates

Manual Data Entry Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Manual Data Entry

Watch this video, or follow the step-by-step instructions below.

 

Entering References Manually

Open the EndNote library into which you wish to add a reference.


In the toolbar along the top, click on the New Reference button . Alternatively, click on the References menu and select New Reference.  This will open the New Reference window.  Select a Reference Type from the drop-down menu at the top of the window.  Reference Type affects how bibliographic information is displayed in a citation. 

Next, enter the bibliographic information for your reference in the Fields provided.  Enter as much information as you have available.  Do not include special formatting and punctuation when you enter bibliographic information into EndNote.  The exception to this rule are the Author, Editor and Edition fields. 

Author and Editor: Enter one name per line.  Names can be entered either with the last name followed by a comma and the first name, or the first name followed by the last name.  Enter full names whenever possible.  If entering initials, place period or space between initials.

Edition: Enter as 1st, 2nd, 3rd, etc.

Once you have completed entering the bibliographic information, Save your new reference by selecting File > Save or, Ctrl + S on your keyboard.  Your new reference will now be in your library and you can close the New Reference window.  

New Reference Window

New Reference Window

For further information: In your EndNote Library, click on the Help button  in the toolbar along the top of the window.  In the EndNote X6 Help box that appears, choose Entering and Editing References from the Contents.  Then, click on Entering References.  This provides information on entering information into specific fields.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip